Loading

Cleaning the Air at Street Level

Street Level Air Pollution

Progress of Vehicle Emissions Control Measures

Tightening Fuel and Vehicle Emission Standards

Cleaner Alternatives to Diesel Vehicles

Controlling Emissions from the Remaining Diesel Vehicles

Strengthening Emission Inspection and Enforcement

Promoting Better Vehicle Maintenance and Eco-driving

Roadside Air Quality Trends

Building a Local Vehicle Emission Database and Introducing In-use Compliance Program

 

Street Level Air Pollution

In our busy streets, air pollution is mainly caused by motor vehicles, particularly diesel vehicles such as trucks, buses and light buses which emit a large amount of particulates and nitrogen oxides (NOx). The pollutants are often trapped at roads flanked by very tall buildings, thereby causing the roadside levels of respirable suspended particulates and nitrogen dioxide (NO2) to exceed the Air Quality Objectives over the years.

Photo of busy street

Back to top

 

Progress of Vehicle Emissions Control Measures

The Government has been working for years to control emissions from motor vehicles. Although there had been progress made, such as the tightening of vehicle emission standards, the improvements from these measures had tended to be offset by the increases in emissions from the continued growing vehicle numbers and kilometres driven.

Chart of growth in vehicle number and mileage

Therefore, in 2000 the Government pressed ahead with an enhanced programme to address the problem. The programme aimed to reduce particulate emissions from motor vehicles by 80% by the end of 2005, and NOx emissions by 30%. The main initiatives included :

  • Adopt tighter fuel and vehicle emission standards;
  • Adopt cleaner alternatives to diesel vehicles where practicable;
  • Control emissions from the remaining diesels with devices that trap pollutants;
  • Strengthen vehicle emission inspections and enforcement against smoky vehicles; and
  • Promote better vehicle maintenance and eco-driving habits.

The Government earmarked $1.4 billion for this programme. The investment was for providing grants to owners of diesel taxis and light buses for switching to cleaner alternatives, and for helping owners of older pre-Euro diesel vehicles to install devices that trap pollutants.

 

Initiatives in 2007

A one-off grant was launched on 1 April 2007 to encourage vehicle owners to replace their pre-Euro and Euro I diesel commercial vehicles (DCVs) with new ones complying with the prevailing emission requirements for newly registered vehicles, which, at that moment, was Euro IV standard. About 17,000 applications (i.e. 29 % of the eligible vehicles) were approved, involving about $770 million of grants when the scheme ended in March 2010.

To encourage the use of environment-friendly petrol private cars with low emissions and high fuel efficiency, reduction in the First Registration Tax (FRT) was offered to buyers of newly registered environment-friendly petrol private cars from 1 April 2007 to 31 March 2015.

 

Initiatives in 2008

To encourage the use of environment-friendly commercial vehicles which have lower emissions, reduction in the FRT has been offering to buyers of newly registered environment-friendly commercial vehicles from 1 April 2008. The qualifying standard for environment-friendly commercial vehicles was first set at Euro V level. The Government reviews the qualifying standards annually in the light of technological advancements and the prevailing statutory emission standards. The objective is to ensure that tax incentive is available only to vehicles of outstanding emission performance outstripping the prevailing statutory requirements. If tightened, the new qualifying standards become effective on 1 April of the following year.

 

Initiatives in 2010

An incentive scheme for Euro II DCVs was launched in July 2010. About 7,400 DCVs (i.e. about 27% of the eligible vehicles) were replaced by new vehicles with the aid of about $650 million of grants when the scheme ended in June 2013.

 

Initiatives in 2011

A $300 million Pilot Green Transport Fund was set up to support the testing of green and innovative transport technologies applicable to the public transport sector and goods vehicles.

 

Initiatives in 2014

An incentive-cum-regulatory scheme was launched in March 2014 to phase out some 82,000 pre-Euro IV DCVs progressively by end 2019. $11.4 billion was set aside for ex-gratia payment to assist the affected vehicle owners. We also limited the service life of DCVs newly registered on or after 1 February 2014 to 15 years.

Starting from 2014, the Government has been funding the franchised bus companies the full cost of retrofitting some 1,400 eligible Euro II and III franchised buses with selective catalytic reduction devices (SCRs), which could upgrade their emissions performance comparable to that of Euro IV or above level.

The Government is fully subsidizing the franchised bus companies to purchase six double-deck hybrid buses and 36 single-deck electric buses for trial runs to assess their operational efficiency and performance under the local conditions. The six hybrid buses already commenced their trial in late 2014, and the trial of electric buses is expected to commence progressively by end 2015. The trials will last for 2 years, with an interim review to be conducted about one year after the commencement of trial. The ultimate policy objective of the Government is to have zero emission buses running across the territory.

 

Photo of double-deck hybrid bus

Double-deck hybrid bus                                                                       

Back to top

 

Tightening Fuel and Vehicle Emission Standards

Vehicle emission standards

Emission standards for newly-registered vehicles have been progressively tightened since 1995. The most recent change is in 2012, when we implemented Euro V emission standards. A Euro V diesel vehicle emits about 95% less particulates and 78% less NOx than a pre-Euro vehicle manufactured before 1995.

 

Comparison of Vehicle Exhaust Emission Standards - Large Diesel Vehicle (>3.5 Tonnes)

Chart of comparison of vehicle exhaust emission standards for large diesel vehicle weighing over 3.5 Tonnes

 

Vehicle fuel standards

Petrol- We have tightened the sulphur content in unleaded petrol from 0.015% to 0.005% since January 2005 in tandem with the European Union.

 

Ultra low sulphur diesel (ULSD)- ULSD has a sulphur content of 0.005%, which is the Euro IV requirement for motor vehicle diesel. It became the only motor diesel fuel available at petrol filling stations in Hong Kong, after the Government introduced a concessionary duty on ULSD in July 2000. Since April 2002, ULSD has been the statutory minimum requirement for motor vehicle diesel, 3 years ahead of the European Union. Hong Kong is also the first place in Asia to introduce ULSD on a full scale for its vehicle fleet.

 

Euro V diesel- On 1 December 2007, the Government offered a concessionary duty rate of $0.56 per litre for Euro V diesel, which has a sulphur content of 0.001%. Since then, all petrol filling stations in Hong Kong are exclusively offering this fuel. Starting from 14 July 2008, the duty rate for Euro V diesel has been waived to further encourage drivers to use this more environment-friendly fuel.

 

Biodiesel- The Air Pollution Control (Motor Vehicle Fuel) (Amendment) Regulation 2009 came into force on 1 July 2010. The Amendment Regulation provides statutory control on the specifications of motor vehicle biodiesel and the labelling requirement on selling of motor vehicle biodiesel with biodiesel content over 5%.

 

Euro V Motor Vehicle Fuels- As from 1 July 2010, we have tightened the statutory motor vehicle diesel and unleaded petrol specifications to Euro V level. The major difference between Euro IV and Euro V motor vehicle fuels (both diesel and petrol) is the tightening of the cap on sulphur content from 0.005% to 0.001%.

Back to top

 

Cleaner Alternatives to Diesel Vehicles

LPG Taxis and Light Buses

Taxis- To encourage a quick switch of the 18,000 diesel taxis to environmentally-cleaner vehicles, the government provided a one-off grant of $40,000 for each replacement of diesel taxis with one that operates on liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) in a subsidy programme starting in August 2000. The programme was completed at the end of 2003. Almost all (about 99%) taxis are now fuelled by LPG.

Photo of LPG taxi Logo of LPG vehicle

 

Light Buses- We started a programme in August 2002 to offer incentives to encourage the early replacement of the 6,000 diesel light buses with LPG or electric ones. For diesel public light buses, we offered a one-off grant of $60,000 or $80,000 for each diesel public light bus that was replaced with an LPG or electric one respectively; for diesel private light buses, each replacement LPG vehicle was exempted from the first registration tax. At present, electric vehicles are exempted from first registration tax. The programme was completed at the end of 2005. Right now, about 68% of the registered public light buses run on LPG.

Photo of LPG Light Bus

LPG Light Bus

Photo of Electric Light Bus

Electric Light Bus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to top

 

Controlling Emissions from the Remaining Diesel Vehicles

Light diesel vehicles- A programme to help owners of pre-Euro light diesel vehicles to retrofit their vehicles with particulate traps or catalytic converters was completed in 2001. More than 80% of the fleet, or 24,000 light diesel vehicles, were fitted with these devices under the retrofit programme. A particulate trap/catalytic converter can cut particulates emission from a pre-Euro light diesel vehicle by about 30%. From December 2003, a regulation requiring all pre-Euro diesel light vehicles up to 4 tonnes to be installed with suitable particulate reduction devices has been implemented.

Photo of particulate reduction device

Particulate reduction device

Photo of particulate trap

Particulate trap

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Medium and heavy diesel vehicles- A programme to help owners of pre-Euro heavy diesel, other than those heavy duty vehicles that require the operation of on-board equipment during idling (i.e. long idling vehicles) which were retrofitted separately in another programme, to retrofit their vehicles with catalytic converters was completed in 2004. More than 96% of the fleet, or 34,000 heavy diesel vehicles, were fitted with catalytic converters under the retrofit programme. A catalytic converter can cut particulates emission from a pre-Euro heavy diesel vehicle by about 25% to 35%. From April 2006, a regulation requiring all these pre-Euro heavy diesel vehicles to be installed with suitable particulate reduction devices has been implemented.

Photo of heavy diesel vehicle

A similar programme to help owners of long idling pre-Euro heavy diesel vehicles (i.e. concrete mixer, gully emptier, lorry crane and pressure tanker) to retrofit their vehicles with catalytic converters was completed in 2005. About 95% of the fleet, or 2,500 long idling pre-Euro heavy diesel vehicles, were fitted with catalytic converters under the retrofit programme. From April 2007, a regulation requiring all these long idling pre-Euro heavy diesel vehicles to be installed with suitable particulate reduction devices has been implemented.

 

Buses- The franchised bus companies have retrofitted about 2,000 older buses of pre-Euro or Euro I models with Diesel Oxidation Catalysts (DOC), which can reduce their particulate emissions by about 30%.

 

Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF)- In 2010, the franchised bus companies completed retrofitting their Euro II and III buses with DPF, where technically feasible. A DPF can reduce particulate emissions from diesel vehicles by over 80%.

Photo of Diesel Particulate Filter

Diesel Particulate Filter

 

Back to top

 

Strengthening Emission Inspection and Enforcement

Controlling smoky vehicles

 Photo of dynamometer smoke test

The Environmental Protection Department (EPD) operates a Smoky Vehicle Control Programme that requires smoky vehicles spotted by accredited spotters to undergo a smoke test within a specified period. Failure to pass the test will result in the vehicle licence being cancelled. More than 21,000 vehicle licence cancellations have been recommended since the implementation of the programme in 1988.

 

To enhance the effectiveness of the Smoky Vehicle Control Programme, we introduced an advanced emission test: the dynamometer smoke test - for diesel vehicles up to 5.5 tonnes in September 1999. Since the dynamometer test proved to be a more effective smoke testing method, it was extended to all diesel vehicles in December 2000.

 Photo of joint operation with the Police

 

The Police supports the action to control smoky vehicles by mounting roadside smoke-testing operations. Police officers will stop vehicles having excessive emissions on road for a smoke test using a portable smokemeter. Fixed penalty ticket will be issued to the owners of vehicles failing the smoke test. The fixed penalty for smoky vehicle was raised from $450 to $1,000 on 1 December 2000.

 

Strengthened control of emissions from LPG and petrol vehicles

From 1 September 2014 onwards, a strengthened vehicle emission regime for petrol and LPG vehicles has been implemented that includes limits for carbon monoxide (CO), hydrocarbons (HC) and NOx to improve roadside air quality. Roadside remote sensing equipment are deployed to screen out vehicles with excessive emission which will be required to pass a dynamometer emission test after repair. Failure to meet the specified standards will lead to cancellation of the vehicle licence by the Commissioner for Transport.

Back to top

 

Promoting Better Vehicle Maintenance and Eco-driving

Training and seminars on vehicle maintenance

Since August 1999, the EPD, in collaboration with the Vocational Training Council and other organisations had been offering training sessions for vehicle mechanics on proper engine repair and maintenance to reduce emissions from vehicles. At present, vehicle maintenance courses are still being offered by Vocational Training Council for vehicle mechanics.

 

Since September 2014, the EPD has been deploying roadside remote sensing equipment to measure the exhaust emissions from LPG and petrol vehicles. Excessively emitting vehicles identified have to pass a dynamometer based emission test to confirm that they meet the emission limits. To help the vehicle mechanics to get familiar with the new emission test, technical seminars and demonstration tests have been organised to explain the technical details. The EPD has also commissioned Vocational Training Council to deliver free short courses to the trade teaching the technique of maintaining the LPG and petrol vehicles to pass the dynamometer based emission test.

 

Seminars on eco-driving

The EPD, in collaboration with the Vocational Training Council, Hong Kong Productivity Council and some relevant trade associations/institutions, conducted eco-driving seminars for the public. These seminars aim at promoting proper vehicle maintenance and eco-driving practices for fleet operators, commercial vehicle drivers and vehicle owners and drivers with a view to reducing vehicular emissions and switching off idling engines; and hence improving the roadside air quality. We will continue to organise such eco-driving seminars.

Back to top

 

Roadside Air Quality Trends

The above measures have brought some improvements in roadside air quality. Compared with 1999, the roadside concentrations of some of the major air pollutants have dropped in 2013: respirable suspended particulates, sulphur dioxide (SO2) and NOx, have been down by 37%, 59% and 29% respectively, and the number of smoky vehicles spotted has also been reduced by nearly 90%.

 

However, NO2 at the roadside has increased by 21% during the same period. The rise in roadside NO2 levels has resulted in an increase in the number of days with roadside air pollution index (API) reaching the “very high” level (API exceeding 100) in recent years.

 

 Chart of number of days with API exceeding 100

 

To further improve roadside air quality and tackle the NO2 problem, we have embarked on additional vehicle emission control measures including the phasing out pre-Euro IV DCVs; strengthening the emission control of petrol and LPG vehicles through the deployment of roadside remote sensing equipment and chassis dynamometers for emission testing; and retrofitting Euro II and III franchised buses with SCRs. The Government is also actively promoting the use of electric vehicles in Hong Kong.

Back to top

 

Building a Local Vehicle Emission Database and Introducing In-use Compliance Program

We also evaluate the performance of the latest vehicle technologies over time, especially the performance of after-treatment devices and build up a local in-use vehicle emission database by portable emission measuring systems (PEMS) that can account for the emission design standards, operating conditions and engine conditions of local vehicles. With the database, we shall be able to estimate with greater precision motor vehicle emissions and better understand how different emission control measures will affect local emissions. Conducting vehicle emission measurements by PEMS is considered worldwide to be the most effective. We also use PEMS to develop and make preparations for introducing an in-use compliance programme, which form part of the Euro VI vehicle emission standard adopted by the European Union in 2013. PEMS are considered an effective means of in-use compliance checking. So far, we have conducted vehicle emission measurements for about 270 in-use vehicles of various vehicle classes, like petrol cars, taxis, light and heavy goods vehicles, public and private light buses, franchised and non-franchised buses.

 

Photo of the PEMS installation on and measurements of a public single-decked bus

The PEMS installation on and measurements of a public single-decked bus

Photo of the PEMS equipment installed inside a public single-decked bus

The PEMS equipment installed inside a public single-decked bus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to topTable of Content

 

User review date: 
Wednesday, 2 September, 2015

Loading

改善路边空气质素

路边空气污染问题

车辆排放管制措施的进展

收紧车用燃料及车辆废气排放标准

以较环保的车种取代柴油车辆

管制余下柴油车辆排放的废气

加强车辆废气检验及执法工作

推广良好的车辆维修保养和环保驾驶习惯

路边空气质素趋势

建立本地车辆排放数据库及引入在用车辆的合规性计划

 

路边空气污染问题

车辆排放的废气,是本港市区路边空气污染的主要成因,而排放大量粒子和氮氧化物的柴油车辆,例如货车、巴士及小巴,更是主要的污染源。由于街道两旁高楼大厦林立,路边的污染物往往难以消散,导致香港路边空气中的可吸入悬浮粒子和二氧化氮水平,在过去多年持续超出本港的空气质素指标。

繁忙街道的相片

返回页首

 

车辆排放管制措施的进展

政府多年来一直致力管制车辆的废气排放。虽然当中一些措施,如收紧车辆废气排放标准等已取得进展,但由于车辆数目和行车里数整体仍然持续增长,排出的废气相应增加,抵销了这些措施的成效。

车辆数目的增长及行车公里数的图表

因此,政府于2000年推出强化计划,目标是在2005年年底前,将车辆的粒子和氮氧化物排放量分别减低80% 及30%。强化计划的主要措施包括:

  • 收紧车用燃料及车辆废气排放标准;
  • 在切实可行的情况下,以较环保的车种取代柴油车辆;
  • 为余下的柴油车辆装设污染物过滤器,藉此控制污染物的排放;
  • 加强车辆废气检验及对黑烟车辆的执法工作; 及
  • 推广良好的车辆维修保养和环保驾驶习惯。

政府拨出14亿元推行这项计划,资助柴油的士和柴油小巴车主转用其他较洁净的燃料,以及资助欧盟前期的旧式柴油车辆车主安装污染物过滤器。

 

2007年的措施

在2007年4月1日提供一笔过资助,鼓励欧盟前期及欧盟一期柴油商业车的车主,更换车辆为符合当时柴油商业车新车注册排放标准(当时是欧盟四期排放标准)的新车。在2010年3月计划结束时,政府批出约17,000宗的申请(约占合资格车轮总数的29%),涉及的资助额约为7.7亿元。

为鼓励市民购买废气排放量少而燃料效率高的环保汽油私家车,由2007年4月1日至2015年3月31日,为新登记的环保汽油私家车提供首次登记税宽减。

 

2008年的措施

为鼓励车主购买废气排放量更低的环保商用车辆,由2008年4月1日起,政府为新登记环保商用车辆提供首次登记税宽减。环保商用车辆的认可标准最初订定在欧盟五期水平。政府每年会按汽车科技发展情况及当时法定的新登记车辆废气排放标准,检讨认可标准,确保税务优惠只提供予有卓越排放表现,更优于当时法定废气排放要求的车辆。如有任何收紧,新的认可标准会在随后一年的4月1日生效。

 

2010年的措施

在2010年7月推出欧盟二期柴油商业车的资助计划。在2013年6月计划结束时,约有7,400部
柴油商业车(约占合资格车辆总数的27%)在此计划下更换为新车,涉及的资助额约为6.5亿元。

 

2011年的措施

设立3亿元绿色运输试验基金,以资助适用于公共运输业界及货车的绿色创新技术。

 

2014年措施

在2014年3月推出鼓励与管制并行的计划,于2019年年底前逐步淘汰约82,000辆欧盟四期以前的柴油商业车,并拨出114亿元作特惠资助以帮助受影响的车主。政府亦为2014年2月1日或以后新登记的柴油商业车设定15年的退役期限。

政府从2014年开始全数资助专营巴士公司,为约1,030辆合资格的欧盟二期及欧盟三期专营巴士加装选择性催化还原器,以提升它们的排放表现至欧盟四期或以上的相若水平。

政府正全数资助专营巴士公司购置6辆双层混合动力巴士和36辆单层电动巴士作试验行驶,以全面测试它们在本地环境下的运作表现。6辆混合动力巴士已在2014年年底开始试验行驶,而电动巴士的试验预计在2015年年底前陆续展开。试验将为期两年,并会在开展试验约一年后作中期检讨。政府的最终政策目标是全港使用零排放的巴士。

 

双层混合动力巴士的相片

双层混合动力巴士                                              

返回页首

 

收紧车用燃料及车辆废气排放标准

车辆废气排放标准

政府自1995年起逐步收紧新登记车辆的废气排放标准。最近一次在2012年修订,实施欧盟五期废气排放标准。欧盟五期柴油车排放的粒子,较1995年以前生产的欧盟前期柴油车减少约95%,氮氧化物的排放量亦减少78%。

 

比较车辆的废气排放标准-大型柴油车辆〈>3.5公吨〉

比较3.5公吨以上大型柴油车辆废气排放标准的图表

 

车用燃料标准

汽油 – 政府自2005年1月起紧随欧盟的做法,把无铅汽油的含硫量由0.015% 收紧至0.005%。

 

超低含硫量柴油(超低硫柴油) – 超低硫柴油的含硫量为0.005%,符合欧盟四期的车用柴油规定。政府于2000年7月就超低硫柴油实施税项优惠,自此超低硫柴油成为香港油站供应的唯一一种车用柴油。自2002年4月开始,本港把超低硫柴油定为车用柴油的法定规格,较欧盟早3年实施这项规格。此外,香港亦是亚洲首个全面引入这种环保燃料供车辆使用的地方。

 

欧盟五期柴油 – 政府于2007年12月1日为欧盟五期柴油(含硫量为0.001%)提供每公升$0.56的优惠税率。由该日起,本港所有油站已全面只供应欧盟五期柴油。由2008年7月14日起,全面宽免欧盟五期车用柴油的燃油税,以进一步鼓励驾驶者使用这种更环保的车用燃料。欧盟五期柴油适用于所有柴油车。

 

生化柴油 –《2009年空气污染管制(汽车燃料)(修订)规例》于2010年7月1日起实施,修订规例订定汽车生化柴油的规格及出售含量超过5%生化柴油的汽车生化柴油须附有标签的规定。

 

欧盟五期汽车燃料 – 政府于2010年7月1日起将汽车柴油及无铅汽油的法定规格收紧至欧盟五期水平。欧盟四期与欧盟五期汽车燃料(包括柴油和汽油)的主要分别是将含硫量上限由0.005%收紧为0.001%。

返回页首

 

以较环保的车种取代柴油车辆

石油气的士及小巴

的士 - 为促使全港18,000部柴油的士尽早转为较环保的石油气的士,政府在2000年8月推出资助计划,向每位以石油气的士取代柴油的士的车主提供40,000元的一笔过资助。该计划已在2003年年底完成。现时全港差不多所有的士 (约99%) 都使用石油气。

石油气的士的相片 石油气车辆之标志

 

小巴 - 政府在2002年8月推出资助计划,鼓励全港六千多部柴油小巴的车主尽早把车辆更换为石油气或电动小巴。如把柴油公共小巴更换为石油气小巴,每部可获60,000元的一笔过资助;更换为电动小巴的资助额则为80,000元。至于柴油私家小巴,如更换为石油气小巴,可获豁免缴付首次登记税。目前,电动车辆已获豁免缴交首次登记税。该计划已在2005年年底完成,至今约有68%的公共小巴为石油气小巴。

石油气小巴的相片

石油气小巴

电动小巴的相片

电动小巴

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

返回页首

 

管制余下柴油车辆排放的废气

轻型柴油车辆 - 我们于2001年完成一项计划协助车主替欧盟前期轻型柴油车辆安装「减少粒子器件」(微粒过滤器或催化转换器)。有超过80% 或24,000部轻型柴油车辆就此安装计划安装了这类装置。微粒过滤器 / 催化转换器可把欧盟前期轻型柴油车辆的粒子排放量减低约30%。自2003年12月开始,法例规定所有不超过4公吨的欧盟前期轻型柴油车辆必须安装合适的减少粒子器件。

减少粒子器件的相片

减少粒子器件

微粒过滤器的相片

微粒过滤器

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

中型和重型柴油车辆 - 我们已在2004年完成协助车主替欧盟前期重型柴油车辆安装催化转换器的计划。此安装计划不包括需长时间在空转引擎状态下运作的车辆(即长怠速车辆)。有超过96% 或34,000部重型柴油车辆就此安装计划安装了催化转换器。这种装置能把欧盟前期重型柴油车辆的粒子排放量减少约25% 至35%。由2006年4月起,法例规定所有欧盟前期重型柴油车辆,必须安装合适的减少粒子器件。

重型柴油车辆的相片

我们在2005年亦完成了另一项相若的计划,协助车主替欧盟前期长怠速重型柴油车辆,即混凝土车、通渠车、机动式起重吊车及压力缸车,安装催化转换器。约有95%或2,500部欧盟前期长怠速重型柴油车辆就此安装计划安装了催化转换器。由2007年4月起,法例规定所有欧盟前期长怠速重型柴油车辆,必须安装合适的减少粒子器件。

 

巴士 - 多间专营巴士公司已为约2,000部欧盟前期或欧盟一期的旧式巴士加装柴油催化器,从而可减少它们约30%的粒子排放量。

 

柴油粒子过滤器 - 在技术可行的情况下,专营巴士公司于2010年完成为欧盟二期及欧盟三期巴士加装柴油粒子过滤器。柴油粒子过滤器可减低柴油车辆的粒子排放量多逾80%。

柴油粒子过滤器的相片

柴油粒子过滤器

 

返回页首

 

加强车辆废气检验及执法工作

管制黑烟车辆

 底盘式功率机烟雾测试的相片

在环境保护署(环保署)执行的黑烟车辆管制计划下,遭认可检举员检举的黑烟车辆,必须在指定时间内接受烟雾测试,不能通过测试的车辆会被吊销汽车牌照。自1988年推行这项计划以来,已逾21,000部车辆被建议吊销牌照。

 

为了提高黑烟车辆管制计划的成效,我们于1999年9月引进先进的「底盘式功率机烟雾测试」,以检测5.5公吨以下的柴油车辆。由于这种检测方法证实能更有效地测试车辆黑烟,我们已于2000年12月起把这项测试应用于所有类型的柴油车辆。

 与警务处进行联合行动的相片

 

警方亦协助进行路边烟雾测试以管制黑烟车辆,交通警员会截停在路上行驶中排放过量黑烟的车辆,并利用手提烟雾计在路边测试车辆黑烟。警方会向测试不及格的车主发出定额罚款通知书。黑烟车辆的定额罚款于2000年12月1日起由450元提高至1,000元。

 

加强管制汽油和石油气车辆的废气排放

从2014年9月1日起实施更严格的汽油和石油气车辆废气标准,包括一氧化碳,碳氢化合物和氮氧化物的限值,以改善路边空气质素。我们使用路边遥测设备筛选出排放过量废气的车辆,及要求它们修复后通过一个功率机排放测试,不符合规定的标准,运输署署长会取消车辆牌照。

返回页首

 

推广良好的车辆维修保养和环保驾驶习惯

车辆维修保养培训及座谈会

自1999年8月以来,环保署与职业训练局及其他机构曾合办多个培训课程,向车辆机械技工讲解如何正确维修及保养引擎,以减少车辆排放的废气。职业训练局至今仍然提供车辆维修培训课程给车辆机械技工。

 

此外,环保署自2014年9月起,已透过使用路边遥测设备,侦测排放过量废气的石油气和汽油车辆。被发现废气排放超标的车辆,将须通过以底盘式功率机进行的废气测试,以确认排放达标。为协助车辆机械技工理解新的废气排放测试,环保署已举办多埸技术讲座及测试示范,解释技术细节,同时亦委托职业训练局为业界提供免费短期课程,教导维修石油气和汽油车辆的技巧,以通过新的废气排放测试。

 

环保驾驶讲座

环保署与职业训练局、香港生产力促进局及多间机构合办了多个环保驾驶讲座。目的是透过讲座,向车队运作管理人员,职业司机,车主及驾驶人士推广环保驾驶方法,包括有关正确的车辆维修和保养及减少引擎空转的省油驾驶技巧,以减少车辆废气的排放,改善路边空气质素。我们会继续举办此类讲座。

返回页首

 

路边空气质素趋势

上述措施已带来一些改善。与1999年相比,繁忙地区的路边在2013年录得的一些主要空气污染物浓度已有所下降 : 可吸入悬浮粒子、二氧化硫和氮氧化物的浓度,分别减少37%,59%和29%;而路上遭检举的黑烟车辆数目亦减少了近九成。

 

不过,路边的二氧化氮水平却在同期间上升了21%。由于路边的二氧化氮水平上升,引致近年路边空气污染指数达致「甚高」(空气污染指数超过100)的日数有所增加。

 

 空气污染指数超过100的天数的图表

 

为进一步改善路边空气质素和处理路边二氧化氮的问题,我们已采取更多的管制措施,以减少车辆排放的废气,当中包括淘汰欧盟四期以前柴油商业车; 以路边遥测设备及采用「底盘式功率机烟雾测试」加强管制汽油和石油气车辆的废气排放、及为欧盟二期及欧盟三期专营巴士加装选择性催化还原器。此外,政府亦正积推动使用电动车

返回页首

 

建立本地车辆排放数据库及引入在用车辆的合规性计划

我们利用便携式废气测量系统评估最新车辆技术随时间推移的性能,特别是后处理装置的性能和建立一个本地车辆排放数据库,这个数据库能反映出本地车辆的设计排放标准、行车时不同的操作及引擎的状况。透过这数据库,我们更能准确地估算车辆的排放及了解不同的车辆废气管制对本地车辆排放的影响。世界各地均认为使用便携式废气测量系统进行车辆排放的测量是最有效的方法。另外,欧盟已于2013年实施欧盟六期排放标准,在用车辆合规性计划是当中的一部份,便携式废气测量系统被认为能有效地检测在用车辆合规性。我们会利用便携式废气测量系统为引入这车辆合规性计划作出准备。到目前为止,我们已为大约二百七十辆不同种类的车辆进行废气排放测量,当中包括私家车、的士、轻型及重型货车、公共及私家小巴、以及专利及非专利巴士。

安装便携式废气测量系统及其测试于公共单层巴士的相片

安装便携式废气测量系统及其测试于公共单层巴士

于公共单层巴士所安装的便携式废气测量系统的相片

于公共单层巴士所安装的便携式废气测量系统

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

返  回  页  首目  录

 

User review date: 
星期二, 22 九月, 2015