Reverse Vending Machine Pilot Scheme

What is a Reverse Vending Machine?

Reverse Vending Machine (RVM) is an automatic device that allows consumers to feed in used beverage containers (e.g. plastic beverage containers) for instant rebate. It is usually equipped with scanning function to verify the barcodes on containers to ensure that only designated containers are accepted. Many RVMs are also equipped with compression function to reduce the volume of beverage containers so as to enhance its handling and storage capacity. In general, RVMs can usually support instant electronic payment and redemption of cash coupons for consumers to shop at participating retail stores.

 

RVM Pilot Scheme

To pave way for the future Producer Responsibility Scheme on Plastic Beverage Containers (PPRS), the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) has rolled out a one-year RVM Pilot Scheme in the first quarter of 2021 to test out the application of RVMs in Hong Kong. Under the pilot scheme, 60 RVMs would be installed in phases at locations such as public places or government facilities with relatively high foot traffic, with provision of instant rebate ($0.1 per plastic beverage container) via e-payment platform to encourage the public to return their used plastic beverage containers. Each Octopus card or Alipay (Hong Kong) account allows the public to return a maximum of 30 plastic beverage containers and redeem the rebate in a day. Members of the public may also choose to donate the rebate (no daily limit imposed) to designated charities (the Community Chest, the Scout Association of Hong Kong or the Hong Kong Girl Guides Association) to benefit the community. All the plastic beverage containers collected would be delivered to suitable local recyclers, as arranged by the Government-appointed contractor, to ensure proper recycling. First batch of RVMs has been put into service for trial use in January 2021.

 

Three features of the RVMs

Convenient return

Instant rebate or charity donation

More efficient remote management

 

Location


Tips for returning beverage containers

 

Enquiry

Hotline (9:00am to 10:00pm): 9488-0277 (Support WhatsApp)

Email: enquiry@hkrvm.com.hk

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: How long would the RVM Pilot Scheme last? When did the pilot scheme commence?
A1: The pilot scheme is a one-year programme with 60 RVMs installed in phases. The first batch of RVMs under the pilot scheme has been put into service since January 2021.
   
Q2: Where are the RVMs? What are their service hours?
A2: The locations and service hours of the RVMs are shown at www.hkrvm.com.hk. The service hours of RVMs may vary depending on the opening hours of individual venues.
   
Q3: How does the RVM operate?
A3: The public may refer to the demonstration video on the EPD website for the steps of using the RVM. Besides, the interactive screen on the RVM would also provide instructions for returning the containers. The public could choose to redeem their rebate either through Octopus or Alipay (Hong Kong), or to donate their rebate to one of the designated charitable organizations. The public may then follow the instructions on the screen to put plastic beverage containers into the RVM. For any enquiries on operation of RVM, please contact the pilot scheme hotline (9488-0277) by phone or through Whatsapp messaging application.
   
Q4: Which types of plastic containers are covered in the pilot scheme?
A4: The RVMs only accept plastic beverage containers of volume in the range of 100mL to 2L that are commonly circulated in the Hong Kong market. Before returning a container, the public should empty the content, keep bottle sleeve, barcode and cap and make sure the botte is not deformed.
   
Q5: Should the public remove sleeves on beverage containers before returning them using RVMs?
A5: The RVMs would scan the barcodes on the containers to verify whether they are the designated plastic beverage containers covered by the RVM database. The public should keep the bottle sleeves or labels with barcodes on them and keep the containers in their own shapes without deformation so as to ensure the containers can be recognized by the RVMs. It is also not required to remove the bottle caps for separate handling.
   
Q6: Under what circumstances would a container be rejected by RVMs?
A6: The possible causes for rejection of container by RVMs may include:
  1. The container is not a plastic beverage container;
  2. Volume of the container is less than 100mL or more than 2L;
  3. The container is in deformed shape;
  4. The container does not have any identifiable barcode or the RVM cannot identify the barcode of the container;
  5. The barcode of the container is not covered by the RVM database (for example, the beverage product not sold in Hong Kong or just newly introduced into the Hong Kong market); or
  6. There is a significant amount of residual liquid inside the container.
   
Q7: How should the public handle plastic beverage containers that are not recognizable by RVMs?
A7: The public may bring the plastic beverage containers not recognizable by RVMs to the nearby collection points (for example, plastic recycling bins, Recycling Stores (formerly known as “Community Recycling Centres”) or Recycling Stations (formerly known as “Community Green Stations”)) for proper recycling. Also, the public is encouraged to share with us information of the concerned plastic containers via the pilot scheme hotline (9488-0277) by phone or through the Whatsapp messaging application for verifying the barcodes and updating the RVM database.
   
Q8: Any limit on the amount of rebate redeemable each time/ each day?
A8: Instant rebate is provided to the public for returning plastic beverage container to the RVMs. Each Octopus card or Alipay (Hong Kong) account allows the public to return a maximum of 30 plastic containers and redeem the rebate in one day. Once the daily limit is reached, the public cannot use that card or account to return plastic beverage containers at any other RVMs under the pilot scheme for rebate redemption on that day.
   
Q9: If the public does not have Octopus card / Alipay (Hong Kong) account, could the public request to have the rebate paid by coins?
A9: The RVMs would only provide rebate in the form of e-money through Octopus card or Alipay (Hong Kong) account.
   
Q10: What is the arrangement for the public to donate their rebate?
A10: The public may follow the instructions on the RVM interactive screen to choose donating their rebate to "the Community Chest", "the Scout Association of Hong Kong" or "the Hong Kong Girl Guides Association" for charitable purposes. On confirmation of the amount of rebate and selection of beneficiary organization, an electronic receipt would be displayed on the screen. The public may take photo of it for record if necessary.
   
Q11: How could the public handle their plastic beverage containers on hand if the interactive screen of a RVM show that it is full?
A11: The RVMs are provided with self-monitoring function. Notification would be sent out automatically to the contractor before a RVM reaches its maximum capacity. Meanwhile, the public may also inform the contractor via the pilot scheme hotline (9488 0277) by phone or through Whatsapp messaging application. The contractor would arrange collection of the plastic containers as soon as possible. Besides, the public may get the information of the locations and status of other RVMs at www.hkrvm.com.hk and bring their plastic beverage containers to other RVMs for proper recycling.
   
Q12: What should the public do if a RVM suddenly stops operation when it is in use?
A12: The public may record down the RVM location, the date and time of the incident, the error code displayed on the screen (if any) and specific problems concerned and then contact the pilot scheme hotline (9488 0277) by phone or through Whatsapp messaging application.
   
Q13: What should the public do if a RVM does not provide any rebate after accepting the containers?
A13: The public may record down the RVM location, the date and time of the incident, the number of containers accepted and the Octopus account/ Alipay (Hong Kong) account involved and then contact the pilot scheme hotline (9488-0277) by phone or through Whatsapp messaging application.
   
Q14: How many plastic beverage containers could be stored in each RVM?
A14: The RVM is equipped with compression function to compress the received plastic beverage containers so as to reduce their volume and enhance the handling and storage capacity of the machine. Each RVM can store about 1,000 compressed plastic beverage containers of 500ml in volume.
   
Q15: How would the Government handle the plastic beverage containers collected under the pilot scheme?
A15: The contractor appointed by the Government is responsible for collecting plastic beverage containers from the RVMs and delivering them to suitable recyclers for proper treatment and recycling locally.
   
Q16: How would the Government ensure that RVMs are maintained in good hygienic condition?
A16: All RVMs are equipped with ozone system for automatic disinfection. Besides, the contractor would conduct regular RVM cleaning and implement additional measures according to the actual operational need to ensure all RVMs are maintained in good hygienic condition.
   
Q17: What could the public do if he/ she has any questions on the RVM Pilot Scheme?
A17: The public is welcome to contact the pilot scheme hotline (9488-0277) by phone or through Whatsapp messaging application for any questions relating to the RVM Pilot Scheme.
   
Q18: Apart from the RVM Pilot Scheme, are there any other RVMs rolled out by the EPD?
A18: EPD has also provided support, under different schemes, to some other RVM projects to promote recycling of used plastic beverage bottles, including the following:
 
Location of RVM Number of RVM(s) Acceptable recyclables Duration Operating Organization Enquiry number
Cyberport 2-CyberLab 1 Plastic beverage bottles and aluminium cans Apr 2021 to Sep 2022 Carbon World Limited 2388 0821
Fo Tan Industrial Centre 1 Plastic beverage bottles and aluminium cans Apr 2021 to Sep 2022 Carbon World Limited 2388 0821
Waterside Plaza 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
The Waterside 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
Kowloon Plaza 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
Gold Coast Piazza 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
The Centrium 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
Far East Finance Centre 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
Empire Centre 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496
Commune Modern 1 Plastic beverage bottles Apr 2022 to Nov 2022 Cornerstone Renewable Energy Limited 9165 0496

逆向自動售貨機先導計劃

什麼是逆向自動售貨機?

逆向自動售貨機(簡稱為「入樽機」)是一種可回收飲料容器(例如塑膠飲料容器),並能提供即時回贈予消費者的全自動裝置。它通常具備掃描功能,用作識別容器上的條碼,以確保只接受指定的容器。很多入樽機亦具備壓縮功能,可減少收集到的容器的體積,從而提高裝置的處理和儲存量。一般而言,入樽機普遍能夠支援即時電子支付及兌換購物現金券,以便消費者在參與的商戶消費。

 

入樽機先導計劃

為配合日後的「塑膠飲料容器生產者責任計劃」,環境保護署(環保署)於2021年第一季推出先導計劃,以測試入樽機在香港收集塑膠飲料容器的實地應用。在先導計劃下,我們於人流合適的公眾地方、政府設施及商場等地點,分階段設置共60部入樽機給公眾試用,並透過電子支付平台提供即時回贈(每個塑膠飲料容器為$0.1),以鼓勵公眾交回使用完的塑膠飲料容器。

先導計劃推出至今,公眾反應正面。第二期先導計劃於2022年第二季推出,入樽機的數目會分階段逐步增加至合共120部,方便更多市民親身體驗入樽機的運作。每一張八達通或每一個支付寶(香港)帳戶每天最多可交回30個塑膠飲料容器,並領取有關回贈。公眾亦可選擇將回贈捐給指定的慈善機構,每天數量不限,造福社群。政府委聘的承辦商會將收集到的塑膠飲料容器交予合適的本地回收商作循環再造,確保轉廢為材。

 

入樽機三大特點

方便回樽

即時回贈或慈善捐款

遙距管理更有效率

 

地點


回樽小貼士

 

查詢

熱線電話 (早上9時至晚上10時): 9488-0277 (支援WhatsApp)

電郵查詢: enquiry@hkrvm.com.hk

 

常見問題

Q1: 先導計劃為期多長?何時開始?
A1: 入樽機先導計劃於2021年1月展開,分階段設置共60部入樽機。先導計劃推出至今,公眾反應正面。第二期先導計劃於2022年第2季推出,而入樽機的數目會逐步增加至合共120部。
   
Q2: 入樽機的設置地點及使用時間?
A2: 市民可到這網頁www.hkrvm.com.hk查閱所有入樽機的設置地點及使用時間。入樽機的使用時間會因應設置地點的服務時間而有所不同。
   
Q3: 入樽機是如何運作的?
A3: 市民可瀏覽環保署相關網頁內的示範短片了解入樽機的使用步驟。此外,入樽機的互動屏幕上亦有顯示收樽程序,市民可先選擇以八達通或支付寶(香港)收取回贈,或全數捐出回贈予指定慈善機構,然後按照屏幕上的指示將塑膠飲料容器放進入樽機。如對入樽機的使用有疑問,可致電或透過Whatsapp應用程式聯絡先導計劃熱線9488-0277。
   
Q4: 先導計劃回收哪類塑膠容器?
A4: 入樽機只接受一般在香港市面上售賣,容量為100毫升至2公升之間,而樽身招紙上印有產品條碼的塑膠飲料容器。市民在入樽前應清空塑膠容器,保留樽身招紙、條碼及樽蓋和確保樽身沒有變形。先導計劃不接受只在樽蓋頂上印有條碼的塑膠飲料容器。
   
Q5: 市民在使用入樽機回收塑膠飲料容器時是否需要先撕走塑膠容器上的招紙?
A5: 入樽機會掃瞄塑膠容器上的條碼,確認是否入樽機資料庫所涵蓋的塑膠飲料容器才會接收。市民應保留樽身印有條碼的完整標籤或招紙,並保持樽身不變形,以確保塑膠容器可被入樽機辨識。市民亦毋需將樽蓋分開處理。
   
Q6: 在什麼情況下入樽機會拒絕接收容器?
A6: 入樽機未能接收容器的原因可能是:
  1. 容器並非塑膠飲料容器;
  2. 容器的容量少於100毫升或多於2公升;
  3. 容器樽身已變形;
  4. 容器上沒有可辨識的條碼或入樽機未能辨識容器上的條碼;
  5. 塑膠飲料容器的條碼不在入樽機的資料庫內(例如非香港市面上售賣或新上市的飲品容器);
  6. 容器內仍有不少剩餘液體;或
  7. 回收過程受不正常的干擾,例如市民將手伸進機內。
   
Q7: 市民應如何處理入樽機未能自動辨識的塑膠飲料容器?
A7: 市民可將未能由入樽機自動辨識的塑膠飲料容器送往附近的回收點(例如塑膠回收箱、「回收環保站」、「回收便利點」或 「回收流動點」)作妥善回收。同時,我們亦鼓勵市民透過先導計劃的專題網頁,或致電或透過WhatsApp應用程式聯絡先導計劃熱線9488-0277,提供相關塑膠飲料容器的資料,以便我們可核實有關條碼及更新入樽機的資料庫。
   
Q8: 每次/每天兌換回贈有沒有次數上限?
A8: 市民透過入樽機交回塑膠飲料容器可獲得即時回贈。每一張八達通卡或每一個支付寶(香港)帳戶每天最多可交回30個塑膠飲料容器,並領取有關回贈。額滿後該卡或帳戶在當天不能再到先導計劃下其他入樽機交回塑膠飲料容器以取得回贈。
   
Q9: 如果市民沒有八達通或支付寶(香港)帳戶,可否要求以硬幣獲取回贈?
A9: 入樽機只可透過八達通或支付寶(香港)帳戶的電子平台方式提供回贈。
   
Q10: 市民怎樣安排回贈捐款?
A10: 市民可按照入樽機的互動屏幕指示,選擇捐款給指定的慈善機構作慈善用途。確認回贈金額並選擇受惠機構後,屏幕上將顯示電子收據。如有需要,市民可以拍照以作記錄。
   
Q11: 若互動屏幕顯示入樽機已滿,市民可如何處理帶來的塑膠飲料容器?
A11: 入樽機設有自動監測功能,當入樽機接近容量上限前會有訊息通知承辦商。期間,市民亦可致電或透過WhatsApp應用程式聯絡先導計劃熱線9488-0277,承辦商會盡快安排收集塑膠容器。此外,市民可以透過這網頁 www.hkrvm.com.hk 查閱其他入樽機的位置及狀況,將塑膠飲料容器帶往其他入樽機作妥善回收。
   
Q12: 若入樽機在使用過程中突然停止運作,市民應該怎麼辦?
A12: 市民可以將有關入樽機的地點、事發日期及時間、屏幕上顯示的錯誤號碼(如有)及具體問題記錄下來,然後致電或透過WhatsApp應用程式聯絡先導計劃熱線9488-0277。
   
Q13: 若市民成功入樽後卻未能收取回贈,應該怎麼辦?
A13: 市民可以將有關入樽機的地點、事發日期及時間、入樽數量及八達通號碼或支付寶(香港)帳號記錄下來,然後致電或透過WhatsApp應用程式聯絡先導計劃熱線9488-0277。
   
Q14: : 每部入樽機可儲存多少個塑膠飲料容器?
A14: 入樽機設有壓縮功能,會將收集到的塑膠飲料容器先壓縮,以減少它們的體積,從而提升入樽機的處理和儲存量。每部入樽機可儲存約1,200個經壓縮後的塑膠飲料容器(以500毫升容器計算)。
   
Q15: 政府會如何處理先導計劃所收集到的塑膠飲料容器?
A15: :政府委聘的承辦商會負責收集入樽機內的塑膠飲料容器,並將收集到的塑膠飲料容器運送到合適的回收商,在本地妥善處理和回收。
   
Q16: 政府如何確保入樽機維持良好的衞生狀況?
A16: 所有第二期先導計劃的入樽機均配備臭氧系統作自動化消毒,並於機身表面噴上防病毒塗層,以提供長效消毒保護。此外,承辦商會定期清潔入樽機,並根據實際運作需要提供額外措施,以確保入樽機維持良好衞生狀況。
   
Q17: 市民如有關於入樽機先導計劃的問題該怎辦?
A17: 如有關於入樽機先導計劃的問題,歡迎致電或透過WhatsApp應用程式聯絡先導計劃熱線9488-0277。
   
Q18: 除了入樽機先導計劃外,環保署有否推出其他入樽機?
A18: 環保署亦透過不同資助計劃,支持部份其他入樽機項目的運作,以推廣回收使用完的廢塑膠飲料容器,包括以下:
入樽機地點 入樽機數量 可接受回收物 日期 運作機構 查詢電話
數碼港2座-
CyberLab
1 塑膠飲料容器及鋁罐 2021年4月至2022年9月 碳世界有限公司 2388 0821
富騰工業中心 1 塑膠飲料容器及鋁罐 2021年4月至2022年9月 碳世界有限公司 2388 0821
海灣花園 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
雅濤居 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
九龍廣場 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
黃金海岸商場 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
中央廣場 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
遠東金融中心 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
帝國中心 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496
囍逸 1 塑膠飲料容器 2022年4月至2022年11月 基石再生能源有限公司 9165 0496