Loading

Water

This section provides detailed information on water quality and how water pollution is controlled in Hong Kong. An overview is given below for the quick reference of the audience. Detailed information is organized into various categories, namely, Beach Water Quality, Marine Water Quality, River Water Quality, Regional Collaboration, Problems & Solutions, Data & Statistics, Study Reports, and Guidelines & References which can be accessed through the menu. We are now conducting a review on the marine water quality objectives. Please visit our dedicated website on WQO Review for details.

AN OVERVIEW ON WATER QUALITY AND CONTROLLING WATER POLLUTION IN HONG KONG

WATER QUALITY IN HONG KONG - AN OVERVIEW

The State of Our Waters
Water pollution can be invisible to the naked eye, but its impacts are for the most part clear enough. Bacteria, nutrients and other pollutants can make swimmers sick, contaminate or kill marine life, and give off bad smells. Like other major cities in the world, Hong Kong is working diligently to improve its water quality. Our pollutants come from human and industrial sources and livestock farms, and programmes are underway to reduce pollution loads. At the same time, we are working hard to retain the unspoiled clean water in remote areas.


Our water quality has improved within some parameters in recent years, but it is not enough for a clean bill of health, particularly in areas like Inner Deep Bay and Victoria Harbour. An expected growth in population will put added pressure on water quality.

For a full account of the quality of Hong Kong's waters, please see Beach Water Quality, Marine Water Quality and River Water Quality.

Photo

Improvements Made
PhotoThe EPD has an extensive programme for cleaning up Hong Kong's waters which has had good results. The number of gazetted beaches meeting the Water Quality Objective for bathing water increased to 41 since 2010, compared with 26 in 1997. The number of river monitoring stations with bad or very bad water quality dropped, from 52 per cent in 1988, to less than 15 per cent in recent years.

In Victoria Harbour, the first stage of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS) to collect and to treat the sewage generated around the harbour was completed at the end of 2001. Now, 75 per cent of sewage around the Victoria Harbour receives chemical treatment. As a result, the dissolved oxygen in the harbour waters has increased by about 10% and the levels of key pollutants in the harbour area waters have generally decreased.  The Government is now implementing the first phase of the second stage of HATS aiming to clean up the remaining 25% of sewage that flows into the harbour.  

CONTROLLING WATER POLLUTION
Water quality improves only when we stop dumping untreated or inadequately treated sewage into the sea and the local rivers, streams and bays. The government has a three-pronged approach for dealing with the problem: controlling pollution at source, providing sewers, and collecting and treating sewage.

PhotoControlling At Source
The EPD controls waste water discharges through the Water Pollution Control Ordinance. Operators are required to ensure their discharges meet standards specified by the EPD, and these specifications are contained in licences allowing them to discharge their waste water into receiving water bodies. The EPD regularly inspects operators, responds to complaints and will prosecute offenders.


Providing Sewers
All sewage should be discharged into sewers, not stormwater drains which are only meant to carry rainwater into the sea. The EPD is trying to extend the public sewer networks in the NT and new development areas. The department prepares sewerage masterplans and the works are carried out by the Drainage Services Department. The plans are revised to take into account a projected population increase of about two million by 2016.

 

Photo of Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works
Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works

Collecting and Treating Sewage
The Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS) is a strategy for collecting and treating sewage from both sides of Victoria Harbour. Stage 1 of HATS, which intercepts sewage from Kowloon and part of Hong Kong Island and delivers it to Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for chemical treatment, was brought into operation in late 2001. Following studies, trials and a public consultation exercise, the Government developed a two-phase programme (Stage 2A and 2B) which will provide additional facilities to convey all sewage from the northern and south-western areas of Hong Kong Island to Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for chemical treatment and disinfection in Stage 2A, and in Stage 2B, biological treatment. The Government is now implementing HATS Stage 2A (3D Animation of HATS Stage 2A) aiming for completion in 2014.


Elsewhere, a collection and treatment system in Tolo Harbour has resulted in a drop in red tides from 43 in 1988 to less than 20 in recent years.

The Hong Kong-Guangdong Joint Working Group on Sustainable Development and Environmental Protection held its ninth meeting in Hong Kong.Pearl River Delta Regional Water Quality Management Cooperation
Hong Kong shares its waters with Guangdong. It makes sense, therefore, that pollution control efforts be matched by both sides. Through a joint working group, we agreed in 2000 on a 15-year plan to clean up Deep Bay and to reduce pollution from existing sources and control future pollution. At the end of 2007, Hong Kong and Shenzhen completed a review of the plan and at the same time agreed on a new set of water pollution reduction targets and the next phase of collaboration to improve the Deep Bay water quality. The two sides have also initiated the first review of the regional water quality control strategy for Mirs Bay at the end of 2008. Necessary additional measures for protecting the Mirs Bay water environment and meeting the sustainable development objectives will be recommended.

Schematic layout of the PRD Model which is composed of a 1D river model (SOBEK) and a 3D estuary model (Delft3D)
In addition, the Guangdong Environmental Protection Bureau and the Hong Kong Environmental Protection Department successfully developed an advanced numerical water quality model for the Pearl River Estuary region in 2008. The model is capable of simulating the complicated flow dynamics and water quality processes in both the river network and the coastal region, and provides a scientific analytical tool for the formulation of regional water quality management and pollution control plans. The model was endorsed by the Hong Kong–Guangdong Joint Working Group on Sustainable Development and Environmental Protection in December 2008. More details can be found in the article Hong Kong - Guangdong Joint Development of a Pearl River Delta Water Quality Model and the Final Study Report.

What You Can Do
Individual operators, such as restaurants and factories, can help to make a difference by ensuring they follow anti-pollution laws. Please refer to Guidelines & References for a full account of compliance guides and good practices.

Residents should co-operate with efforts to connect their buildings to sewers. They can also try to reduce their consumption of water, thereby reducing the amount of sewage that needs treatment. For more advice on reducing water pollution, please refer to Tips to Save the Earth.

 

Back to top
User defined date2: 
Thursday, 19 September, 2013

space
   
 
space space   space
space

本節為您詳述香港的水質及當局怎樣管制水污染。以下的簡要概覽可供各位參考,詳細資料則分別收錄於多個題項:泳灘水質海水水質河溪水質跨界合作問題與解決方案資料及統計數字研究報告指引與參考資料,請從選項目錄進入查閱。我們現正檢討海水水質指標,詳情請瀏覽"檢討海水水質指標"專題網站。

香港的水質及水污染管制工作概覽

香港的水質概覽

海洋和河溪水質現況

水質是否污染,有時並非一望而知,但它的禍害卻顯而易見。如海水含有細菌、養份和其他污染物,會使泳客感到不適,此外亦會導致海洋生物污染或死亡,並使海水散發難聞的氣味。一如世界其他大城市,香港正在致力改善水質。本地的水污染源來自人類、工業及禽畜飼養場,當局現正推行多項計劃減少污染量。與此同時,我們亦不遺餘力地保護偏遠地區的潔淨水源不受污染。

環保署監察所得的數據顯示,香港的水質近年已略有改善,但情況仍未達到理想,特別是后海灣內海及維港的水質更值得關注。未來香港人口將持續大幅增長,在這個地少人多的都市,水污染問題必會日趨嚴重。

有關香港水質的詳細資料,請瀏覽泳灘水質海水水質河溪水質

圖片

漸入佳境

圖片環保署定下了周全的計劃改善香港水質,這套計劃還取得不俗的成果。自2010年,本港共有41個泳灘達到水質指標,比較1997年的26個顯著增加。至於水質欠佳或極差的河溪監測站亦從1988年的52%下降至近年的15%以下。

為處理維港一帶的污水問題所進行的 「淨化海港計劃」 第一期已於2001年底完成並投入服務。目前維港一帶的污水, 其中75%經收集後再進行化學處理,維港海水的溶解氧因而平均上升約10%, 其他主要污染物亦普遍有所下降。政府現正落實淨化海港計劃第二期的首階段,目的是將流入維港其餘25%的污水清除。

管制水污染

要改善香港的水質,大家必須嚴守法紀,確保我們的海洋、河溪和海灣不會被未經處理或處理不善的污水污染。政府為有效對付水污染問題,分別在三方面採取行動:針對污染根源、鋪設污水渠和收集及處理污水。

針對污染根源

圖片環保署透過《水污染管制條例》管制廢水排放。規定作業者所排放的污水必須符合署方指定的標準,同時遵從牌照所訂明的規範,方可將污水排放。此外,環保署並會定期巡查各作業者和回應市民的投訴,如有發現違例情況便會提出檢控。

鋪設污水渠

污水應是排放入污水渠,而不是排放入只用作排疏雨水的雨水渠。因此,環保署現正致力伸延公共污水渠網絡到新界及各新發展地區,而偏遠地區的污水則接駁至妥善運作的化糞池系統。我們已籌備多項「污水收集整體計劃」,並交由渠務署負責推行。由於直至2016年香港人口預料會增加約200萬,因此政府檢討「污水收集整體計劃」以作出相應的調整。

收集及處理污水

圖片
昂船洲污水處理廠

淨化海港計劃」是就收集及處理維港兩岸一帶污水所制定的一項工程策略。第一期計劃將從九龍及香港島部份地區所收集的污水輸送到昂船洲污水處理廠進行化學處理,並已於2001年底開始投入服務。經過了一連串的研究、測試和公共諮詢後,政府更制定了分兩階段進行的第二期計劃(即第二期甲及第二期乙)。第二期甲計劃將進一步收集港島北及港島西南一帶的污水及擴建昂船洲污水處理廠,以確保在污水量增加後有足夠的化學處理能力,並為所有污水進行消毒﹔在第二期乙計劃進行後,更會提供生物處理設施。政府現正落實淨化海港計劃第二期甲 (第二期甲 三維動畫),預計於2014年落成。

另一方面,吐露港的污水收集及處理系統經已投入服務。這個系統開始運作後,附近一帶水域的紅潮便大幅減少,1988年共有43宗,近年則少於20宗。

珠江三角洲區域水質管理合作

「粵港持續發展與環保合作小組」第九次會議在香港召開。香港與廣東省一脈相連,河海和港灣亦緊緊接壤,因此打擊污染必須攜手合作,方可取得最高成效。粵港兩地的聯合工作小組於2000年協議開展一項為期15年的計劃,以改善后海灣的水質,一方面致力降低現有源頭的污染量,另一方面加強管制,防範日後再有污染情況。深港政府在2007年底完成了該計劃的進度回顧,並同時制定了合力改善后海灣水質的進一步聯合行動,確立了新的污染物減排目標,務求后海灣水環境得到實質改善。深港雙方亦在2008年底開展了《大鵬灣水質區域控制策略》第一次回顧,為保護大鵬灣水環境及實現可持續發展目標提出所需的補充建議。

珠三角模型的設計簡圖,包括一維河網模型(SOBEK)及三維河口模型(Delft3D)此外, 香港環境保護署與廣東省環境保護局於2008年携手合作爲珠江河口水域建成了一套先進的水質數值模型。該模型能有效地模擬珠江河網區及近岸海域複雜的水流動態和水質變化過程,爲締造區域水環境管理和水污染控制方案提供一套科學分析工具。模型成果於2008年12月獲粵港持續發展與環保合作小組審議通過,詳情請參閱粵港合作研製珠江三角洲水質模型成果最終研究報告

同心協力改善環境

作為社會一份子,食肆和工廠東主應盡一分力,自律守法,對環境保護作出貢獻。有關環保法例的指引和良好作業手法的詳細資料,請瀏覽指引與參考資料

政府現正積極進行污水設施工程,我們冀盼每位市民通力合作,確保您的樓宇接駁到公共污水系統。另外,只要市民能減低耗水量,需要處理的污水自然會相應減少。有關消減水質污染的建議,請參閱拯救地球有辦法

 

 

返回頁首

 

 
2005copyright logo| 重要告示

修訂日期 : 二零一三年九月十九日