Loading

Water Quality

No Table Header
No Table Header

Biological Indicator Monitoring in Hong Kong

This webpage presents the biological indicator monitoring programme initiated by the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) in 2004.

Why we need a biological indicator monitoring?

The EPD has been implementing a marine water quality monitoring programme since the mid-1980s. The programme covers over 80 physical, chemical and biological parameters (such as bacteria and Chlorophyll-a levels) of water and sediments and aims at providing information on what the pollutants are, where and at what concentrations. The total concentrations of pollutants like metals and trace organics in waters and sediments, for example, is however only indicative of their potential impacts on the biological community as these pollutants occur in different chemical forms in the environment and only parts of them are bioavailable and can be taken up by organisms. Biological indicator monitoring, therefore, could supplement information on the level of pollutants in the organisms and the potential effects of specific pollutant(s) on them.

More on biological indicators

The biological indicator monitoring programme

Background

In the last few decades, biological indicators have been used to supplement chemical and physical parameters in pollution monitoring in some countries (e.g. USA, UK, Australia and New Zealand). To be in line with overseas trend and determine the biological effects of marine pollution in Hong Kong waters, the EPD conducted a consultancy study on the “Development of Biological Indicator System for Monitoring Marine Pollution” between 2001 and 2003. The study recommended the EPD to implement a biological indicator monitoring programme in conjunction with other water quality monitoring programmes to enhance the effectiveness of water quality management. In 2004, the EPD initiated a biological indicator monitoring programme.

Objective of the programme

The objective of the biological indicator monitoring programme is to supplement the marine water quality monitoring programme with information on (1) the biological responses of indicator species with respect to changes in water quality; (2) to compare biological effects / impairments across Hong Kong waters; and (3) to assess the condition of the marine community.

Targeted species

 

The biological indicator monitoring programme has targeted two local marine species: (1) green mussel Perna viridis, and (2) dog whelk Reishia clavigera.

(1) Green Mussels

Green mussels (bivalves) have been widely used as a biological indicator of pollution in various monitoring programmes to measure the levels of bioavailable fractions of pollutants. The reason for this is that mussels are sessile, filter-feeding organisms, able to accumulate within their tissues many of the pollutants (e.g. heavy metals, trace organics, etc.) present in marine waters, wide spread and in general, easy to collect. The green mussel species, Perna viridis, which is widely distributed in Hong Kong waters and commonly used as food locally, is therefore selected as a biological indicator in our monitoring programme.

The general health condition of this species could be assessed by analysing the stability of lysosome (a sub-cellular membrane-bound organelle containing hydrolytic enzymes for food degradation within a cell) as toxic metals and organics chemicals (e.g. polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs)) could destabilize the lysosomal membrane in mussels. In our monitoring programme, the stability of lysosomal membrane in haemocytes of the green mussel is measured by Neutral Red assay.

In addition, the tissue trace organics levels including PCBs and PAHs; and heavy metals includes cadmium (Cd), chromium (Cr), copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), lead (Pb) and zinc (Zn) in this species are also monitored.

Our monitoring results show that there were spatial differences in the stability of lysosomal membrane (as reflected by the neutral red retention time) among the green mussels collected from different sites. Higher retention time was generally recorded in the areas of Tolo Harbour & Inner Mirs Bay (e.g. Ko Lau Wan), whereas the mussels collected from sites like Ma Wan, Sok Kwu Wan and Tsim Sha Tsui generally showed a shorter retention time of the dye.

In terms of tissue pollutant levels, our monitoring results show that there were no marked changes in the tissue levels of most heavy metals between sampling sites and surveys. The levels of PCBs and PAHs were generally higher in urban centres such as Tsim Sha Tsui (Victoria Harbour) as compared with Perna viridis collected from Pak Sha Wan and Yung Shue Wan.

The results show that the levels of Cd, Cr and Pb in the mussel Perna viridis were all below Hong Kong's recommended limits for shellfish as food (i.e., Cd: 2.0 ppm; Cr: 1.0 ppm; Pb: 6.0 ppm wet weight) [Cap. 132 Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations, Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance]. The levels of Ni in Perna viridis were also well below the action limits set by the US FDA (i.e., Ni: 80 ppm wet weight) (FDA Guidance Document). Both Cu and Zn are essential elements to humans. They are much less toxic as compared with some other metals (e.g. Cd, Cr and Pb). There are no seafood safety standards (recommended seafood limits) established for Cu and Zn in Hong Kong (also hardly in any other countries). The levels of Cu and Zn recorded in mussels in Hong Kong waters were largely similar to the range of those obtained from some other countries such as Singapore. PCB contaminations in all the mussel Perna viridis analysed were well below the Mainland standard, i.e., 2.0 ppm wet weight (GB 2762-2005) for both fish and shellfish.

No Table Header
(A photo showing the green mussel Perna viridis)
(A photo showing the green mussel Perna viridis)

(2) Dog Whelk

Tributyltin (TBT) based antifouling paints were commonly used in the 60s and 70s to prevent corrosion and fouling of boats. TBT is an endocrine-disrupting chemical extremely toxic to marine life. Since the 70s, it was known that TBT was harmful to marine organisms and can induce imposex in some marine gastropods. Imposex is an abnormality in which the genital system of females develops male-like structures such as penis and vas deferens which could block the genital pore and cause reproductive failure (i.e. egg capsules cannot be laid) and premature death. Measuring the degree of imposex in marine gastropods is a sensitive and specific biological indicator of TBT contamination in the environment. Occurrence of imposex in some marine gastropods has been reported worldwide in areas with high marine traffic / activities.

Many countries have banned the use of TBT based paints on ships. In Hong Kong, all TBT containing antifouling paints are considered as pesticides and are controlled under the Pesticides Ordinance (Cap.133) administered by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) and no permit has been issued by the AFCD for the local use of TBT containing antifouling paints since 2006. The "International Convention on the Control of Harmful Anti-Fouling Systems on Ships, 2001" (the Convention) was adopted by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in 2001 to globally ban on the application of organotin compounds in antifouling paints used on ship hulls so as to protect the marine environment. The Convention entered into force internationally on September 17, 2008. The Convention has been implemented in Hong Kong by the Merchant Shipping (Control of Harmful Anti-Fouling Systems on Ships) Regulation (Cap.413N) administered by the Marine Department.

The local dog whelk, Reishia clavigera (formerly known as Thais clavigera), which is a small carnivorous gastropod feeds mainly on suspended / soluble organic matters and commonly found in rocky shores, is selected as a biological indicator of TBT pollution in our monitoring programme.

Our monitoring results show that Reishia clavigera is widely distributed and common in our local rocky shores, suggesting that the environmental TBT level was not particularly high and has not exerted any catastrophic impact on the population of this species. In general, the imposex levels in Reishia clavigera were higher in areas like Tsing Yi, Butterfly Beach and Big Wave Bay where shipping / boating activities are intensive, while the populations in Clear Water Bay and Sai Kung generally showed a lower degree of imposex. Nevertheless, as the use TBT is banned, it is anticipated that the effect of TBT would gradually subside.

No Table Header
(A photo showing the dog whelk Reishia clavigera)
(A photo showing the dog whelk Reishia clavigera)

 

 

Back to top Table of Content

Loading

水質

沒有表頭
沒有表頭

香港的生物指標監測計劃

本網頁展示環境保護署於2004年啟動的生物指標監測計劃。

為什麼要進行生物指標監測?

環境保護署自80年代中已經開始對本港海水的水質進行監測,監測計劃涵蓋超過80種關於海水和沉積物的監測項目,包括其物理、化學及生物參數(如:大腸桿菌及葉綠素-a的含量)。海水水質監測,可以提供一些有關環境受到哪類污染物影響以及受污染的地點和程度的資料。但監測水和沉積物中的金屬和微量有機物等污染物的總濃度,只能反映污染物對生物群落的潛在影響,因為這些污染物,在環境中會以不同的化學形式出現,當中只有部分會被生物吸收,於生物體中積聚。而生物指標監測可以提供生物體內污染物水平,以及某些特定污染物對生物的潛在影響等資料。

更多關於生物指標的資訊

生物指標監測計劃

背景

近幾十年,一些國家(例如:美國、英國、澳洲和新西蘭)均有採用生物指標來監測海洋污染,以彌補化學及物理參數之不足。為了符合海外趨勢和更深入地瞭解污染對本港生物的影響,環境保護署在2001-2003年就「利用生物指標系統監測海洋污染」進行顧問研究。該研究建議政府在實施其他水質監測計劃的同時,進行生物指標監測,從而使水質管理工作更加有效。環境保護署於2004年啟動了生物指標監測計劃。

監測目的

生物指標監測計劃的目的,是輔助海水水質監測計劃,提供資料關於(1)各種生物指標對水質改變的反應;(2)比較不同監測海域的生物效應 / 生物受損狀況;及(3)評估本港海洋的生態狀況。

目標物種

 

生物指標監測計劃包括監測兩種本地海洋生物:(1)翡翠貽貝(Perna viridis)及(2)疣荔枝螺(Reishia clavigera)。

(1) 翡翠貽貝

翡翠貽貝(雙殼類)是一種被廣泛使用為量度環境污染物中受生物利用部份程度的污染監測指標生物。選擇貽貝作為指標生物的原因包括:貽貝不會走動、屬於過濾性生物、對水中污染物的積聚能力強(如:重金屬及微量有機物)、地理位置分佈廣泛及容易採樣。翡翠貽貝不但廣泛分佈於香港水域,而且是本地常用食物,因此,被選為監測計劃中的生物指標。

由於有毒金屬和有機化學物質(例如:多氯聯苯,多環芳烴)可損害翡翠貽貝溶酶體膜的完整性,該物種的健康狀況可以通過分析溶酶體(細胞膜分隔、含有水解酶以降解和消化細胞內食物的亞細胞器)的完整性來評估。本監測計劃使用中性紅染色法(Neutral Red Assay)來檢測翡翠貽貝血細胞溶酶體的完整性。

除此之外,我們同時檢測了翡翠貽貝體內微量有機物包括多氯聯苯和多環芳烴,以及重金屬包括鎘、鉻、銅、鎳、鉛和鋅的含量。

根據監測結果顯示,不同海區的翡翠貽貝溶酶體的完整性(表現為保持中性紅的時間)有差異。在吐露港和大鵬灣內灣(例如:高流灣)採集的貽貝保持中性紅的時間普遍較長;而在海區如馬灣、索罟灣和尖沙咀所收集到的貽貝保持中性紅的時間則普遍較短。

在污染物的含量方面,我們的監測結果顯示在各採樣點和調查中,翡翠貽貝體內大部份重金屬含量大體上並無顯著變化。然而,在靠近市區海域,如尖沙咀(維港水域) 採集的貽貝其體內多氯聯苯和多環芳烴的含量,通常較白沙灣和榕樹灣的高。

監測結果顯示,翡翠貽貝體內鎘、鉻和鉛的含量均低於香港貝類食物的限量[《公眾衛生及市政條例》之下的《食物攙雜(金屬雜質含量)規例》(第132章):按濕重量計,鎘:2 ppm;鉻:1.0 ppm;鉛:6 ppm]。鎳的含量亦遠低於美國食品及藥物管理局所訂的行動限量(80 ppm濕重) (美國食品及藥物管理局指引文件)。銅和鋅是人體必需的元素,其毒性遠低於其他一些重金屬(例如:鎘、鉻和鉛)。香港沒有訂立海產含銅和鋅的安全標准(食物限量),其他國家也幾乎沒有。香港海域中翡翠貽貝體內銅和鋅的含量和其他一些國家(例如:新加坡)大致相同。本港翡翠貽貝體內多氯聯苯的含量遠低於內地魚類和貝類食物安全標準,即不高於2.0 ppm濕重 (GB 2762-2005)。

沒有表頭
(照片:翡翠貽貝)
(照片:翡翠貽貝)

(2) 疣荔枝螺

含三丁基錫(Tributyltin or TBT)的船底防污漆於60和70年代廣泛應用於船艇以防止水銹和腐蝕。三丁基錫是一種可擾亂內分泌功能的化學物質,可對海洋生物造成極大毒害。自70年代起,人們開始認識三丁基錫對海洋生物有害,如令腹足類生物出現性變異(imposex)。性變異是指一些雌性腹足類軟體動物的生殖系統出現雄性特徵的異常現象。例如,雌性動物會長出陰莖和輸精管,嚴重時甚至堵塞生殖孔導致不育(即卵子不能排出卵鞘)及胚胎夭折的情況。量度腹足類生物性變異程度是一個十分靈敏和特別為顯示生物是否受到三丁基錫污染而採用的生物指標。腹足類生物出現性變異曾被廣泛報導出現在海上交通頻繁或有使用三丁基錫的地區。

許多國家已制定法例,禁止在船隻使用含三丁基錫的漆料。在香港,所有含三丁基錫的船底防污漆一律列為除害劑,並受漁農自然護理署執行的《除害劑條例》(第133章)管制。自2006年以來,漁農自然護理署並沒有發出任何許可證,允許在本地使用包含有三丁基錫的船底防污漆。國際海事組織於2001年通過《2001年國際管制船舶有害防污系統公約》(《公約》),禁止全球船舶使用含有害有機錫化合物的船底防污漆,以保護海洋環境。《公約》於2008年9月17日開始在全球生效,並透過海事處執行的《商船(控制船舶有害防污底系統)規例》(第413N章)於香港實施管制。

本地的疣荔枝螺(Reishia clavigera)是一種小型食肉性腹足類動物,常見於岩岸及透過攝食懸浮及可溶性有機物質為主,是生物指標監測計劃中用作監測三丁基錫污染程度的指標生物。

根據監測結果顯示,疣荔枝螺常見及廣泛分佈於本地岩岸,環境中的三丁基錫含量不高及沒有對該物種的種群變化造成嚴重影響。整體而言,在船艇活動頻繁的水域如青衣、蝴蝶灣和大浪灣,沿岸疣荔枝螺出現性變異的情況一般較多,採自清水灣和西貢的疣荔枝螺出現性變異的情況則較少。由於三丁基錫的使用已被禁止,三丁基錫對環境的影響預期將逐漸消退。

沒有表頭
(照片:疣荔枝螺)
(照片:疣荔枝螺)

 

 

返回頁首 目錄