Loading

Air Pollution Control Strategies

A Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong 
Tackling roadside air pollution
Reducing marine emissions
Cutting emissions from power plants
Cooperation with the Mainland

 

Background

This section sets out the strategies of the Hong Kong SAR Government (HKSARG) for tackling air pollution problems.
Hong Kong has been facing two air pollution issues.  One is local street-level pollution.  The other is the regional smog problem.  Diesel vehicles are the main source of street-level pollution.  Smog, however, is caused by a combination of pollutants from motor vehicles, marine vessels, industry and power plants both in Hong Kong and in the Pearl River Delta (PRD) region.


A Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong

The Environment Bureau (ENB) released “A Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong” in March 2013 to outline comprehensively the challenges Hong Kong is facing with regard to air quality and to give an overview of the relevant air quality improvement policies and measures.  We have been implementing a wide range of measures covering land and sea transport, power plants and non-road mobile machinery to reduce air pollution.  Besides, we have been strengthening collaboration between Guangdong and Hong Kong to deal with regional air pollution. The ENB published "Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong (2013-2017 Progress Report)" in June 2017, which gives an account on its implementation and achievements.


Tackling Roadside Air Pollution

The Government has been implementing a series of vehicle emission control measures in recent years, including phasing out pre-Euro IV diesel commercial vehicles (DCVs), replacement of catalytic converters and oxygen sensors of liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) taxis and light buses, strengthening emissions control on LPG and petrol vehicles, retrofitting Euro II and III diesel franchised buses with selective catalytic reduction (SCR) devices and adoption of tighter vehicle emission standards, etc.

The Government is preparing the following new initiatives to further reduce air pollutant emissions from vehicles -

  • To adopt an incentive-cum-regulatory approach to progressively phase out about 40 000 Euro IV DCVs;
  • To tighten the emission standards of first registered motorcycles to Euro 4, and the emission standards of first registered light buses with a design weight of more than 3.5 tonnes and buses with a design weight of not more than 9 tonnes to Euro VI;
  • To conduct a trial of retrofitting of Euro IV and V diesel double-deck franchised buses with enhanced SCR systems to reduce the emission of nitrogen oxides; and
  • To review the current scope of the Pilot Green Transport Fund to further promote the transport sectors’ wider use of green innovative transport technologies.


Reducing Marine Emission

To control emissions from marine vessels, Hong Kong has adopted MARPOL Annex VI requirements and regulated excessive vessel smoke emissions.  The Government has also been leading by example by powering Government vessels with Euro V diesel.  The sulphur content of locally supplied marine light diesel has been capped at 0.05% since 1 April 2014. Ocean going vessels berthing in Hong Kong are required to switch to compliant fuel (i.e. fuel with sulphur content not exceeding 0.5%, liquefied petroleum gas and any other fuel approved by the Director of Environmental Protection) since 1 July 2015. The Government has been collaborating with the governments in Pearl River Delta to reduce vessel emissions in the region, including the joint efforts to take forward the implementation of a Domestic Emission Control Area in the Pearl River Delta. In this regard, the Air Pollution Control (Fuel for Vessels) Regulation (Cap 311AB) came into effect on 1 January 2019 requiring all vessels, irrespective of whether they are sailing or berthing, to use compliant fuel within Hong Kong waters to further improve air quality.

 

Cutting Emissions from Power Plants

Electricity generation is a major source of air pollution in Hong Kong. In 2017, emissions of sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOX) and respirable suspended particulates (RSP) from power plants accounted for 43%, 27% and 16% respectively of the total territory-wide emissions. The emissions of power plants would also affect the air quality in the Pearl River Delta region. Reducing their emissions could help reduce the regional levels of SO2, particulates, etc. To reduce emissions from electricity generation, the Government has banned the construction of new coal-fired generating unit by the two power companies (i.e. CLP Power Hong Kong Limited (CLP) and the Hongkong Electric Company, Limited (HEC)) since 1997. The Government amended the Air Pollution Control Ordinance (APCO) in 2008 to ensure a smooth, timely and transparent allocation of emission caps for power plants by means of issuing a Technical Memorandum (TM). We have issued since 2008 seven TM to stipulate emission caps for power plants from 2010 onwards. The latest seventh TM was issued in 2017 to further tighten the power sector’s emission caps for sulphur dioxide, nitrogen oxides and respirable suspended particulates by around 60-80% from 2022 onwards as compared with the emission caps set under the first TM for 2010.

In order to meet the stringent emission caps, the two power companies have implemented a number of the emission reduction measures including:

  1. installing flue gas desulphurization (FGD) and denitrification systems for coal-fired units;
  2. increasing the use of low-emission coal and natural gas for electricity generation;
  3. constructing new gas-fired units to replace some old coal-fired units;
  4. increasing electricity intake from the Daya Bay Nuclear Power Station; and
  5. upgrading existing gas-fired units for improving their NOx emission performance as well as thermal efficiency.

Revamping the fuel mix for electricity generation is most effective to further reduce emissions from power plants. The Government has pledged to increase local gas generation to around 50% of the total fuel mix for electricity generation by 2020 (“Fuel Mix Target”) as an environmental target for 2020. With the operation of two new gas-fired units, each for HEC and CLP, in 2023, the proportion of gas generation will be further increased to around 57%. As outlined in the Hong Kong’s Climate Action Plan 2030+, the Government would continue to phase down coal in local electricity generation, optimise the implementation of renewable energy (RE) to help reduce emissions from coal-fired units and make the city’s buildings and infrastructure more energy efficient.

On the other hand, the Government also reduces the emissions from power plants via promoting energy saving. In May 2015, the Government unveiled the Energy Saving Plan for the built Environment 2015-2025+, which sets a new target of reducing Hong Kong’s energy intensity by 40% by 2025. The Government also entered into a new Scheme of Control Agreements (SCAs) with the two power companies in 2018. Under the new SCAs, incentive and penalty schemes will be revamped to better encourage the power companies' performance in supply reliability, operational efficiency, customer services, promotion of energy efficiency and conservation (EE&C), as well as the development of RE.

On the development of RE, the Government is also making great efforts to developing waste-to-energy (WTE) plants and will install solar generation systems of a larger scale at suitable reservoir and landfill locations. On the promotion of WTE, the Government has pushed forward a number of state-of-the-art WTE projects, such as T·PARK, Integrated Waste Management Facility, O·PARK and WENT Landfill Gas Generation. The Government has also introduced the Feed-in Tariff (FiT) to encourage the private sector and the community to consider investing in distributed RE.
 

Cooperation with the Mainland

In addition to reducing emissions from local sources, we have been joining hands with Guangdong to improve air quality of the Pearl River Delta (PRD) region.

In December 2003, the two governments drew up the PRD Regional Air Quality Management Plan (the "Management Plan") under which both sides have been pursuing emission reduction measures targeting power plants, motor vehicles and heavily polluting industrial processes. The Special Panel on PRD Air Quality Management and Monitoring was set up under the Hong Kong-Guangdong Joint Working Group on Sustainable Development and Environmental Protection (JWGSDEP) to follow up on the tasks under the Management Plan.

In September 2014, the governments of Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao jointly signed the “Cooperation Agreement on Regional Air Pollution Control and Prevention among Hong Kong, Guangdong and Macao” with a view to fostering regional co-operation on air pollution control and prevention. The three sides also enhanced the regional air monitoring network in 2014. The number of monitoring stations has been increased to 23 with the inclusion of a station in Macao, and with real-time air quality information of the three places released. The network was also renamed as “Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao PRD Regional Air Quality Monitoring Network”. In addition, the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Joint Regional PM2.5 Study was completed at the end of 2018, providing a robust scientific basis for mapping out further air quality improvement strategies for the region.

In December 2017, the governments of Hong Kong and Guangdong jointly released the results of the mid-term review on air pollutant emission reduction targets in the PRD region, confirming that both sides had achieved their respective 2015 emission reduction targets for four major air pollutants (namely sulphur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen oxides (NOX), respirable suspended particulates (RSP) and volatile organic compounds (VOC)), and finalised the reduction targets for 2020. The details are as follows:

Pollutant

Region Note1

2015 Emission Reduction Target Note2

2020 Emission Reduction Target Note2

SO2

Hong Kong (HK)

-25%

-55%

PRD Economic Zone

-16%

-28%

NOX

HK

-10%

-20%

PRD Economic Zone

-18%

-25%

RSP

HK

-10%

-25%

PRD Economic Zone

-10%

-17%

VOC

HK

-5%

-15%

PRD Economic Zone

-10%

-20%

Note 1: The PRD Economic Zone includes Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Foshan, Jiangmen, Huizhou and Zhaoqing. 
Note 2: Reductions are relative to 2010 emission levels.
 

In 2018, the two governments launched a study on post-2020 regional air pollutant emission reduction targets and concentration levels for Hong Kong and Guangdong, with a view to formulating emission reduction targets beyond 2020.

From 2006 to 2018, the annual average levels of SO2, nitrogen dioxide (NO2) and RSP as recorded by the PRD Regional Air Quality Monitoring Network recorded a decrease by 81%, 28% and 36% respectively. This indicates an improvement in regional air quality brought about by the emission reduction measures implemented by Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao in recent years. However, the annual average of O3 increased by 21% during the same period, reflecting the photochemical smog problem in the region has not yet been resolved. The three governments will continue to implement emission reduction measures to further improve the air quality in the region and tackle the photochemical pollution problem.

In addition, we launched the Cleaner Production Partnership Programme (the Programme) in collaboration with the then Economic and Information Commission of Guangdong Province (now the Department of Industry and Information Technology of Guangdong Province) in April 2008. It encourages and facilitates Hong Kong-owned factories to adopt cleaner production technologies and practices through funding support and technology promotion activities, thereby improving the regional environment.   Both sides also jointly launched the Hong Kong – Guangdong Cleaner Production Partners Recognition Scheme in 2009 to recognise the efforts of enterprises in pursuing cleaner production.

 

 

Back to topTable of Content

User review date: 
Tuesday, 15 October, 2019

Loading

空气污染管制策略

香港清新空气蓝图
解决路边空气污染
减少船舶排放
减少发电厂排放
粤港合作

 

背景

 

本节阐述香港特别行政区政府(特区政府)在处理空气污染方面的策略。香港面对的空气污染问题可分为路边空气污染和区域性的烟雾两类。路边空气污染主要来自柴油车辆的废气;而区域性的烟雾问题则是由香港和珠江三角洲地区的车辆、船舶、工业及发电厂排放的污染物引起。

 

香港清新空气蓝图

 

环境局在2013年3月发表了《香港清新空气蓝图》,详细阐述香港就空气质素面对的挑战及概述各项相关的空气质素改善政策和措施。我们一直推行全面的措施,涵盖海陆交通、发电厂和非路面流动机械,以减少空气污染。同时,我们一直深化粤港两地的合作,以应对区域空气污染。环境局在2017年6月发表了《香港清新空气蓝图(2013 - 2017进度报告)》,报告各项空气质素改善措施的实施情况。

 

解决路边空气污染

 

近年政府推行一系列车辆减排措施,包括淘汰欧盟四期以前柴油商业车、为石油气的士和小巴更换催化器及含氧感知器、加强管制石油气及汽油车辆的排放、为欧盟二期和三期的柴油专营巴士加装选择性催化还原器及收紧车辆废气排放标准等。

 

我们正在筹备一系列新措施,以继续减低车辆排放的空气污染物:

  • 以鼓励与管制并行方式分阶段强制淘汰约40 000辆欧盟四期柴油商业车;
  • 收紧首次登记的电单车废气排放标准至欧盟四期,并收紧首次登记的小型巴士 (设计重量逾3.5公吨) 及巴士 (设计重量不逾9公吨) 废气排放标准至欧盟六期;
  • 试验为欧盟四期及五期双层柴油专营巴士加装强化选择性催化还原器,以减少氮氧化物的排放;及
  • 检讨「绿色运输试验基金」的资助范围以加强推动运输业界更广泛使用绿色创新运输技术。

 

减少船舶排放

 

为管制船只排放,香港实施《国际防污公约》附则VI的要求及管制船舶排放过量烟雾。政府更以身作则,要求政府船只使用欧盟V期柴油。自2014年4月1日起,本地船用柴油的含硫量不得超过0.05%。自2015年7月1日起,远洋船在香港水域停泊期间必须使用合规格燃料(即含硫量不超过0.5%的燃料、液化天然气及环境保护署署长认可的任何其他燃料)。政府亦与珠三角地区政府携手探讨减少远洋船于珠三角水域内的排放,包括共同推动实施珠三角水域船舶排放控制区。为此,《空气污染管制(船用燃料)规例》(第311AB章)自2019年1月1日起生效。所有在香港水域内的船只,不论该船只正在航行或停泊,都必须使用合规格燃料,以进一步改善空气质素。

 

减少发电厂排放

 

发电是香港的主要空气污染源。在2017年,发电厂排放的二氧化硫、氮氧化物和可吸入悬浮粒子分别占全港总排放量的43%、27%和16%。发电厂的排放亦会影响珠江三角洲区域的空气质素。减少发电厂的排放有助降低珠三角区域内的二氧化硫和粒子等的水平。

 

为减少发电的排放,政府自1997年起不再批准两家电力公司(两电),即中华电力有限公司(中电)与香港电灯有限公司(港灯),兴建新的燃煤发电机组。政府已于2008年修订《空气污染管制条例》,透过发出技术备忘录,以顺利、适时和具透明度的方式向发电厂分配排放总量限额。自2008年起,我们先后发出七份技术备忘录,设定发电厂由2010年起的排放总量限额。我们在2017年发出最新的《第七份技术备忘录》,进一步收紧发电厂在2022年及以后的排放限额,对比《第一份技术备忘录》订明的2010年排放限额,电力行业的二氧化硫、氮氧化物和可吸入悬浮粒子的排放限额下降了约60-80%。

 

为符合严格的排放总量上限,两电实行了的一系列减排措施,当中包括:

1.       为燃煤发电机组加装脱硫和脱硝减排系统;

2.       增加使用低排放燃煤和天然气发电;

3.       兴建新燃气机组以取代现有旧的燃煤机组;

4.       增加由大亚湾核电站输入核电;以及

5.       改善现有燃气机组氮氧化物排放表现及热效率。

 

调整发电燃料组合,是进一步减少发电厂排放的最有效方法。政府承诺于2020年或之前提高本地燃气发电的百分比至占发电整体燃料组合约五成(即「燃料组合目标」)作为环保目标,在两台分别属于港灯与中电的新燃气机组于2023年投产后,燃气发电比率将进一步增至约57%。正如《香港气候行动蓝图2030+》所述,政府将继续逐步减少在本地以燃煤发电,尽量善用可再生能源以助减低燃煤机组的排放,以及使本港楼宇及基建更具能源效益。

 

另一方面,政府亦透过提倡节能以减低发电厂排放。政府在2015年5月发表的《香港都市节能蓝图2015~ 2025+》,设定降低本港能源强度的目标为2025年的能源强度较2005年低四成。政府亦于2018年与两家电力公司签署新的《管制计划协议》(《协议》)。在新《协议》下,政府将优化奖罚制度,藉以加强鼓励电力公司在供应可靠程度、运作效率、用户服务、推广能源效益和节约能源,以及推动可再生能源发展各方面提升表现。

 

于发展可再生能源方面,政府近年致力推动本地可再生能源的发展,并且带头加强发展可再生能源,拨款20亿元在政府处所推行多个项目,并大力发展转废为能及在合适的水塘及堆填区位置装设较大规模的太阳能发电系统。在推动转废为能方面,政府发展多个新型转废为能项目,例如「源·区」、综合废物管理设施、有机资源回收中心及新界西堆填区的堆填气体发电等。政府亦已引入上网电价,鼓励私营机构及社区考虑投资分布式可再生能源。

 

粤港合作

 

除了减少来自本地的污染,我们亦与广东省携手合作,致力改善珠江三角洲区域空气质素。

 

粤港政府于2003年12月制订了珠江三角洲地区空气质素管理计划(“管理计划”),并且在“管理计划”下推出针对发电厂、机动车及高污染工序的减排措施。此外,双方在粤港持续发展与环保合作小组之下成立了珠江三角洲空气质素管理及监察专责小组,跟进该管理计划下的各项工作。

 

在2014年9月,粤港澳三方签署《粤港澳区域大气污染联防联治合作协议书》,进一步推进区域大气污染联防联治合作。三方并在2014年优化了区域空气监测网络,增加包括澳门在内的监测站至23个,并实时发布三地的空气质素信息,网络亦更名为「粤港澳珠江三角洲区域空气监测网络」。另外,「粤港澳区域性PM2.5联合研究」已于2018年年底完成,为规划进一步改善区域空气质素的策略提供确切的科学基础。

 

在2017年12月粤港两地政府共同公布了珠三角空气污染物减排目标中期回顾结果,确认双方已达到4种主要空气污染物(包括二氧化硫、氮氧化物、可吸入悬浮粒子和挥发性有机化合物)的2015年减排目标及确立了2020年减排目标,见下表。

 

污染物

地区 注1

2015减排目标 注1

2020年减排目标 注2

二氧化硫

香港特区

-25%

-55%

珠江三角洲经济区

-16%

-28%

氮氧化物

香港特区

-10%

-20%

珠江三角洲经济区

-18%

-25%

可吸入颗粒物

香港特区

-10%

-25%

珠江三角洲经济区

-10%

-17%

挥发性有机化合物

香港特区

-5%

-15%

珠江三角洲经济区

-10%

-20%

注1:珠三角经济区包括广州、深圳、珠海、东莞、中山、佛山、江门、惠州及肇庆
注2:与2010年排放水平比较

 

粤港两地政府于2018年开展《2020年后区域空气污染物减排目标和浓度水平研究》,以制订2020年后的减排目标。

 

珠江三角洲区域空气监测网络在2018年录得的二氧化硫、二氧化氮及可吸入悬浮粒子的年均值较2006年分别下降81%、28% 和 36%,显示粤港澳三地近年推行的减排措施已取得成效,但同一期间,臭氧浓度的年平均值上升了 21%,反映区内的光化学污染仍待改善,三地政府会持续推行减排措施,以进一步改善区域内的空气质素及光化学污染问题。

 

此外,2008年4月,我们联同当时的广东省经济和信息化委员会(现称广东省工业和信息化厅)推出了「清洁生产伙伴计划」,透过资助项目及技术推广活动,鼓励和协助港资工厂采用清洁生产技术及作业方式,以改善区内环境。双方亦于2009年共同推出「粤港清洁生产伙伴」标志计划,嘉许企业在清洁生产方面所作的努力。

 

 

 

 

User review date: 
星期三, 12 十二月, 2018