Loading

Enforcement In Action

The EPD's enforcement staff are in charge of licensing operators who create pollution. The operators are expected to treat their emissions or discharges to standards laid down in their licences. If they fail to meet these standards, or if they fail to get a licence, the enforcement staff will investigate, ask the polluter to stop, gather evidence, and prosecute if the case is warranted. Underpinning their work is the need to be fair and consistent, and to deter other polluters.

Licensing

Licensing is a legal requirement and a major point of contact between the Regional Offices and polluters. It provides EPD's enforcement staff with information about polluting activities and gives them an opportunity to provide industry with information on reducing their pollution.

Image Staff at the Customer Service Counter provides assistance in applying for environmental permits and licences

The EPD has set up one stop shop Customer Service Counters at its Regional Offices. Companies may need to apply for several permits or licences within various time such frames, which can be confusing. The Customer Service Counter aims to minimise confusion and staff are on hand to answer questions and help applicants fill in the forms. Applications are also available over the Internet at the EPD's web page (See Environmental Protection Interactive Centre.) Please refer to Where to Submit Application for the addresses of the Customer Service Counters.

Licensing has been used to encourage self-monitoring. The Water Pollution Control Ordinance requires major dischargers to monitor their effluent, which helps them to understand the components of their wastewater and the effectiveness of their treatment facilities.

Inspecting Polluters

Inspections are carried out on a regular basis, as well as in response to pollution complaints; polluters are not informed of them in advance. During inspections, a team of officers trained in air, noise, water and waste pollution control will assess the odour nuisance, dust and noise levels, quality of effluent discharges, waste disposal, and the operation of pollution abatement facilities. If any violation is suspected, operators concerned may be given a cautionary Yellow Form stating that they need to correct their pollution or legal action will be taken. If the problem persists, a detail investigation will start and evidence will be collected. A Pink Form will be issued stating legal action has been initiated. For serious cases, the Pink Form will be issued as soon as the violation is detected.

Image The Yellow Form and Pink Form provide records of inspections

The purpose of inspections is to monitor compliance with the law. The frequency depends on history of the operator in obeying the law, severity of the potential pollution, public concern and complaints. Known pollution blackspots will also be inspected more frequently. Special equipment, such as night-view binoculars, and other government departments, such as the police, may be called in if necessary (see box on Special Investigations). Those who comply with the law are still inspected but less frequently and in less detail.

Image Close monitoring of air, noise and water pollution is an important enforcement task

Pollution Abatement Notices

Polluters who contaminate the air or make too much noise will be told to rectify the problem and stop the nuisance immediately or by a certain date, as spelled out in pollution abatement notices. These notices apply mainly to noisy ventilating systems and pumping stations or greasy fumes from restaurants. Any operator who fails to comply with the pollution abatement notice will be prosecuted.

In some cases of air or noise pollution, prosecution will be undertaken without issuing an abatement notice. For instance, a factory discharging black smoke, a construction site emitting excessive dust or a shop trading very noisily would be prosecuted immediately.

Taking Offenders to Court

In deciding whether to prosecute an operator, enforcement officers are guided by the EPD's own principles, spelled out above, that take into account the seriousness of the pollution episode, the evidence collected and the compliance history of the operator. A prosecution would be undertaken if there were an unacceptable environmental nuisance or risk to public health, if the operator failed to comply with an abatement notice, or if false information were provided during an inspection or investigation. Please also see The Statement of Prosecution Policy for the Environmental Protection Department for further details.

Court decisions are independent of the EPD and some penalties may not provide a sufficient deterrent to some polluters. In light of this, and taking into account the fact that repeated convictions may result in heavier penalties, the EPD has decided to step up action against persistent polluters. The department no longer waits for the outcome of one court case before pursuing further prosecutions against the same offender and it will ask the court to impose daily fines for continued offences.

Emergencies

The EPD works closely with other government departments such as the Fire Services Department, Marine Department and Government Laboratory to provide a speedy response to environmental incidents. Comprehensive response plans are in place for dealing with different types of emergency situations on land and at sea, including oil and chemical spills.

The EPD provides dedicated support for all emergency situations and the Chemical Waste Treatment Centre contractor provides chemical waste collection and disposal services for incidents involving chemicals.

An Emergency Response Drill team was also set up in 1999 to enhance staff performance and readiness in emergency situations.

Image Staff of Regional Offices and Territorial Control Office respond promptly to emergencies

Special Investigations

Most polluters comply with the law but a few are becoming skilful at evading our regular enforcement activities. The Regional Offices have established special investigation teams to take intensive action against these operators. Two problems they have investigated successfully are fly-tipping and midnight dumping.

Fly-tipping

Fly-tippers drop their waste in remote locations and "fly" away, rather than take it to one of the three strategic landfill sites. Everything from dead pigs to consrtuction and demolition  waste  and used tyres has been dumped around the New Territories in this way. The Regional Offices have increased their inspection frequency at known blackspots and urged landowners and other parties to clean up their land, thus making it more difficult for fly-tippers to go undetected. The public has also helped by reporting and identifying illegal fly-tippers, who are prosecuted.

Image "Fly-tipping" of waste creates eye-sores and problem of hygiene
 
Midnight dumping

Some polluters discharge their wastewater untreated in the middle of the night to save on electricity or waste disposal costs. The onus is on Regional Offices to catch them in the act and to collect evidence and sample, so they have launched round-the-clock surveillance and ambushes where necessary and launched prosecutions against midnight dumpers.

Image Illegal discharges of wastewater caused serious problems in our water environment in the past

 

Back to topTable of Content
User review date: 
Wednesday, 13 March, 2019

Loading

付诸实行, 采取执法行动

环保署的执法人员负责发牌管制会制造污染的营运商。营运商应按牌照的排放标准处理其所排放的废物或废气。如营运商不遵从有关标准或不领取牌照,执法人员便会展开调查,并要求污染者终止污染;同时搜集证据,假如决定检控,则会确保过程公平公开,一视同仁,及藉着检控阻吓其他污染者。

发牌

发牌乃法律的规定,亦是区域办事处与污染者的主要联系途径。发牌制度不仅让环保署的执法人员掌握污染活动的资料,亦同时提供机会向业界推广减少污染的讯息。

图片 顾客服务枱的职员乐于为申领环境许可证及牌照的人士提供协助

环保署现已于各区域办事处成立一站式顾客服务枱。根据现行法规,许多商业机构需要在不同时期申领不同的许可证或牌照,申请过程难免出现混乱。顾客服务枱提供一站式服务的目的,是将申领牌程序的混乱情况减至最低,同时由职员现场解答市民的疑难,并协助申请者填写申请表格。申请人亦可透过环保署网页环境保护互动中心递交牌照或许可证的电子申请。有关各顾客服务枱的办事处地址,请浏览如何递交申请表格

发牌制度鼓励业界进行自我监察。《水污染管制条例》规定,主要排污者必须监察所排放的废水,此举有助他们了解排出废水的成分,以及其污水处理设施的成效。

巡查污染者

本署职员会定期执行巡查及监察行动,同时回应市民的污染投诉;事前不会预先通知污染者。监察期间,曾接受空气、噪音、水及废物污染管制训练的执法小组人员,将评估气味滋扰、尘埃和噪音水平、排放的污水质量、弃置废物和消减污染设施的运作。如执法人员怀疑有违法行为,便会向有关经营者发出一张黄色的警告表格,通知该经营者必须纠正污染问题,否则环保署将会采取法律行动。如污染问题仍然持续,本署职员便会展开深入调查,以便搜集足够证据;或会向违例者发出一份粉红色表格,通知该经营者本署已展开法律行动。如污染问题严重,本署会立即发出粉红色表格。

图片 黄色表格及粉红色表格乃本署职员执行巡查工作的纪录

本署的巡查行动,旨在监察守法情况。巡查的次数主要视乎经营者遵守法例的往绩、污染的严重性、公众关注程度和投诉数量而定。针对污染黑点的巡查次数一般会较高。如有需要,执法人员会使用夜视望远镜等特别器材,并会要求警方和其他政府部门提供协助(详情请参阅「特别调查行动」方格)。此外,本署职员亦会持续巡查及监察遵从法纪的经营者,然而此类巡查会比较简单和次数会较少。

图片 本署执法工作包括严密监察空气、噪音及水污染

消减污染通知书

环保署亦会着令污染空气或制造过量噪音的污染者,纠正污染问题,并立即停止滋扰;或按照「消减污染通知书」的指定日期,适时改善。有关通知书主要针对吵耳的通风系统及泵房或食肆的油烟。倘若经营者不遵从「消减污染通知书」的规定,执法人员将会展开检控行动。

在某些空气或噪音污染的情况下,本署可于尚未发出「消减污染通知书」前,向经营者采取检控行动。例如,有厂房排喷黑烟、建筑地盘排出过量尘埃或商户营运时产生极大噪音,有关的经营者都会被即时检控。

检控违例者

执法人员会根据以上的宗旨,按照有关污染事件的严重程度、搜集所得的证据和经营者的违法纪录等因素,考虑是否检控。如本署认为经营者造成不可接受的环境滋扰或危害公众健康、不遵守「消减污染通知书」的规定,或在监察或调查时提供虚假资料,执法人员便会进行检控。详情请参阅环境保护署检控政策

法庭的裁决并非环保署的管辖范围,有时候由于法庭裁决不够严厉,未能对某些污染者产生阻吓作用。环保署认为多次违反法例的经营者应受到更严厉的惩处,因此决定将对付持续违法污染者的行动升级。假如违例者接二连三干犯环保法规,环保署便不会等候法庭宣判审理中的案件,而马上检控该违例者的其他违规事故,并且会要求法庭就持续违法的案件,处以每日罚款。

紧急事故

我们与多个政府部门〔如消防处、海事处及政府化验所〕紧密合作,为环境事故提供迅速的应变措施。我们已针对陆地及海上所发生的各种紧急情况〔如漏油及泄漏化学品〕制订多套周全的应变计划。

本署会为所有紧急事故提供支援,而化学废物处理中心承办商亦会为涉及化学品的事故提供化学废物收集及处理服务。

本署于1999年亦成立一支紧急应变演习队伍,致力提升员工应付紧急事故的表现及准备工作。 

图片 区域办事处及总区办事处职员迅速回应紧急事故

 特别调查行动

大部分污染者都会遵从法例的规定,然而部分违例者却擅于回避本署定期的执法行动。因此,区域办事处现已成立特别调查小组,针对这类经营者采取密集式打击行动。就以随地非法倾倒废物及夜间倾倒废水这两个棘手问题为例,特别调查小组的工作便十分重要。

随地非法倾倒废物

违例者弃置废物的地方,并非3个策略性堆填区,而是偷偷在偏远地区倾倒废物,然后迅速离开现场,消遥法外。他们用这种方法在新界区倾倒的废物,包括死猪尸体、拆建废物和弃置车胎等,种类之多着实令人咋舌。有见及此,区域办事处现已增加巡查黑点的次数,同时促请土地的业主及有关方面清理废物,令非法倾倒废物的违例者难以逃脱。此外,环保署亦得到市民协助,举报及辨认非法倾倒废物违例者,将违例者绳之于法。

图片 随地非法倾倒废物,除有碍观瞻外,亦造成卫生问题
 
夜间倾倒

部分污染者会在午夜时份,倾倒未经处理的废水,以务求节省电费或排污费。区域办事处的执法人员须在污染者非法倾倒时,当场收集证据及样本,因此会按照实际情况,有需要时会进行24小时的监察和埋伏,检控在夜间非法倾倒的违例者。

图片 昔日非法排放废水问题,对我们的水环境造成沉重压力

 

 

返回页首目录
User review date: 
星期三, 13 三月, 2019