Loading

Noise

This section aims to provide detailed information on the problem of noise and how noise pollution is controlled in Hong Kong. An overview is given below for the quick reference of the audience. Detailed information is organized into various categories, namely, Problems & Solutions, Public Consultation, Data & Statistics, Study Reports, Guidelines & References, Innovative Noise Mitigation Designs and Measures, Educational Package on Environmental Noise, Construction Noise Permit in Force, Noise Type Approved Vehicle Data, Quality Powered Mechanical Equipment (QPME) and Help Corner which can be accessed through the menu.


AN OVERVIEW ON NOISE POLLUTION AND CONTROL IN HONG KONG

NOISE POLLUTION

The Problem of Noise
Different people may respond differently to the same level of noise. But above certain levels, noise can affect everybody. It can lead to hearing loss and mental stress and irritation. It can also interfere with daily activities such as doing homework, watching television and talking on the telephone.

Spatial Distribution of Traffic Noise Problem in Hong Kong (Graphical version only)Similar to other major metropolitan cities, noise is an issue in Hong Kong. More than one million people (please see the "Spatial Distribution of Traffic Noise Problem in Hong Kong (Graphical version only)" for details) are affected by excess traffic noise alone, making it the biggest noise problem in the SAR. Poor planning in the past and cramped development have resulted in such thorny problems such as highways running just outside people's living rooms. The growth in the economy during the 1980s and 90s, which brought more construction and more traffic, has also contributed to the noise problem.  People are also exposed to different levels of pounding, roaring or shrill noises from construction work, ventilation systems, intruder alarm systems and their neighbours.

Outlook for Noise Pollution
Image The EPD has rung up many successes in its efforts to bring down noise levels. Most forms of environmental noise are under statutory control. The control covers construction activities, commercial and industrial activities and neighbourhood-type noise as well as requiring motor vehicles to meet specific noise emission standards for registration in Hong Kong. Through proactive participation in the planning and policy making processes and implementation of noise abatement measures, we have significantly, curbed growing of the number of people exposed to excess traffic noise even though the population has increased by one million and traffic volume has doubled since the late 1980s. However, traffic is continuing to grow and unless further restraints are placed on traffic noise, the population exposed to excessive noise would continue to grow rapidly.


CONTROLLING NOISE POLLUTION

Noise is a common subject of complaint in Hong Kong and reducing it has been a priority for the EPD since the department was established in 1986. Controls are imposed on construction noise, noise from commercial and industrial premises and neighbourhood noise, and much effort has gone into preventing noise. Our cramped living conditions, poor planning of the past and economic activity mean Hong Kong remains a fairly noisy city, but efforts to reduce the problem are continuing.

Traffic Noise
ImageTraffic noise is a major concern because it affects more than one million people (please see the "Spatial Distribution of Traffic Noise Problem in Hong Kong (Graphical version only)" for details). The EPD is addressing two sources of traffic noise. One is from new roads, the other from existing roads. More than 80 kilometres of barriers and screens have been erected along new roads since 1990, benefiting some 300,000 people. Low-noise surfaces are also commonly used. The EPD also advises on the design of new roads and buildings to reduce noise. As a last resort, insulation may be provided.

Noise from existing roads is more difficult to tackle. Some 600 roads generate noise greater than 70 decibels. Barrier could be applied to some 40 identified road sections for implementation under the Public Works Programme. Other solutions are being investigated for the remainder, such as traffic management and alternatives to motor vehicles.

Construction Noise
ImageConstruction noise was a major problem when the EPD was set up in 1986. Pile-drivers operated 12 hours a day in urban areas, affecting one in 12 people. The Noise Control Ordinance came into effect in 1989 and included controls on construction noise that have been progressively tightened. Piling is limited to three to five hours a day in built-up areas, quieter piling equipment must be used, and other forms of noisy activities are controlled.

However, construction noise remains a problem. The EPD is looking into the issue and is also working to encourage greater compliance among builders, who tend to treat fines for noise offences as a cost of doing business.

Aircraft and Other Noise
Aircraft noise is controlled by the Civil Aviation Department, which monitors the noise and requires quieter practices such as noise abatement procedures during take-off. The problem of aircraft noise was greatly reduced when the airport moved from Kai Tak to Chek Lap Kok in 1998. The Kai Tak airport was surrounded by congested residential development and 380,000 people were affected by the noise. Only about 200 people are affected by noise from Chek Lap Kok.

Factories and commercial operators, such as restaurants, generate noise, often from their ventilation systems. Their noise is controlled under the Noise Control Ordinance, as is neighbourhood noise, noise from intruder alarms and noise from newly-registered motor vehicles, which are required to meet standards in line with those of Europe and Japan.

Planning Against Noise
ImagePrevention is the best cure as far as noise is concerned. If homes are not built next to busy roads, then fewer people will be affected by noise. The Hong Kong Planning Standards and Guidelines have addressed noise since 1985 and standards have been progressively tightened. The EPD also gives input in the early stages of planning for new towns and developments, through the environmental impact assessment process. Tung Chung New Town, for instance, was designed with EPD involvement so residents would not be exposed to excessive aircraft or road noise.

In the bigger picture, the EPD also gives input to major policies such as future transport plans and the overall future development of Hong Kong. In these instances, the department assesses the impact of the different options and supports options that have the least environmental impacts.

For more information on how noise pollution is controlled, please refer to Problems & Solutions.

What You Can Do
Ensure you don't generate excessive noise. Be considerate of your neighbours - don't turn your TV or Hifi too loud, shut your doors and windows if you are engaging in noisy activities and don't pursue these activities at night . If you wish to make a noise complaint, you can call either the EPD or the police. The police are responsible for handling complaints on neighbourhood noise, noise from intruder alarms and construction noise. The EPD has four Regional Offices which handle complaint on noise from commercial and industrial premises, and construction sites.

Trades and industries can help to reduce noise pollution from their operation through proper selection and maintenance of their equipment and ensuring compliance with legal requirements. Noise problem can also be prevented through better planning such as building design in residential development. Reference can be made to Guidelines & References for a full account of compliance guides and good practices.

 

 

Back to topblank image
User review date: 
Friday, 15 November, 2013

Loading

噪音

本节为您详述香港的噪音问题及当局怎样管制噪音污染。以下的简要概览可供各位参考,详细资料则分别收录于多个题项: 问题与解决方案资料与统计数字公众谘询研究报告指引与参考资料创新噪音缓解设计与措施环境噪音教材套有效建筑噪音许可证获噪音类型审核汽车名单优质机动设备网上谘询,请从选项目录进入查阅。

香港的噪音污染及管制工作概览

噪音污染

噪音问题
不同人对同一水平的噪音的反应都不一样。但要是噪音超过某些水平,便会广泛影响每位市民。噪音可导致失聪、精神压力和滋扰,还会干扰日常活动,例如妨碍学生做家课、骚扰我们观赏电视节目和电话交谈。

香港道路交通噪音分布图(只提供图像版本)一如其他国际大都会,香港须要处理噪音的问题。过量的交通噪音成为香港特区政府最严重的噪音问题,滋扰约90万市民(详情请参阅"香港道路交通噪音分布情况(只提供图像版本)")。由于过往城市规划不善与及发展项目过于密集,公路紧贴民居的情况构成棘手的问题。80及90年代香港经济蓬勃发展,处处皆是建筑工程,交通日趋繁忙,这些亦是噪音问题的源头。此外,建筑工程、通风系统、防盗警钟及邻里所发出不同程度砰砰、轰轰或刺耳的噪音亦影响市民的生活。

未来展望
图片环保署一直竭力减低噪音水平,并且取得不俗的成果。目前,大部份环境噪音都已受到法律管制。政府已立例规管建筑、工商业活动及邻里所发出的噪音,同时规定在香港登记的车辆必须符合指定的噪音标准。我们亦积极参与规划及政策制订工作,并且推行消减噪音措施。尽管香港人口自1980年代终至今增加了100万,车辆数目亦倍增,但受嘈吵车辆声浪滋扰的市民人数增长却受到控制。然而,香港的交通还是愈来愈繁忙。我们必须加强管制,方可有效控制交通噪音,否则,受过量交通噪音影响的市民人数将会持续快速上升。

管制噪音污染

噪音是市民经常投诉的环境问题。1986年环保署成立后,即以管制噪音为主要目标。我们订立了多项管制规定,限制建筑工程、工商业楼宇及邻里所发出的噪音,致力避免噪音问题。香港地少人多,加上以往规划欠妥善,经济又蓬勃发展,所以难免有环境噪音,但当局正不断努力,务求消减噪音。

交通噪音
图片交通噪音影响超过约90万市民(详情请参阅"香港道路交通噪音分布情况(只提供图像版本)"),成为主要关注的课题。环境保护署正处理两类的交通噪音源-新建道路和现有道路。从1990年开始,新建道路已沿途加设了逾105公里的隔音屏障和隔音罩,让35万市民受惠,并且低噪音路面已普遍地应用在许多新建道路上。除此之外,我们还就新建道路及建筑物的设计提供减低噪音的建议。

相比之下,现有道路的噪音问题更为棘手。本港共约有600条道路的交通噪音超过70分贝(A)。其中约40个路段可循工务计划设置隔音屏障。解决其他现有道路噪音问题的方法则需另作考虑,方案包括交通管制及减少使用车辆。

建筑噪音
图片环保署在1986年成立时,建筑噪音是主要的问题。当时,市区建筑地盘的打桩机每天12小时运作,每12位市民便有1位受到打桩噪音滋扰。政府于1989年实施《噪音管制条例》,其后逐渐加强管制建筑噪音。目前,已建区的建筑工地每日只可进行3至5小时打桩工程,而且必须采用低噪音打桩设备,其他嘈吵建筑工序则受管制。

然而,时至今日建筑噪音的问题仍未彻底解决。我们正探究问题症结,并鼓励建造业成员自律守法,改变他们把罚款纳入经营成本的错误观念。

飞机及其他噪音
飞机噪音由民航处负责管制。该处会监测噪音水平及规定航空公司采纳较宁静的飞行常规,例如在飞机起飞时实施消减噪音的步骤。香港国际机场于1998年迁往赤鱲角后,市区的飞机噪音滋扰已大幅减低。以往,启德机场附近尽是稠密的住宅区,飞机升降的隆然巨响令38万居民苦不堪言。相比之下,现时仅有约200位市民受到赤鱲角机场的噪音影响。

工商业场所如食肆等的通风系统经常产生扰人声浪。这类噪音和邻里噪音、防盗警钟、新登记车辆噪音均受《噪音管制条例》监管,后者的噪音水平必须达到欧洲及日本的标准。

周全计划 杜绝噪音
图片对付噪音,防患于未然是最佳的良策。如果住宅不贴近繁忙道路,便不会有许多市民受交通噪音滋扰。《香港规划标准与准则》早于1985年便开始规管噪音问题,而噪音的管制标准亦逐步收紧。透过环评程序环保署在新市镇及发展项目的规划初期提供意见。就以东涌新市镇为例,署方便曾参与设计,确保居民不会受过量飞机或道路交通噪音滋扰。

宏观上,我们亦会就一些关于香港整体决策事宜提供意见,好像未来的运输计划及香港整体发展方向等。在这方面,我们会评估各种建议方案的环境影响,然后建议政府采纳对环境损害最轻微的方案。

请参阅问题与解决方案,了解我们怎样管制噪音污染。

同心协力改善环境
作为香港一份子,您应时刻紧记避免制造滋扰声浪。请为邻居设想,将电视或音响声浪收细。在室内进行任何嘈吵活动时把门窗关上,晚上则不应进行这类噪音活动。如有任何噪音滋扰的投诉,可致电环保署或警署。警方是负责邻里噪音、防盗警钟和建筑噪音投诉的执法部门。环境保护署辖下的4个区域办事处则处理工商业楼宇及建筑地盘噪音的投诉。

业界可透过挑选恰当的设施并作出妥善维修,确保所有作业均严守法律规定,从而减低噪音的污染。此外,在设计住宅楼宇时规划周详,亦可避免噪音问题。有关环保法例的指引及良好作业手法,请浏览指引与参考资料

 

返回页首blank image
User review date: 
星期一, 29 二月, 2016