• COMPETITION details
  • Registration & Submission Requirements

Electric vehicles (EV) have gained popularity worldwide in recent years. In Hong Kong, the Government’s promotion of EV has led to an almost 60-fold increase in the EV population in less than six years (from less than 100 at the end of 2010 to over 5,800 at the end of July 2016). Since retired EV batteries still have 70% to 80% of electricity storage capacity, their potential for second-life applications is immense. The Competition will help find innovative and practical ideas for re-using retired EV batteries, whose numbers are expected to increase with the increased popularity of EV.

Let’s brainstorm a useful second life for EV Batteries!


The Competition is divided into two Groups, the Open Group and the Student Group.

  1. Open Group : All interested individuals or groups;
  2. Student* Group : All students up to and including secondary school level. Student(s) must register via the school email. The principle contact must be a representative of the school appointed by the school’s principal. If no school email address is available, a contact email and a declaration letter signed by the school’s principal are required to confirm the contestant(s) is/are its students.

For both Groups, we welcome individual entry and group entry. The contestant will have to explain his/her idea of the second-life application of retired EV batteries in English in an electronic document (either Microsoft Word or PDF file) without the need to build a prototype.

* For reference, it is equivalent to Year 13 or below in UK or Grade 12 or below in US.


The submissions will be assessed via a 3-tier assessment structure.

Judging Panel # : The Judging Panel is formed by renowned local and international experts from the academia and the relevant industries. The members of Judging Panel include Honorary Professor Ching-chuen CHAN from the Hong Kong University, Mr Daiichiro EGUCHI from Toshiba Corporation, Mr Jun HAN from State Grid Corporation of China, Mr Lothar HERRMANN from Siemens Greater China, Mr Soeren MOHR from BMW, Mr Jack WEN from GE Energy Connections and Professor Zhi-hua ZHONG from Tongji University.

Assessment Board # : The Assessment Board is chaired by Mrs Agnes MAK from the Hong Kong Productivity Council. Its members include Professor Eric CHENG from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Mr Paul POON from CLP Power Hong Kong Ltd, Mr Ivan TAM from Chevalier Group, and Mr Chi-tin WAN from the Hongkong Electric Co. Ltd. It will select five finalists for each Group for consideration by the Judging Panel.

Shortlisting Committee : The Committee is chaired by Deputy Director (Regulatory Services) of the Electrical & Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) and with members from EMSD and the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) of the HKSAR Government. It will screen out entries that violate the relevant HKSAR legislation and shortlist the best 20 for each Group for consideration by the Assessment Board, based on a set of assessment criteria as below.

# Names of the members are listed in alphabetical order


"Originality", "Viability" and "Value & Impact" are the assessment criteria and they will carry equal weighting for the two Groups.

  1. Originality – whether it is an innovative idea which is not yet applied in real life
  2. Viability – whether the concept and the proposed technology is practical, safe, and environmentally sound for real life application
  3. Value & Impact – the extent of utilization of battery capacity and environmental benefits (including reduction in carbon and air pollution emissions)


Deadline for Registration: 30 November 2016
Deadline for Submission: 31 January 2017
Announcement of the five Finalists of each Group: 15 May 2017
Championship cum Prize Award Ceremony: 25 June 2017