Guidance notes

A Guide to the EIA Ordinance

4. Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process

The Director shall be guided by the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process when making all decisions relating to the issue of EIA study brief, the approval of EIA report, the permission to apply directly for an environmental permit, the issue of environmental permit, the imposition of environmental monitoring and audit requirements, and the conflict resolution among relevant authorities.

Key Contents of Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process
Bullet 12 sections and 22 annexes covering key EIA process steps and issues, representing the state-of-the-art EIA practices in Hong Kong;
Bullet requirements of a project profile (section 2, Annex 1 or 2);
Bullet factors for consideration in identifying adverse environmental impacts (Annex 3);
Bullet the issue of EIA study brief (section 3);
Bullet contents of EIA report (section 4, Annexes 11 to 19);
Bullet review of EIA report (section 4, Annexes 4 to 10, Annex 20);
Bullet environmental monitoring and audit requirements (section 8, Annex 21);
Bullet the issue of environmental permit (section 7).

5. Arrangement for environmental impact assessment reports approved before 1 April 1998

Schedule 2 designated projects will require environmental permits for their construction and operation. The EIA reports of these designated projects will be placed on the Register under section 15(1)(f) of the Ordinance if any one of the following requirements can be met:

(a) the EIA report has been accepted before 1 April 1998 by the Environmental Study Management Group for cases where submissions to the Advisory Council on the Environment (formerly known as the Environmental Pollution Advisory Committee) were not required; or

(b) the EIA report has been accepted before 1 April 1998 by both the Environmental Study Management Group and the Advisory Council on the Environment for cases where submissions to the ACE were required.

An applicant can apply for an environmental permit by making reference to an EIA report on the Register. The permit conditions will include the measures recommended in the relevant EIA report and any additional requirements imposed by the Advisory Council on the Environment or the Secretary for the Environment at the time of endorsing the EIA reports.

6. Arrangement for environmental impact assessment reports not yet approved by 1 April 1998

For other EIA reports not yet approved by 1 April 1998, the EIA study briefs will be placed on the Register under section 15(1)(b) of the Ordinance. The proponents concerned should continue with their EIA studies in accordance with the study briefs and the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process. On completion, the EIA reports should be submitted to the Director of Environmental Protection for approval under section 6 of the Ordinance. The public and the Advisory Council on the Environment will be consulted on the reports according to the procedures in the Ordinance. The Schedule 2 designated projects will require environmental permits for their construction and operation.

7. Applications

7.1 Application for an environmental impact assessment study brief

A person who is planning a designated project should apply for an EIA study brief to proceed with an EIA study. Application should be submitted in the prescribed form together with a project profile that complies with Annex 1 of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process. The application should be accompanied by the prescribed fee. The applicant is requested to send in an electronic copy of the project profile, where possible.

The project profile should contain sufficient information for the Director to identify what issues are relevant and what matters the EIA study should address. If the applicant does not provide sufficient information as required in Annex 1, the Director may within 14 days upon receipt of the application request further information to be submitted under section 5(4) of the Ordinance.

The project profile may cover more than one designated project. The applicant should describe clearly in the project profile the types and number of designated projects to be covered by the EIA study brief.

On the day following the submission of the project profile, the applicant should advertise the availability of the project profile in a Chinese newspaper and an English newspaper. The advertisement and the arrangement for public inspection of the project profile should be made in accordance with the , which can be obtained from the EIA Ordinance Register Office.

The Director will issue an EIA study brief to the applicant within the statutory time limits described in section 8 of this Guide, taking into account the information in the project profile, the public comments, the comments from the Advisory Council on the Environment and the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process.

7.2 Application for approval of an environmental impact assessment report

An applicant should prepare an EIA report in accordance with the requirements of the EIA study brief and the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process. The applicant should submit an application in the prescribed form, pay the prescribed fee, and deliver sufficient copies of the EIA report to the Director. The number of copies of EIA report required will be set out in the EIA study brief.

If the Director is satisfied that the EIA report meets the requirements of the EIA study brief and the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process, the Director will advise the applicant when the report must be exhibited for public inspection, whether the advertisement is to contain any specific material, and whether a submission to the Advisory Council on the Environment (ACE) is required.

After receiving the advice, the applicant should make the report available in such numbers and at locations specified by the Director for public inspection free of charge for a period of 30 days. The applicant should advertise the availability of the EIA report in one Chinese newspaper and one English newspaper once every 10 days of the period. The advertisement and the arrangement for public inspection of the EIA report should be in accordance with the which can be obtained from the EIA Ordinance Register Office.

When required, the applicant should also present the EIA report to the EIA Sub-committee of Advisory Council on the Environment. The procedures and the arrangement for the presentation of EIA report to the EIA Sub-committee are described in the<Advice Note on EIA Sub-committee of the Advisory Council on the Environment<, which can be obtained from the EIA Ordinance Register Office.

7.3 Application for permission to apply directly for an environmental permit

The majority of designated projects will require EIA studies to be conducted. Only under the following three circumstances can the applicant apply for permission to apply directly for an environmental permit:

(a) the project has been adequately assessed in an EIA report already placed on the Register and the findings are still relevant. An application can be made under section 5(9) of the Ordinance and the project profile should comply with Annex 1 of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process;

(b) the impact of the material change to an exempted designated project and mitigation measures can meet the requirement of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process. Figure 3 shows how to check whether a change is a material change under the Ordinance. An application can be made under section 5(10) of the Ordinance and the project profile should be prepared in accordance with the requirements in Annex 2 of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process; or

(c) the impact of the designated project is unlikely to be adverse and the mitigation measures described in the project profile meet the requirements of the Technical Memorandum. Section 5(11) applies to projects which are proved beyond doubt that the environmental impact falls well within the guidelines and criteria laid down in the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process and the effectiveness of the mitigation measures has been demonstrated in practice.

Similar to the application for an EIA study brief, an application in the prescribed form should be submitted together with a project profile that complies with Annex 1 or 2 of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process. The application should be accompanied by the prescribed fee. The applicant is requested to send in an electronic copy of the project profile.

The project profile should contain sufficient information for the Director to decide whether the requirements described in section 5(9), 5(10) or 5(11) of the Ordinance can be met. If the applicant does not provide sufficient information as required in Annex 1 or 2 of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process, the Director may within 14 days of the receipt of the application request further information to be submitted under section 5(4) of the Ordinance.

On the day following the submission of the project profile, the applicant should advertise the availability of the project profile in a Chinese newspaper and an English newspaper. The advertisement and the arrangement for public inspection of the project profile should be made in accordance with the , which can be obtained from the EIA Ordinance Register Office.

The Director will take into account the comments from the public, the comments from the Advisory Council on the Environment, the information in the project profile, and the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process when making the decision as to whether a permission shall be given to the applicant to apply directly for an environmental permit and whether any conditions would be imposed.

Back

γ€€

δΈ­ζ–‡η‰ˆ

指南

環 境 影 響 評 估 條 例 指 南

4. 環 境 影 響 評 估 程 序 的 技 術 備 忘 錄

署長在發出所有有關環境影響評估研究概要、批准環評報告、准許申請直接申請環境許可證、發出環境許可證、施行環境監察及審核規定和謀求解決各有關方面的衝突時所作出的決定,將會以環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄作為指引。

環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄的主要內容
Bullet 12條和22個附件,涵蓋主要環評程序步驟和問題,標誌?本港最先進的環評實務做法;
Bullet 工程項目簡介的規定(第2條、附件1或2);
Bullet 確認不良環境影響的考慮因素(附件3);
Bullet 環境影響評估研究概要的發出(第3條);
Bullet 環評報告的內容(第4條、附件11至19);
Bullet 檢討環評報告(第4條、附件4至10、附件20);
Bullet 環境監察及審核規定(第8條、附件21);
Bullet 環境許可證的發出(第7條)。

5. 對 在 1998年 4月 1日 前 已 獲 核 准 的 環 境 影 響 評 估 報 告 的 安 排


條例附表2內的指定工程項目,建造和營辦必須具備環境許可證。指定工程項目的環境影響評估報告,如符合下列其中一項規定,將會根據條例第15(1)(f)條載於登記冊內:

(a) 其環境影響評估報告已獲環境研究管理小組在1998年4月1日前基於屬於無須提交文件與環境諮詢委員會(前身為環境污染諮詢委員會)而獲接納的個案;或

(b) 其環境影響評估報告已在1998年4月1日前同獲環境研究管理小組和環境諮詢委員會接納而屬於必須提交文件與環境諮詢委員會的個案。

申請人可引述登記冊內所存放的環境影響評估報告以便申請環境許可證。環境許可證條件將包括有關的環評報告所建議的措施,以及環境諮詢委員會或環境局局長在認可環評報告時提出的附加規定。

6. 對 在 1998年 4月 1日 仍 未 獲 核 准 的 環 境 影 響 評 估 研 究 的 安 排

對在1998年4月1日仍未獲批准的環境影響評估報告,其環境影響評估研究概要,將根據條例第15(1)(b)條存放在登記冊內。有關的倡議人應根據研究概要和環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄規定,繼續進行環境影響評估研究。完成後,應將環評報告按條例第6條提交署長批准。根據條例所訂程序也會諮詢公眾和環境諮詢委員會的意見。列入條例附表2所屬的指定工程項目,建造和營辦必須具有環境許可證。

7. 申 請 手 續

7.1 申 請 環 境 影 響 評 估 研 究 概 要

任何人如計劃進行一項指定工程項目,必須申請環境影響評估研究概要以便進行環境影響評估研究。應以指定表格連同符合環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄附件1規定的工程項目簡介一併提交申請。申請時應繳交訂明的費用。如可能者,請申請人將工程項目簡介的電子文本一併遞交。

工程項目簡介應涵蓋充分資料以便署長能認定哪些是有關項目,以及環境影響評估研究應解決哪些事宜。如申請人不能按附件1規定提供充分資料、署長有權在接獲申請14天內,要求根據條例第5(4)條提交進一步資料。

工程項目簡介可能涵蓋多於一項指定工程項目。申請人應在工程項目簡介內清楚說明環境影響評估研究概要所涵蓋的指定工程項目的種類和數目。

申請人應在提交工程項目簡介翌日,就備有工程項目簡介一事在一份中文報章和一份英文報章刊登廣告。就工程項目簡介刊登廣告和供公眾查閱的安排,均應按在環境影響評估條例登記冊辦事處供索取的《文件刊登廣告和供公眾查閱指引摘要》來進行。

署長將在條例和本指南第8節所述的時限,而又經審閱工程項目簡介的資料、公眾和環境諮詢委員會的意見,以及環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄,才向申請人發出環境影響評估研究概要。

7.2 申 請 准 許 環 境 影 響 評 估 報 告

申請人應按環境影響評估研究概要和環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄,擬備環評報告。在申請批准環評報告時,申請人應以指定的申請表格,繳付訂明的費用,並提供足夠數目的環評報告與署長,以便環評報告獲得批准。規定的環評報告文本數目將在環境影響評估研究概要中有說明。

如署長信納環評報告符合環境影響評估研究概要和環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄的規定,署長會通知申請人須在何時將報告供公眾查閱,又廣告是否須包括某些指定資料,和是否需要另向環境諮詢委員會或其轄下小組提交文件。

接獲這方面的通知後,申請人應以署長指明的文本數目和地點,存放環評報告供公眾免費查閱30天。並且每隔10天在一份中文報章及一份英文報章就備有環評報告一事刊登一段廣告。環評報告的廣告和供公眾查閱的安排應按《文件刊登廣告和供公眾查閱指引摘要》進行,這指引可在環境影響評估條例登記冊辦事處索取。

如有需要時,申請人也應向環境諮詢委員會轄下環境影響評估小組委員會提交環評報告。向環評小組委員會提交環評報告的程序和安排載述於《環境諮詢委員會轄下環評小組委員會指引摘要》,該文件可在環境影響評估條例登記冊辦事處索取。

7.3 申 請 准 許 直 接 申 請 環 境 許 可 證

大部分的指定工程項目須進行環評研究。只有在下列三種情況下,申請人方可申請批准直接申請環境許可證:

(a) 如工程項目已透過存放於登記冊內的環評報告作出充分評估而定論仍屬有關,可根據條例第 5(9) 條提出申請,而工程項目簡介亦應符合環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄附件 1 的規定;

(b) 獲豁免指定工程項目的實質改變的影響連同緩解措施仍符合環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄的規定。圖 3 展示如何根據條例核實該項改變是否屬於實質改變。可根據條例第 5(10) 條提出申請,並應按環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄附件 2 的規定擬備工程項目簡介;或

(c) 該項指定工程項目相當不可能會有不良的環境影響;且工程項目簡介所述的緩解措施符合技術備忘錄的規定。第 5(11) 條適用於環境影響毫無疑問確證並無超逾環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄所釐定的指引和準則,而緩解措施在實行當中已證明有效。

申請方法與申請環境影響評估研究概要相同。申請時應填寫指定的表格,連同一套符合環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄附件 1 或 2 的規定的工程項目簡介一併提交。申請時應繳交訂明的費用。請申請人將工程項目簡介的電子文本一併遞交。

工程項目簡介應涵蓋充分資料,供署長決定是否符合條例第 5(9) 、 5(10) 或 5(11) 條的規定。如申請人未能如環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄附件 1 或 2 所述提供充分資料,署長可根據條例第 5(4) 條在接獲申請 14 天內要求提交進一步資料。

申請人應在提交工程項目簡介翌日就備有工程項目簡介供公眾查閱一事宜在一份中文報章和一份英文報章刊登廣告。就工程項目簡介刊登廣告和供公眾查閱的安排,應按《文件刊登廣告和供公眾查閱指引摘要》進行。該指引可在環境影響評估條例登記冊辦事處索取。

在決定是否准許申請人直接申請環境許可證和應否提出條件時,署長會一併審閱公眾意見、環境諮詢委員會的意見、工程項目簡介的資料和環境影響評估程序的技術備忘錄規定。

前一頁

 

English version