Loading

Regional Collaboration

No Table Header
No Table Header

Pearl River Estuary

Hong Kong is situated at the mouth of the Pearl River and we have witnessed the most rapid economic development in the Pearl River Delta (PRD) in the past years. Nonetheless, increasing pollution load arising from developments and human activities have inevitably posed increasing pressure on the water environment.

No Table Header
Coverage of the Pearl River Delta
Coverage of the Pearl River Delta

In August 2000, the Hong Kong and Guangdong Governments jointly established the PRD Water Quality Protection Special Panel (the Special Panel) under the Hong Kong-Guangdong Joint Working Group on Sustainable Development and Environmental Protection (the Joint Working Group) to promote exchange and cooperation on the protection of the water environment in the Pearl River Estuary region.

Water Environment in the Pearl River Estuary Region

Effective management and protection of the water environment in the Pearl River Estuary region is no easy task due to its complicated natural settings and wide spatial coverage. The estuary water body comprises two main components: the river network and the coastal waters. The flow dynamics and interactions between the two water bodies are extremely complex.

First of all, fresh water gathered in the upstream catchments will pass through the complicated river network in the PRD where flows are distributed to many smaller distributaries and eventually discharged into the estuary via the 8 river outlets, namely Humen, Jiaomen, Hongqimen, Hengmen, Modaomen, Jitimen, Hutiaomen and Yamen. The discharge varies significantly from less than 4,000 cu. m/s in the dry season to 28,000 cu. m/s in the wet season. During a flood event, the peak discharge can exceed 40,000 cu. m/s.

The estuary is under the tidal influence of coastal waters. As the estuary topography is relatively flat, the tidal motion can propagate upstream into the river network and bring in saline marine water. Adding to the complexity is the strong stratification in the estuary and coastal waters, especially during the wet season, due to the large density difference between fresh river discharges and marine waters, as well as surface heating.

PRD Model

To strengthen the scientific basis for water quality management and to enhance cooperation in the region, the Special Panel jointly developed a computer water quality model for the Pearl River Estuary region (the PRD Model) in 2008. The primary objective is to construct a computer model that is capable of simulating the complicated flow distributions and water quality processes in both the river network and the coastal waters.

In the past, models were either specifically designed and built for the study of river networks (river models), or solely developed for the study of estuarine and coastal waters (estuary models). These models adopt completely different modelling approaches due to the very different nature of the river and estuary systems, and are used independently to simulate their respective areas. But in reality, the river network, the estuary and the coastal waters are inseparable units interacting dynamically with one another.

To provide a holistic understanding of the highly complex estuarine environment, a 1-dimensional river model (using computer software SOBEK) and a 3-dimensional estuary model (using computer software Delft3D) were built and joined together numerically to concurrently simulate the hydrodynamics and water quality in the river network and the coastal waters. This approach required the development of an advanced flexible coupling mechanism between the two totally different types of model, which was a pioneer attempt in the PRD.

The coverage of the river model domain extends along Beijiang to Shijiao and Yagang in the north, along Dongjiang to Boluo and Qilinzui in the east, and along Xijiang and Tanjiang to Gaoyao and Shizui respectively in the west. On the other hand, the coverage of the estuary model domain extends to Zhenhai Bay in the west, to Daya Bay in the east, and covering approximately the 75m depth contour in the off-shore direction.

Both the river and estuary models are capable of simulating the transport of pollutants and various water quality processes. More than 30 water quality parameters in the water body and the sediment, e.g. salinity, temperature, suspended solids, dissolved oxygen (DO), biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) and nutrients, together with the relevant physical and biochemical processes, e.g. water re-aeration, settling of suspended solids, decay of organic matters, algal growth and nitrification, are included in the PRD Model.

The model was endorsed by a panel of experts formed by both Hong Kong and Guangdong sides. The panel reckoned that the study methodology and modelling approach adopted were state-of-the-art and the overall design reasonable. The model met high international standards, yet practical and flexible in operation. The PRD model developed is on par with the best in the world in terms of its spatial coverage, the range of water quality parameters considered, dynamic coupling of the 1-dimensional river and 3-dimensional estuary water quality models and visualisation of the modelling results. For more details, please see "Development of a Pearl River Delta Water Quality Model - Final Study Report".

Enhanced Cooperation on Water Quality Management

The Hong Kong and Guangdong governments completed a study in 2014, using the PRD model to assess the pollution load carrying capacity of the estuary under different water quality targets. The study findings indicated that the organic pollution level (in terms of Chemical Oxygen Demand) in the Pearl River Estuary met the relevant sea water quality standards with the progressive extension and improvement of sewerage infrastructure by both governments. The corresponding nutrient levels (in terms of nitrogen and phosphorus), however, do not meet the relevant standards. Both governments will continue to take forward pollution control measures to cope with future development needs and to enhance water quality management cooperation with a common objective of protecting the water quality of the estuary.

No Table Header
Schematic layout of the PRD Model
Schematic layout of the PRD Model which is composed of a 1D river model (SOBEK) and a 3D estuary model (Delft3D)

Model Simulations

To illustrate the capability of the PRD model, we have prepared two simulations below using a 3-dimensional visualisation tool to show the pollutant dispersion process in the PRD river network and the estuary due to a hypothetical continuous point source discharge within the river network.

Example 1: Wet Season Scenario.
Example 2: Dry Season Scenario.

 

 

Back to top Table of Content

Loading

区域合作

没有表头
没有表头

珠江河口

香港位于珠江的出口,见证了珠江三角洲在过去多年最急速的经济发展。然而,由于发展与人类活动息息相关,不断增加的污染负荷无可避免地对水环境造成了日益沉重的压力。

没有表头
珠江三角洲的地域范围
珠江三角洲的地域范围

2000年8月,粤港政府携手在「粤港持续发展与环保合作小组」(合作小组)之下成立了「珠江三角洲水质保护专题小组」(专题小组),以促进保护珠江河口地区水环境的交流和合作。

珠江河口地区水环境

由于珠江河口地区天然环境复杂,地域范围广阔,要有效管理和保护该区的水环境并不容易。河口水体由河网和近岸海域两个主要部分组成,两个水体之间的水动力互动作用,机理极为复杂。

首先,上游流域汇聚的淡水在流经珠三角河网时分流至多条较小的支流,最终经虎门、蕉门、洪奇门、横门、磨刀门、鸡啼门、虎跳门及崖门等八大口门流入珠江河口。珠江的流量差异很大:枯水期每秒不足4,000立方米;丰水期每秒可达28,000立方米;在洪水期,最大流量可超过每秒40,000立方米。

另一方面,河口亦受近岸海域的潮汐所影响。由于珠江河口地势较为平坦,潮汐运动可以伸延至河网上游部分,并将咸水带至河网中。此外,由于珠江流出的淡水与海水的密度差异很大,加上水面的热辐射作用,引致河口和近岸海域特别在丰水期出现强烈层化现象,使珠江水环境状况更为复杂。

珠三角水质模型

为促进区域水质管理合作,提高水环境管理的科学水平,专题小组在2008年为珠江河口地区共同研制了一套水质电脑模型,即珠三角水质模型。该项目的主要目的,是建造一套能够同时模拟河网和近岸海域复杂的水流分布和水质变化过程的电脑模型。

过往的模型通常是专门为研究河网而设计和建造(河网模型),或纯粹为研究河口和近岸海域系统而研制(河口模型)。由于河网和河口系统的天然本质完全不同,这些模型亦采用了截然不同的模拟方法,以分别模拟河网和河口的不同水环境条件。但在实际情况中,河网、河口和近岸海域是一个不可分割的整体,彼此间存在互动的关系。

为全面了解珠江三角洲和珠江河口水环境高度复杂的特点,珠三角水质模型项目分别建立了珠江三角洲河网区一维水动力与水质模型(采用电脑软件SOBEK)和珠江河口三维水动力与水质模型(采用电脑软件Delft3D),并建立了一维、三维水动力与水质模型的动态耦合计算方法,以同时模拟河网和近岸海域的水动力及水质状况,这技术是在珠三角地区的一项崭新尝试。

河网模型的覆盖范围分别向北面沿北江伸展至石角及鸦岗、向东面沿东江伸展至博罗及麒麟嘴、向西面沿西江及潭江伸展至高要及石嘴。另一方面,河口模型则覆盖西面的镇海湾至东面的大亚湾,并由岸边向外伸展至75米等深綫一带。

河网及河口模型均能计算出污染物的输移特征及各项水质变化过程。珠三角水质模型涵盖水体及底泥中超过30种水质参数,例如盐度、温度、悬浮固体、溶解氧、生化需氧量及营养物,以及有关的物理和生化过程,例如水体大气复氧、悬浮固体沉淀、有机物分解、藻类生长和氮的硝化作用等。

模型成果通过了由粤港双方组成的专家组的技术鉴定。专家组认为,本项目采用的研究方法和技术路线先进,总体设计合理。模型的实用性和可操作性强,总体上达到国际先进水平。在模型覆盖的面积、模拟因子的数量、一维河网及三维河口水质模型的动态耦合方法、模拟结果的动态显示技术等方面已达国际领先水平。详情请参阅《珠江三角洲水质模型最终研究报告》

加强水环境管理合作

粤港政府在2014年合作完成了一项研究,利用珠三角水质模型评估珠江河口在不同水质目标下的纳污能力。研究结果显示,在粤港两地逐步拓建和优化污水基础建设下,珠江河口的有机污染物水平(以化学需氧量而言)达到相关海水水质标准,但营养物水平(以氮和磷而言)则未能附合相关标准。双方将共同努力推进污染控制措施以应付未来发展的需要,并加强水环境管理合作以达至保护珠江河口水质的共同目标。

没有表头
珠三角水质模型的设计简图
珠三角水质模型的设计简图,包括一维河网模型(SOBEK)及三维河口模型(Delft3D)

模拟片段

为了让读者对珠三角水质模型成果有更直接的体会,我们特别利用三维可视化工具制作了以下模拟片段,显示在河网中一个假设的连续点源排放,其污染物在珠三角河网及河口水域的扩散过程。

例子1:丰水期的情景。
例子2:枯水期的情景。

 

 

返回页首 目录