Review of Air Quality Objectives

The Government has set out Hong Kong’s Air Quality Objectives (AQOs) in the Air Pollution Control Ordinance (Cap. 311), and is required to review the AQOs at least once every five years to continuously improve air quality and safeguard public health. The current AQOs took effect from 1 January 2022. The Government has embarked on a new round of review to assess the scope for further tightening the AQOs, with an aim of completing the review by 2023.

Guiding Principles of the Review

The Government’s ultimate goal, in the long run, is for Hong Kong’s air quality to fully meet the ultimate targets set out by the World Health Organisation (WHO). In September 2021, the WHO released a set of new Global Air Quality Guidelines (AQGs), imposing much more stringent limits, and introducing three new parameters, namely the peak season level for ozone (O3), 24-hour level for nitrogen dioxide (NO2) and 24-hour level for carbon monoxide (CO).

As in the past, WHO advises in the new AQGs that while achievement of the AQG levels should be the ultimate goal, this might be a difficult task for many countries and regions. Therefore, gradual progress in improving air quality, marked by the achievement of interim targets, should be considered a critical indicator of improving health conditions for populations. The current review will follow the above principles and guidelines. Of the 12 parameters in our AQOs, five of them are already pegged at the most stringent levels of the new AQGs.

Key tasks

  1. Appraise the latest air quality levels and trends of Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta (PRD) region;
  2. Examine the progress and effectiveness of on-going and committed air quality improvement measures, and deliberate on new air quality improvement measures with substantial emission reduction impacts by 2025 and 2030;
  3. Evaluate the air quality improvement in 2025 and 2030, and the associated health and economic benefits in 2030 taking into consideration the implementation of air quality improvement measures in Hong Kong and the PRD region; and
  4. Assess the compliance of AQOs for 2025 and the scope for further tightening the AQOs in 2030 with reference to the latest WHO AQGs.

AQOs Review Working Group and Air Science and Health Task Force

A Working Group led by the Under Secretary for Environment and Ecology has been set up to engage stakeholders and gauge their views on the current review. The Working Group will deliberate on air quality improvement measures with substantial emission reduction impacts by 2025 and 2030, and evaluate the scope for tightening the AQOs having regard to the findings of the air quality and health and economic impact assessments.

The Working Group comprises some 20 external members in the fields of air science, environmental groups, professional institutions, business groups and relevant trades, as well as officials representing related Government bureaux and departments. An Air Science and Health Task Force (ASHTF) comprising air scientists and medical experts has been established under the Working Group to advise on the methodologies and findings of the air quality and health and economic impact assessments that will be carried out by a consultant engaged by the Government.

More information on the Working Group and the ASHTF

空气质素指标检讨

政府在《空气污染管制条例》(第311章)列明香港空气质素指标(指标),并规定须每五年最少检讨指标一次,以不断提升空气质素,加强保障市民健康。现行指标由2022年1月1日开始生效。政府已展开新一轮指标检讨,评估进一步收紧指标的空间,目标是在 2023 年内完成检讨。

检讨的基本原则

长远而言,政府的最终目标是香港空气质素可以全部符合世界卫生组织(世卫)所订定的最终指标。在2021年9月,世卫公布了新的《全球空气质量指南》(《指南》),订定了更严格的指标,并新增三项新指标(臭氧的高浓度季节指标、二氧化氮的24小时指标和一氧化碳的24小时指标)。

一如以往,世卫于《指南》指出达致世卫所订定的最终指标对许多国家和地区来说可能是一项艰钜的任务。因此,逐步改善空气质素以达致《指南》所订的中期目标,应被视为改善人口健康状况的关键指标。是次检讨将遵循上述原则和指引。在香港现行的12项指标中,已有五项指标订于新《指南》的最终指标水平。

主要工作

  1. 评估香港及珠江三角洲(珠三角)地区最新的空气质素水平及趋势;
  2. 检视现行空气质素改善措施的进展和成效,及审议在2025年及2030年前具显著减排影响的新空气质素改善措施;
  3. 考虑到香港和珠三角地区空气质素改善措施的实施情况,评估2025年和2030年的空气质素改善情况,以及2030年相关的健康和经济效益;及
  4. 评估2025年的指标达标情况,以及参考世卫最新《指南》,进一步收紧2030年指标的空间。

空气质素指标检讨工作小组及空气科学与健康专责小组

一个由环境及生态局副局长领导的工作小组已成立,以谘询相关持份者对是次检讨的意见。工作小组将审议在2025年和2030年前具显著减排影响的空气质素改善措施,并因应空气质素影响评估及健康和经济影响评估的结果评估收紧指标的空间。

工作小组由来自空气科学界、环保团体、专业团体、商会和相关业界的约20名非官方成员,以及代表相关政府决策局和部门的官方成员所组成。政府委任的顾问将会进行空气质素影响评估及健康和经济影响评估,工作小组之下亦成立了一个由空气科学和医学专家组成的空气科学与健康专责小组(专责小组)负责就上述评估的方法和结果提供建议。

关于工作小组及专责小组的更多资讯