Guidance notes

A Guide to the EIA Ordinance

9. Fees

The fees for different applications are prescribed in the Environmental Impact Assessment (Fees) Regulation and summarised in the notes attached to the application forms.

All fees should be paid by cheques payable to the Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. No fee should be payable by any Government department which does not operate under a trading fund within the meaning of the Trading Funds Ordinance.

10. Liaison through the Environmental Study Management Group during the environmental impact assessment study

The setting up of the Environmental Study Management Group is not a statutory requirement. Upon the request of the applicant, the Environmental Study Management Group meetings may be convened by the Director to provide a forum for liaison with the applicant and his/her consultants during the EIA study. Relevant authorities within the Government may be invited to attend.

Such meetings, if convened before the formal submissions of EIA reports under the Ordinance, are to be conducted only on an administrative, advisory basis. The discussions and liaison at the meeting will not in any case absorb the responsibilities of the applicants laid down in the Ordinance. Any formal submissions by the applicants under the Ordinance will be handled in accordance with the procedures and requirements in the Ordinance and the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process.

The priority of the Director and other relevant authorities would necessarily be given to those applications or reports submitted under the Ordinance.

11. Offences and penalties

A person who constructs or operates a designated project listed in Part I of Schedule 2 or decommission a designated project listed in Part II of Schedule 2, either without an environmental permit for the project or contrary to the environmental permit conditions, commits an offence under section 26(1).

A person for whom the project is constructed, operated or decommissioned and who permits the carrying out of the project without an environmental permit or contrary to the environment permit conditions, is also liable under section 26(4) of the Ordinance, subject to a due diligence defence.

It is also an offence under section 26(6) of the Ordinance to separate contiguous projects, which collectively qualify as a designated project, in order to avoid the purposes of the Ordinance.

A director of body corporate may also be liable under section 29 of the Ordinance if it is proved that the offence is committed with his or her consent or due to his/her negligence.

The maximum penalties for the above offences are as follows:

(a) first offence: maximum fine of $2 million and maximum imprisonment of 6 months;

(b) second offence: maximum fine of $5 million and maximum imprisonment of 2 years; and

(c) continuing offence: maximum fine of $10,000 per day.

There are provisions in the Ordinance for the Director, with the consent of the Secretary for the Environment, to issue a cessation order, to require remedial works to be undertaken, to take direct action to remedy environmental damage, and to recover costs from those who are liable.

12. Appeals

If the applicant is aggrieved by a decision of the Director on matters listed in section 17(1) of the Ordinance, he may appeal by lodging a notice of appeal in the prescribed form to the Appeal Board in accordance with the Environmental Impact Assessment (Appeal Board) Regulation within 30 days of receipt of the notice of the decision. The forms for appeal can be obtained from the EIA Ordinance Register Office.

The Appeal Board is to be chaired by a person who is qualified for appointment as a District Judge. The Appeal Board may confirm, reverse or vary the decisions made by the Director. The contents of the Technical Memorandum on Environmental Impact Assessment Process will not be called into question in an appeal.

Back

 

中文版

指南

環 境 影 響 評 估 條 例 指 南


9 各 項 收 費

各項申請的費用巳在環境影響評估(費用)規例訂明及在申請表格隨附的須知內簡述。

所有費用應以支票支付,抬頭寫「香港特別行政區政府」等字樣。任何政府部門如非根據營運基金條例所指的營運基金運作,則不須繳付附表的任何費用。

10 在 環 境 影 響 評 估 研 究 程 序 中 透 過 環 境 研 究 管 理 小 組 進 行 聯 絡 工 作

環境研究管理小組並非一項法定要求。在申請人要求時,可召開環境研究管理小組會議,以提供機會讓申請人和其顧問公司在環評研究中保持聯繫。會議也可邀請有關的政府主管當局人員出席。

如在根據條例提交申請批准環評報告的正式申請文件前召開這會議,應僅視為行政、諮詢性質的討論。會議所作的討論和聯絡並不會免除條例所訂有關環境影響評估程序的申請人的責任。申請人根據條例正式提交的文件將獲根據條例的程序和規定以及技術備忘錄規定處理。

署長及其他有關主管當局將會優先處理根據條例規定所提交的申請書或報告。

11. 罪 行 及 罰 則

任何人如無環境許可證或在違反環境許可證條件(條例第9條)情況下,建造或營辦附表2第I部的指定工程項目,或解除附表2第II部的指定工程項目的運作,根據第26(1)條規定,即屬犯罪。

如為任何人建造或營辦一項工程項目或解除一項工程項目的運作,而該人准許該工程項目在無環境許可證和違反環境許可證情況下進行,根據條例第26(4)條規定即屬犯罪,但該人可用盡了應盡的努力作為抗辯。

如某些相連工程項目整體而言符合成為指定工程項目,凡任何人為規避條例的目的而將工程分開,根據條例第26(6)條規定即屬犯罪。

如能證明有關罪行乃獲得法人團體的董事同意或因其疏忽所導致,根據條例第29條規定,此等人士亦屬犯罪。

上列罪行的最高罰則如下:

(a) 首次定罪:最高可處罰款200萬元及監禁6個月;

(b) 第二次定罪:最高可處罰款500萬元及監禁2年;及

(c) 持續罪行:最高每日另罰款1萬元。

條例訂有條文,讓署長可在獲得環境局局長的同意下發出終止令,規定進行補救工作,直接採取行動以補救環境上的損害,並向負責人士追討費用。

12. 上 訴

如申請人對署長就條例17(1)條所列事宜而作出的決定感到受屈,他可以根據環境影響評估(上訴委員會)規例規定,在接獲通知30日內,填寫指定表格向上訴委員會提交上訴通知書。上訴表格可向環境影響評估條例登記冊辦事處索取。

上訴委員會由一名有資格獲委任為地方法院法官的人士出任主席。上訴委員會可確認、推翻或更改署長所作的決定。上訴時不可就環境影響評估程序技術備忘錄的內容,提出爭議。

前一頁

English version