Environment Bureau Environmental Protection Department ENVIRONMENT HONG KONG 2008
Home Vision & Mission Foreword Permanent Secretary / Director's Message Contents Feedback Font Size Small Medium Large 繁體 简体
Introduction
Cross-boundary and International Co-operation
Community Awareness
Customer Service and Partnerships
Environmental Assessment and Planning
Air
Noise
Waste
Water
Nature Conservation
Environmental Compliance
Energy
Sustainable Development
8 Waste

 
Feature Article
Resource Materials
PDF Version Text Version

Mission

 

To safeguard the health and welfare of the community from adverse environmental effects associated with the handling and disposal of wastes by developing a sustainable waste management strategy, providing waste management facilities and enforcing the controls in the Waste Disposal Ordinance.


A SUSTAINABLE STRATEGY FOR WASTE


Highlights in 2007
  • 766 housing estates and residential buildings were enlisted in the Programme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste by the end of 2007.
  • A Programme on Source Separation of Commercial and Industrial Waste was introduced.
  • The Hong Kong Second-hand Exchange web site was launched.
  • Guidelines on promoting green lunches in schools were released.
  • A two-month public consultation on a proposed 50-cent levy on plastic shopping bags received general support.
  • An EIA study on extending the North East New Territories Landfill was completed, and another EIA study was begun on extending the West New Territories Landfill.
  • One of the world's largest off-site landfill gas utilisation schemes was launched at the North East New Territories Landfill.
  • An EIA study on sludge treatment facilities was begun.
  • New Risk-Based Remediation Goals for dealing with contaminated land were adopted.

Successful waste management necessitates that a careful and comprehensive balance be attained. On the one hand, waste reduction efforts need to be maximised. The Environmental Protection Department (EPD) is pressing ahead with programmes that encourage every person in every sector of the community to reduce waste. On the other hand, outlets are still needed to handle the waste we produce, however effective we are at reducing it. The EPD is making efforts to ensure that sufficient facilities are available to collect, recycle, treat and dispose of Hong Kong's municipal waste. All of these goals are being approached simultaneously, and as a matter of urgency, because local landfills are rapidly running out of space. As we reduce the volume of waste, we will be able to extend the life of our strategic landfills and further advance our waste management strategy to a more sustainable and environmentally sound footing.

A Policy Framework for the Management of Municipal Solid Waste (2005-2014)

Click here to enlarge

The waste problem in Hong Kong

Solid Waste Disposal 2007

Click here to enlarge
Hong Kong's three strategic landfills will be filled up one by one around the early to mid 2010s. There is little time to hesitate in addressing this problem. The Government published the "Policy Framework for the Management of Municipal Solid Waste in Hong Kong (2005 -2014)" (Policy Framework) in 2005 to resolve targets for reducing waste and to ensure that local waste management can be sustainable, not only in the immediate future, but also in the long run. We have made some notable progress.

In 2007, 45 per cent of municipal solid waste was recovered for the purpose of recycling or re-use. Domestic waste loads at landfills also fell by 4 per cent. However, waste generated from the commercial and industrial sectors increased due to the robust economic growth and strong tourism influx. This contributed to a 1.6 per cent increase in the total municipal solid waste disposed of at landfills in 2007.


Source separation of waste

One of the cornerstones of the Policy Framework is the source separation of waste. A Programme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste was launched in 2005 to bring waste separation facilities closer to where people live and broaden the types of recyclables to be recovered. The goal is to extend the programme to cover 80 per cent of the population by 2010. By the end of 2007, we had enrolled 766 housing estates in the programme, covering 42 per cent of the population (our target was 700 estates). The programme is achieving positive results: participating estates have reported an average 10 per cent reduction in waste sent to landfills.

Poster

Click here to enlarge

The source separation programme initially focused on domestic waste because of the poorer recovery rate compared to commercial and industrial (C&I) waste. More than 60 per cent of C&I waste is recycled. However, the growth in C&I waste loads has highlighted the need to do even better. The source separation of waste programme was extended to this sector in October 2007 to encourage source separation in the workplace. More than 300 buildings have signed up, including commercial and government office blocks, shopping arcades, industrial buildings, warehouses and car parks.

Ms Anissa WONG, Permanent Secretary for the Environment, officiates at the opening ceremony of the The Forum on Source Separation of Waste cum Award Presentation Ceremony.

Ms Anissa WONG, Permanent Secretary for the Environment, officiates at the opening ceremony of the The Forum on Source Separation of Waste cum Award Presentation Ceremony.



Other initiatives to reduce waste

Expanding the reach of recycling programmes is the first step to reducing waste. We also have to ensure there is enough space for waste recovery; that people have sufficient incentives to participate; and that manufacturers and other producers recognise their responsibility to help reduce waste.

More space in buildings would make it easier for residents to separate their waste for recycling, so we are amending the Building Regulations to make it mandatory for new domestic buildings and the domestic part of new composite buildings to provide a refuse storage and material recovery room on each floor. Municipal solid waste charges could also provide an incentive for the public to participate in waste separation and recovery. In this connection, we are planning to undertake a comprehensive baseline study to collect key information for reference in developing a practicable charging scheme.

On-going publicity is essential because it helps to ensure that everyone is aware of how and why they should recycle. Our community awareness activities have adopted waste reduction as a central theme. This was further bolstered in 2007 with the launch of the Hong Kong Second-hand Exchange web site to promote the exchange of used items.

While consumers and other product end-users can contribute through the source separation programmes, producers and suppliers also have a duty to reduce waste. Producer responsibility schemes (PRSs) provide a framework for manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, retailers and consumers to share responsibility in reducing, recovering and recycling certain products.

In this respect, we plan to introduce a 50-cent environmental levy on plastic shopping bags to address the problem of indiscriminate use of plastic shopping bags. The levy scheme will cover chain or large supermarkets, convenience stores and personal health and beauty stores. A two-month public consultation on the proposal was carried out in mid-2007 and received general support from the public and other stakeholders. Legislation to support the proposal and provide a framework for mandatory PRSs will be unveiled in 2008.

Apart from plastic shopping bags, we introduced a voluntary PRS for rechargeable batteries in 2005 that has recovered 750 000 units in three years. Voluntary PRSs are also being developed for other products. In 2007, we reached a consensus with the computer and lighting trade to introduce voluntary PRSs for computer equipment and fluorescent lamps in 2008, and we plan to develop schemes for other products in the near future.


Treatment and disposal

Reducing waste helps to take the pressure off waste facilities, but it does not negate the need for waste treatment and disposal. At the end of the day, we still need landfills and we need to reduce the bulk of waste to extend the life of those landfills.

The EPD plans to introduce integrated waste management facilities that use incineration as the core technology to reduce waste volumes. These state of the art facilities have stringent emission controls and are adopted in other advanced countries, such as Japan and Germany. They will be developed in phases. The first phase would occupy ten hectares, have a treatment capacity of 3 000 tonnes per day and start operating in the mid-2010s. Two site options will be announced in 2008 and we will undertake detailed engineering and environmental studies to determine which is most suitable.

MVA Kiel Incinerators in Germany.

MVA Kiel Incinerators in Germany.

Waste treatment can also be applied to specific types of waste. Food waste comprises 28 per cent of the commercial and industrial waste loads at landfills so we are developing organic waste treatment facilities for that waste. A pilot plant with a four-tonne-per-day capacity will be commissioned in 2008 and one of the first things it will handle is food waste from the Olympic equestrian events. The results from the pilot plant will be used to develop two larger facilities handling 200 tonnes per day each. One, on Lantau Island, will start operating in the mid-2010s, and the other in North District in the late 2010s.

The proposed North East New Territories Landfill Extension.

The proposed North East New Territories Landfill Extension.
Finally, even when people produce less waste and that waste is reduced through treatment, there is still residue requiring disposal. Since the landfills are approaching their current capacity, we have earmarked $8.4 billion to extend that capacity. Feasibility and environmental  impact assessment studies were completed on the North East New Territories Landfill Extension in 2007, and similar studies are in progress for extending the South East New Territories Landfill and the West New Territories Landfill. Our aim is to commission the extensions in the early to mid-2010s, before the current sites run out of space.

Sustainable waste management is like a three-legged stool. Take away one of the legs – reduction, treatment or disposal – and you create an imbalance that puts a strain on our land resources and quality of life. Most people would prefer the issue of waste management was out of sight and out of mind, but sustainability cannot be achieved unless everyone takes responsibility for their waste and helps to protect public health and the environment.


Looking Ahead
Looking Ahead
 
  • The results of a site search for integrated waste management facilities will be announced.
  • 920 housing estates and buildings will be enlisted in the Programme on Source Separation of Domestic Waste by the end of 2008.
  • A Product Eco-responsibility Bill will be introduced in the Legislative Council.
  • Tenders will be invited for the follow-on contract of the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre including modification for co-treatment of clinical waste and upgrading of the air pollution control system in accordance with the latest stringent European Union emission standards.

Topical Issues

環境局 環境保護署 香港環境保護2008
主頁 抱負和使命 序言 常任秘書長/署長的話 目錄 回應 字體大小 小 中 大 Englsih 简体
香港環境保護-序篇
跨境興國際合作
公眾的環保意識
顧客服務及合作夥伴
環境評估與規劃
空氣
嗓音
廢物
水質
自然保育
奉公守法
能源
可持續發展
8 廢物

 
主篇
資源材料
PDF 版本 純文字版本

使命

 

為香港策劃一套可持續發展的廢物管理策略,提供廢物管理設施及執行《廢物處置條例》,保障公眾健康和福祉,確保市民不會因廢物處理和處置不善而受到不良環境因素影響。


可持續發展管理策略


2007年發展里程
  • 至2007年底,有766個屋苑和住宅樓宇參加「家居廢物源頭分類計劃」。
  • 展開「工商業廢物源頭分類計劃」。
  • 設立「香港二手物品交易平台」網站。
  • 出版在學校倡行「環保午膳」的指引。
  • 就擬議塑膠購物袋徵費0.5元進行兩個月公眾諮詢,市民普遍支持。
  • 完成「擴建新界東北堆填區」的環境影響評估研究,並展開「擴建新界西堆填區」的環境影響評估研究。
  • 新界東北堆填區展開一個世界級的堆填沼氣輸出應用計劃。
  • 展開「污泥處理設施」的環境影響評估研究。
  • 採用全新的「按風險釐定的土地污染整治標準」,處理受污染的土地。

成功的廢物管理在於各方面取得平衡。我們一方面需要加強推動減廢的工作,另一方面,減廢的工作成效再好,我們仍須提供處理廢物的地方。環境保護署(環保署)除透過不同計劃鼓勵每一個市民減廢外,亦一直致力提供必須的設施去收集、循環再用、處理和處置香港的廢物。由於我們的堆填區快將填滿,情況迫在眉睫,各方面目標的工作必須同步進行。盡量減少產生廢物,我們可延長堆填區的壽命及達致更環保和可持續的廢物管理策略。


都市固體廢物管理政策大綱(2005-2014)

按此放大

香港的廢物問題

2007年固體廢物棄置量

按此放大
香港的三個策略性堆填區將於2010年代初期至中期逐一填滿,尋求解決方法刻不容緩。政府已於2005年發表《都市固體廢物管理政策大綱(2005-2014)》(《政策大綱》),訂明減少廢物的目標,以達致在短期內和長遠而言均能妥善處理廢物的目標。


香港於2007年回收了45%都市固體廢物供循環再用,而送往堆填區的家居廢物量也下降4%;但同期工商業廢物卻因經濟活動頻繁和旅遊業發展強勁而增加。因此送往堆填區處置的總體都市固體廢物在2007年上升了1.6%。


廢物源頭分類

《政策大綱》的其中一個重點,就是廢物源頭分類。我們於2005年推出了「家居廢物源頭分類計劃」,把廢物分類設施放置在接近市民居住的地方,並且增加回收物品的類別,此計劃的目標是在2010年底前有80%人口參與。截至2007年底,已有766個屋苑參與此計劃(我們原來的目標是700個屋苑),達到人口的42%。此計劃反應良好,參與屋苑送往堆填區的廢物平均也減少了10%。

宣傳海報

按此放大

廢物源頭分類計劃開始時着重家居廢物,因為相比工商業廢物達60%的回收率,家居廢物的回收率比前者為低。但隨着工商業廢物數量的增加,我們決定進一步推展這項計劃。我們於2007年10月把廢物源頭分類計劃推廣至這個界別,至目前為止共有300幢工商業樓宇參與,包含商用樓宇、政府辦事處大樓、購物商場、工廠大廈、倉庫和停車場等。

環境局常任秘書長王倩儀女士(前排右五)出席廢物源頭分類研討會暨頒獎典禮。

環境局常任秘書長王倩儀女士(前排右五)出席廢物源頭分類研討會暨頒獎典禮。



其他減廢措施

增加回收計劃的覆蓋範圍只是減少廢物的第一步。同時,我們也需要確保大廈有足夠空間去回收廢物,提供足夠誘因吸引市民大眾參與,並讓製造商和其他廢物製造者承擔減廢的責任。

住宅樓宇需要有足夠的空間,幫助居民把廢物分類循環再用,因此我們現正修訂《建築物規例》,規定新建住宅樓宇和綜合用途樓宇的住宅部分,必須在每層設有廢物貯藏室和物料回收室。都市固體廢物收費,也是鼓勵市民把廢物分類和回收的另一可行方法,為此我們已準備進行全面研究,收集資料,以制定可行的收費計劃。

宣傳推廣若能持之以恆,可幫助推廣廢物回收的知識、步驟及重要性。減少廢物是我們的社區環保教育活動的中心主題,2007年我們更上一層樓,推出了交換二手物品的「香港二手物品交易平台」網站。

消費者和其他產品用家都可以參加廢物源頭分類計劃,生產商和供應商也應盡責減廢。生產者責任計劃讓製造商、入口商、零售商和消費者共同承擔責任以減少、回收和循環再造某些產品。

為此我們計劃引進塑膠購物袋環保徵費,應付濫用塑膠袋問題,徵費計劃實施第一階段的範圍,包括大型超級市場、便利店和個人健康和美容產品零售店。有關建議於2007年中已進行公眾諮詢,得到市民和其他相關人士支持;至於該建議的法例和強制性生產者責任計劃的實施方案會於2008年公布。

除了塑膠購物袋,我們還於2005年實施自願性生產者責任計劃。回收充電池計劃,三年來已回收了750 000件。我們現正制定其他產品的自願性生產者責任計劃,並於2007年達成協定,在電腦和照明業界引入該計劃,並於2008年擴展至回收電腦設備、慳電膽和光管,以及籌備日後回收其他產品。


處理和處置廢物

減少廢物可以減輕廢物設施的負荷,但是減廢並不能完全消除處理和棄置廢物的需求。我們始終需要堆填區處置廢物,也需要減少廢物的體積,延長堆填區的壽命。

環保署正計劃發展以先進焚化作為核心技術的綜合廢物管理設施,以大幅減少廢物體積。先進的焚化設施採用嚴謹的排放操控,現時正在日本、德國等先進國家使用。綜合廢物管理設施將會分階段發展,第一階段的發展佔地十公頃,每天能處理3 000公噸廢物,將於2010年代中期啟用。我們會於2008年公布兩個建議的設施選址,其後會進行詳盡的工程和環境研究,決定最適合選址。

德國MVA Kiel焚化爐。

德國MVA Kiel焚化爐。

我們亦因應廢物的類別而採用合適的處理技術。廚餘佔棄置於堆填區的工商廢物28%,我們計劃為此建立處理有機廢物的設施,在2008年啟用一所每天能處理四公噸廚餘的試驗處理設施,首先處理奧運馬術比賽期間所產生的廚餘。此試驗處理設施的結果及經驗會用作日後參考,發展兩所每天能處理200公噸有機廢物的更大設施;其中一所有機廢物處理設施位於大嶼山,將於2010年代中期啟用,另一所設於北區,將於2010年代末開始營運。

建議的新界東北堆填區擴建。

建議新界東北堆填區擴建
即使我們從源頭減少製造廢物,並以處理的方法減少廢物的體積,最終仍會有剩餘物需要棄置。由於現有堆填區快將填滿,因此環保署已計劃動用84億元去擴充其容量。有關「新界東北堆填區擴建計劃」的可行性及環境評估研究已於2007年完成,而「新界東南堆填區擴建計劃」和「新界西堆填區擴建計劃」的研究正在進行中。我們的目標是在現有堆填區滿溢前,於2010年代初期至中期啟用這些擴充部分。

可持續的廢物管理需要三方面的平衡 — 減少廢物、處理廢物和處置廢物,缺一不可,否則會影響土地資源和生活質素。大多數人都想把廢物管理的責任置之不顧,要達至可持續發展,便須整個社會齊心合力,維護公共衛生,保護環境。


前瞻
前瞻
 
  • 公布綜合廢物管理設施選址結果。
  • 於2008年底前,邀請920個屋苑和樓宇參與「家居廢物源頭分類計劃」。
  • 向立法會提交《產品環保責任條例草案》。
  • 就化學廢物處理中心延續合約招標。合約條款包含:改建設施以便混合處理醫療廢物,以及提升廢氣潔淨系統以符合歐洲聯盟最新的嚴謹排放標準。

專題項目