Data & Statistics

Hong Kong Air Pollutant Emission Inventory

The Environmental Protection Department (EPD) compiles the Hong Kong Air Pollutant Emission Inventory every year to analyze the air pollution condition and the major emission sources which helps formulate the air quality management strategy in Hong Kong.  The emission inventory for Hong Kong was first uploaded to EPD’s website in March 2000.

The emission inventory comprises estimates of the emissions from seven source categories for six major air pollutants, namely: sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOx), respirable suspended particulates (RSP or PM10), fine suspended particulates (FSP or PM2.5), volatile organic compounds (VOC) and carbon monoxide (CO). The emission sources include public electricity generation, road transport, navigation, civil aviation, other combustion sources, non-combustion sources, and biomass burning.  Starting from this year, emission inventory of biomass burning has been added to improve the coverage of local emission inventory.

Other combustion sources are defined as sources involving combustion, other than public electricity generation, road transport, navigation and civil aviation.  Major contributing sources in this sector include non-road mobile machineries operating in construction sites and container terminals.

Non-combustion sources are defined as those remaining sources that do not involve combustion and only VOC, RSP and FSP emissions are significant.  Under this category, the major sources for VOC include paints and associated solvents, consumer products and printing, whereas those for RSP and FSP include paved road dust, cooking fume, construction dust and quarry production.

Biomass burning is the burning of living and dead vegetation mainly due to human activities.  In Hong Kong, the only contributing source in this sector is emissions from hill fires which can produce a large amount of particulates.



Emission Inventory for 2014

The diagram below shows the emission inventory for 2014 under different emission source categories including public electricity generation, road transport, navigation, civil aviation, other combustion sources, non-combustion sources, and biomass burning.

Chart of 2014 Emission Inventory

See Data

Topics of Interest

Emission Trends (1997-2014)
Sectoral Analysis (1997-2014)
Changes in Emissions Relative to Population, Energy Consumption and Economic Growth
Emission Reduction Plan up to 2020
Update of Emission Inventory
Emission Inventory Report
Useful References



Emission Trends (1997-2014)

Trends of Emissions from Specific Source Categories


Legend for Emission Trends

icon for Chart of SO2 Emission

Sulphur Dioxide (SO2)

icon for Chart of NOx Emission

Nitrogen Oxides (NOx)

icon for Chart of RSP Emission

Respirable Suspended Particulates (RSP)

icon for Chart of FSP Emission

Fine Suspended Particulates (FSP)

icon for Chart of VOC Emission

Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC)

icon for Chart of CO Emission

Carbon Monoxide (CO)



Sectoral  Analysis (1997-2014)

Sectoral Analysis for Specific Source Categories

Emission from Public Electricity Generation

Sectoral Analysis for "Public Electricity Generation"


Emissoins from Road Transport

Sectoral Analysis for "Road Transport"


Emissions from Navigation

Sectoral Analysis for "Navigation"


Emissions from Civil Aviation

Sectoral Analysis for "Civil Aviation"


Emissions from Other Combustion Sources

Sectoral Analysis for "Other Combustion Sources"


Emission from Non-combustion Sources

Sectoral Analysis for "Non-combustion Sources"


Emission from Biomass Burning

Sectoral Analysis for "Biomass Burning"



Changes in Emissions Relative to Population, Energy Consumption and Economic Growth

Changes in Emissions Relative to Population

Chart for 1997-2014 Emission per Capita

See Data


Changes in Emissions Relative to Energy Consumption

Chart for 1997-2014 Emission per Energy Consumption

See Data


Changes in Emissions Relative to Economic Growth

Chart for 1997-2014 Emission per GDP

See Data



Emission Reduction Plan up to 2020

The Hong Kong SAR and Guangdong Provincial Governments have long been collaborating to improve air quality in the Pearl River Delta (PRD) Regionnote1 . Over the past years, the two Governments significantly reduced the emissions of four major pollutants, namely SO2, NOx, RSP and VOC.  At the meeting of Hong Kong-Guangdong Joint Working Group on Sustainable Development and Environmental Protection held in November 2012, both sides endorsed a new set of emission reduction targets / ranges up to 2020, using 2010 as the base year. Both sides have been implementing additional pollution control measures on this basis for bringing continuous improvement to the regional air quality.

To achieve continuous improvement of the air quality, a series of emission reduction measures are being implemented. On reducing vehicular emissions, we will continue to phase out progressively the pre-Euro IV diesel commercial vehicles by the end of 2019, strengthen the emission control of petrol and liquefied petroleum gas vehicles using roadside remote sensing equipment, subsidise the franchised bus companies to retrofit the Euro II and Euro III franchised buses with selective catalytic reduction devices and prepare for tightening vehicular emissions standards to Euro VI for newly registered vehicles.

On reducing vessel emissions, we have introduced new regulations to cap the sulphur content of locally-supplied marine light diesel at 0.05 per cent. We will mandate ocean-going vessels to switch to low sulphur fuel (with sulphur content not exceeding 0.5%) while at berth in 2015.  By that time, Hong Kong will become the first port in Asia to mandate the fuel switch at berth. We are also collaborating with the mainland authorities to implement measures to reduce vessel emissions in the waters of the Pearl River Delta, with a view to taking forward the fuel switch of ocean going vessels while at berth in the short run and establishing an emission control area in the long run.

On reducing emissions from power plants, we will continue to require the power plants to adopt the best practicable means to reduce emissions and use more natural gas for electricity generation so as to meet our emission caps imposed on power sector. Besides, we will continue to collaborate with the Guangdong authorities to further improve the regional air quality.

Such measures will help us to achieve the emission reduction targets for 2020, and to meet broadly the existing Air Quality Objectives by 2020.

The changes in emissions in 2014 compared with emissions in 2010 in Hong Kong are shown in the following table:

  Pollutant   2010 Emission (Tonnes)  2014 Emission (Tonnes)  Change in Emission 2010-2014

 2015 Reduction Target (Reference to 2010)

SO2 35,490 31,710 -11% -25%
NOx 108,500 109,570 +1% -10%
RSP 6,750 5,900 -13% -10%
VOC 31,560 27,020 -14% -5%

Note: Emission figures are presented in the nearest ten.

Compared with the base year of 2010, SO2, RSP and VOC emissions in 2014 decreased by 11% to 14%, while NOx emissions slightly increased by 1%.  In the coming year, the power plants would be required to use more natural gas in power generation in order to meet the tightened emission caps set out in the Second Technical Memorandum.  We expect that the emissions of SO2 and NOx will be reduced substantially in 2015.


Update of Emission Inventory

Making reference to international developments and technological advancement, we have been updating the methodologies to compile emission inventories including the collection of most updated data with an aim to provide a better support to the management of air quality.  Whenever the compilation methodology is updated, new activity data are collated, or errors in the estimates are identified, we will follow international practice to update the emission inventory and to revise the emission inventories for past years as far as practicable based on the updated methods and data to enable consistent and reliable emission trend analysis to be made. Updates of the emission inventories are listed in the Summary of Updates to the Emission Inventory.  Major updates to the emission inventories in recent years are highlighted below.

  • EPD commissioned a comprehensive study on the marine emission inventory in 2008, which was completed in 2012.  The study collected extensive local vessel activity data and reviewed the latest emission compilation methodologies of advanced places such as the Port of Los Angeles of the USA.  The study concluded that these latest emission compilation methodologies can provide more realistic estimates of marine emissions.  Based on the study findings, we updated the previous emission inventories for marine vessels. The updated emissions from vessels were higher than the previous ones.
  • EPD have been conducting emission measurements for on-road vehicles by means of remote sensing equipment and advanced portable emission measurement systems (PEMS).  The measurements have provided a more robust basis for us to estimate vehicle emissions.  They have also found that vehicles with inadequate maintenance, e.g. LPG vehicles with worn-out catalytic converters, could emit considerably above their normal levels.  We made use of the findings to update our vehicle emission estimation model and compile the vehicle emission inventory.
  • Since the implementation of the Air Pollution Control (Volatile Organic Compounds) Regulation in April 2007, we have used the sales report data submitted by importers under the Regulation to compile VOC emissions of regulated products including six types of consumer products (air fresheners, hairsprays, multi-purpose lubricants, floor wax strippers, insecticides and insect repellents), printing inks and architectural paints.  In October 2009, we amended the Regulation to further regulate the VOC contents of vehicle refinishing paints, marine paints (vessels and pleasure craft paints), adhesive and sealants and started to compile the VOC emissions from these paints based on their sales report data. Emissions from cleansing solvents during the application of paints have also been estimated.  To compile VOC emissions for the regulated products, we also made reference to EPD’s studies on printing industry, solvent usage for coatings and VOC-containing products, and survey data for marine paints to assess emissions from VOC-containing products.



Emission Inventory Report

2014 Hong Kong Emission Inventory Report

Useful References

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA - AP42)
European Environment Agency (EEA - EMEP/EEA Emission Inventory Guidebook)
Census and Statistics Department (C&SD - Hong Kong Statistics)
Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD - Hong Kong Energy End-use Data)


1 PRD Region refers to the whole territory of HKSAR and the Pearl River Delta Economic Zone (PRDEZ). PRDEZ includes Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Foshan, Jiangmen, Huizhou (Huicheng, Huiyang, Huidong, Boluo), and Zhaoqing (Duanzhou, Dinghu, Gaoyao, Sihui).


User review date: 
Tuesday, 16 June, 2015

Loading

资料与统计数字

香港空气污染物排放清单

香港特别行政区环境保护署(环保署)每年均制定香港空气污染物排放清单,分析本地空气污染物的排放量和主要污染源,以协助制订有效的空气质素管理政策。环保署在2000年3月首次在网页公布香港空气污染物排放清单。

香港空气污染物排放清单估算六种主要空气污染物于七个排放源分类的全年排放量。六种主要污染物包括二氧化硫(SO2)、氮氧化物(NOx)、可吸入悬浮粒子(RSP或称为PM10)、微细悬浮粒子(FSP或称为PM2.5)、挥发性有机化合物(VOC)及一氧化碳(CO)。七个排放源分类包括公用发电、道路运输、水上运输、民用航空、其他燃烧源、非燃烧源及生物质燃烧。

其他燃烧源包括公用发电、道路运输、水上运输及民用航空以外,涉及燃烧的排放源。当中主要排放源包括在建筑工地和货柜码头运作的非路面流动机械。

非燃烧源为余下不涉及燃烧的排放源,只有挥发性有机化合物、可吸入悬浮粒子及微细悬浮粒子有明显的排放。非燃烧源排放的挥发性有机化合物的主要来源包括漆料及相关溶剂、消费品及印刷;而可吸入悬浮粒子及微细悬浮粒子的主要来源则包括道路扬尘、煮食油烟、建筑扬尘及石矿生产等。

生物质燃烧源是指涉及植物燃烧产生空气污染物的排放源。在香港,山火是生物质燃烧类别中唯一的排放源,山火可产生大量的悬浮粒子。

 

2015年度空气污染物排放清单

下图列出2015年度香港各空气污染物排放量及分布情况,污染物的主要来源包括公用发电、道路运输、水上运输、民用航空、其他燃烧源、非燃烧源及生物质燃烧。

2015年 排放清单图表

图片数据

其他标题

污染物排放趋势 (1997年-2015年)
排放源分类分析 (1997年-2015年)
污染物排放量变化与人口、能源使用量及本地生产总值的关系
2020年空气污染物减排计划
污染物排放清单的更新
排放清单报告
相关网站

 

污染物排放趋势 (1997年-2015年)

主要污染源的排放趋势

图例:

污染物排放趋势图例

 

二氧化硫排放量图标

二氧化硫 (SO2

 

氮氧化物排放量图标

氮氧化物(NOx)

 

可吸入悬浮粒子排放量图标

可吸入悬浮粒子 (RSP)

 

微细悬浮粒子排放量图标

微细悬浮粒子(FSP)

 

挥发性有机化合物排放量图标

挥发性有机化合物 (VOC)

 

一氧化碳排放量图标

一氧化碳(CO)

 

排放源分类分析 (1997年-2015年)

排放源分类的排放分析

公用发电排放

公用发电排放源分类分析

 

道路运输排放

道路运输排放源分类分析

 

水上运输排放

水上运输排放源分类分析

 

民用航空排放

民用航空排放源分类分析

 

其他燃烧排放

其他燃烧排放源分类分析

 

非燃烧源排放

非燃烧排放源分类分析

 

生物质燃烧排放

生物质燃烧排放源分类分析

 

污染物排放量变化与人口、能源使用量及本地生产总值的关系

污染物排放量变化与人口的关系

1997年至2015年 排放量/每人图表

图片数据

 

污染物排放量变化与能源使用量的关系

1997年至2015年 排放量/能源使用量图表

图片数据

 

污染物排放量变化与本地生产总值的关系

1997年至2015年 排放量/本地生产总值图表

图片数据

 

2020年空气污染物减排计划

香港特区政府和广东省政府多年来一直紧密合作,以改善珠江三角洲地区备注1的空气质素。在2012年11月举行的「粤港持续发展与环保合作小组」第十二次会议上,粤港双方确认了珠江三角洲地区直至2020年的主要空气污染物减排目标/幅度。

粤港两地政府已开展「2015年及2020年空气污染物减排目标中期回顾研究」,将总结2015年两地的减排成果及确立2020年的减排目标。我们计划在本年年中左右完成有关研究。

2015年减排达标情况评估

香港已全面达到四种主要空气污染物,包括二氧化硫、氮氧化物、可吸入悬浮粒子和挥发性有机化合物的2015年减排目标。在2015年,这些污染物的排放量较2010年分别下跌了14%至45%。

表1. 2015年香港特区的减排成效
污染物 排放量(公吨)§ 2015年实际减排成效# 2015年减排目标#
2010年 2015年
二氧化硫 35,480 19,540           -45% -25%
氮氧化物 107,150 91,700 -14% -10%
可吸入悬浮粒子 6,770 5,430 -20% -10%
挥发性有机化合物 31,020 26,610 -14% -5%

§ 排放量数据进位至最接近的十位数

# 排放量变化以2010年的排放量为基准

 
2020年减排幅度

为达致香港2020年的减排目标,我们近年推出下列多项针对本地空气污染源的强化空气质素改善措施。

在改善路边空气质素方面,我们会继续推行鼓励与管制并行策略,在2019年年底前分阶段淘汰约82 000辆欧盟四期以前柴油商业车;以路边遥测仪器加强管制汽油车和石油气车的废气排放;资助专营巴士公司为约1 100辆欧盟二期及三期专营巴士加装选择性催化还原器;及于2017年7月1日开始分阶段收紧新登记车辆的废气排放标准至欧盟六期。

为减少船舶的排放,我们已实施新例,规定本地销售的船用轻柴油含硫量不得超过0.05%,及远洋船在香港水域停泊期间必须转用低硫燃料(即含硫量不超过0.5%)。国家交通运输部于2015年12月发布《珠三角、长三角、环渤海(京津冀)水域船舶排放控制区实施方案》,成立三个船舶排放控制区,包括珠三角, 长三角和环渤海。粤港两地政府将共同推动实施珠三角水域船舶排放控制区。

在减少发电厂排放方面,我们会继续要求发电厂以最好的切实可行方法减少废气排放,及增加使用天然气发电,以符合技术备忘录内订定的法定排放上限。此外,我们将准备管制输入香港或在香港生产的润版液及印刷机清洁剂的挥发性有机化合物含量。

上述措施将有助香港达致2020年的减排幅度(表2),并于2020年大致符合现行的空气质素指标。

表2. 2020年香港减排幅度
污染物 2020年减排幅度§ (%)
二氧化硫  -35% ~ -75%
氮氧化物 -20% ~ -30%
可吸入悬浮粒子  -15% ~ -40%
挥发性有机化合物  -15%

§ 以 2010 年的排放量为基准

 

污染物排放清单的更新

环保署一向参考国际间在编制排放清单方面的最新发展,及收集最新的排放因子数据,以更新编制排放清单的方法,目的是提供更准确的排放数据以协助空气质素管理的工作。当有更新的排放清单估算方法、更精确的排放因子或发现估算中出错,我们便会按照国际的一贯做法更新排放清单,并在技术上可行的情况下覆算过往所估算的排放清单,以提供一致和可靠的排放趋势估算。排放清单的更新内容,请参阅排放清单的主要修订摘要。以下列出近年排放清单的主要更新。

  • 环保署在2008年进行了一项全面的本港船舶排放清单的研究。有关研究在2012年完成。该研究收集了大量本地的船舶活动数据,并参考了先进地区如美国的洛杉矶港口近年最新采用的船舶排放清单估算方法。该研究确定使用新的估算方法,能更准确反映船舶的实际排放量。我们已采用有关的研究结果估算近年船舶的排放量,并覆算和更新了往年船舶的排放清单。采用新的估算方法计算的排放量较旧方法为高。
  • 环保署近年采用遥距检测系统和先进的便携式废气测量系统,量度不同类型车辆在行驶时的废气排放量。这些测量结果提供了更精确和全面的排放数据,有助我们更准确地估算本地车辆的排放量。研究结果亦显示,维修不足的车辆(例如,当石油气车辆的催化器出现老化)的污染物排放量会远高于正常情况。我们把这些最新的废气测量数据输入车辆排放模拟系统,以制定车辆的排放清单。
  • 自政府在2007年4月实施《空气污染管制(挥发性有机化合物)规例》后,我们采用了进口商呈交环保署受规管物品的销售报告来估算有关产品的VOC排放量,其中包括六类消费品(即空气清新剂、喷发胶、多用途润滑剂、地蜡清除剂、除虫剂和驱虫剂)、印刷油墨和建筑漆料。自2009年10月开始,我们对《规例》进行了修订,以进一步规管汽车修补漆料、船只及游乐船只漆料、黏合剂和密封剂的VOC含量,并采用了相关销售报告来估算其VOC排放量,以及使用漆料时清洁溶剂的排放量。在估算这些受管制物品的排放时,我们亦参考了一些环保署进行的硏究报告,包括印刷行业和含VOC产品及涂料使用有机溶剂的研究,以及船只漆料的调查数据等,以更全面估算含VOC产品的排放量。

 

 

排放清单报告

2015年香港排放清单报告

 

 

相关网站

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)(只供英文)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA - AP42)(只供英文)

European Environment Agency (EEA - EMEP/EEA Emission Inventory Guidebook)(只供英文)

政府统计处(香港统计资料)

机电工程署(能源最终用途数据)

备注:

1 珠江三角洲地区,即香港特别行政区及珠江三角洲经济区。珠江三角洲经济区包括广州、深圳、珠海、东莞、中山、佛山、江门、惠州及肇庆。

User review date: 
星期二, 16 六月, 2015