Loading

Frequently Asked Questions

 
What are "Waste Cooking Oils" (WCO)?
Why to strengthen regulation of WCO recycling?
How to define WCO collectors, processors or exporters?
Who are eligible for registration as WCO collectors, processors and exporters?
Is there any registration fee?
What are the registration requirements?
When will the application result be released?
How long is the validity period of registration?
How can registered parties submit their WCO record summaries to EPD?
Can registered parties transfer their own registration certificate to other parties?
Can registered WCO collectors hire vehicles to provide WCO collection, transportation or delivery services?
Can registered collectors outsource their WCO collection, transportation or delivery services to another party or authorize another party to provide such services?
Do property management companies (PMCs) or owners managing communal grease trap facilities need to make registration?
What should registered property managers do if they need to outsource cleansing services of communal grease trap facilities?
Can registered collectors/processors/exporters acquire WCO from parties which are not registered by EPD?
How can food premises identify EPD registered WCO collectors to hand over their WCO for recycling?

 


 

What are "Waste Cooking Oils" (WCO)?

WCO are defined as “oils" abandoned from any cooking process for human consumption other than those from household, including grease trap waste, used cooking oil and unused cooking oil abandoned for reasons such as spoilage, regardless whether they have been used for their original purposes.

 

 

Why to strengthen regulation of WCO recycling?

WCO are traded recyclables. Proper recycling of WCO can convert WCO into industrial products such as biodiesel, soap and etc., avoid environmental pollution arising from improper handling of WCO, and prevent WCO from re-entering the food chain and threatening public health.

 

 

How to define WCO collectors, processors or exporters?

EPD registers two types of WCO collectors, including regular collectors and collectors managing communal grease trap facilities. WCO parties which provide collection, removal and transportation services like the parties collecting WCO from restaurants and food factories, and WCO traders should register with EPD as regular collectors. On the other hand, property managers (including property management companies (PMCs) or owners etc.) managing communal grease trap facilities in shopping malls/commercial premises/industrial buildings should register with EPD as collectors managing communal grease trap facilities.

Parties engaging in processing WCO like biodiesel plants, operator of the Grease Trap Waste Treatment Facility at the West Kowloon Transfer Station, organizations manufacturing soaps from WCO or parties undertaking oil-water separation treatment through heating, mechanical or chemical processes to separate oil and grease from WCO should register with EPD as WCO processors.

Parties engaging in WCO export activities like the parties exporting WCO to Europe for industrial uses should register with EPD as WCO exporters.

 

 

Who are eligible for registration as WCO collectors, processors and exporters?

Any parties engaging in WCO collection/processing/export activities and fulfilling the criteria below are eligible for application for registration by EPD as WCO collectors/processors/exporters

All applicants should hold a Business Registration Certificate issued under the "Business Registration Ordinance" (Cap. 310) (unless the applicant satisfies the exemption conditions set out in the "Business Registration Ordinance");

Applicants of regular collector registration should possess proper tools for WCO collection and transportation. *;

Applicants of registration as a collector managing communal grease trap facility(ies) should be the property managers (including property management companies (PMCs) or owners etc.) of shopping malls/commercial premises/industrial buildings installed with communal grease trap facilities.

Applicants of processor registration should have already secured all applicable valid licence(s) and permit(s) issued under legislations in Hong Kong for operating the processing facility(ies) specified in the application form;

Applicants of exporter registration should provide all contractual agreement(s)/document(s) between applicant and overseas importer(s) on export of WCO and these documents should be valid at least for the coming 6 months [The agreement(s)/document(s) should: (1) specify the WCO exported will only be used for legitimate industrial uses and not for human consumption; and (2) provide detailed information including address(es), contact information (e.g. telephone/fax number, email address) of the overseas processing facility(ies)/organization(s) which will process the WCO concerned as well as the associated processing process(es) (e.g. used for biodiesel production) etc.]

 

* If applicant makes application for registration as a regular collector for the first time on or after 20 April 2018 and fulfills eligibility criteria, EPD will grant a 3-month provisional registration to the applicant. The applicant should submit to EPD at least one documentary proof of WCO having collected and delivered in the first 3 months after registration e.g. WCO collection and delivery records signed between applicant and WCO supplier(s) and recipient(s) etc. Upon receipt of the relevant documents, EPD will assess whether the applicant can fulfill registration requirements.  If yes, EPD will issue a new registration certificate to the applicant.  The registration will be valid for two years from the first date of the provisional registration. If the applicant is unable to provide the relevant documents to EPD and/or fulfill registration requirements during provisional registration period, the applicant’s provisional registration will be automatically lapsed after 3 months.

 

 

Is there any registration fee?

The registration is voluntary and free of charge.

 

 

What are the registration requirements?

Applicants should fill in the specified application form from EPD and submit copies of supporting documents as stated in Section F of the form.

Applicants should sign and affix the chop on the application form and commit to fully comply with the requirements stipulated in EPD’s “Good Practice Guide for Registered WCO Collectors (Regular Collectors)” (Chinese version only), “Good Practice Guide for Registered WCO Collectors (Managing Communal Grease Trap Facilities)” (Chinese version only), “Good Practice Guide for Registered WCO Processors” (Chinese version only), and “Good Practice Guide for Registered WCO Exporters” (Chinese version only) , submit all the required documents to EPD and cooperate with EPD (or organization(s) authorized by EPD) to conduct surveillance monitoring of applicant’s operation after registration. Applicant should also understand and accept that EPD will take necessary follow up actions (e.g. revoking applicant’s registration, etc.) if the applicant violates the requirements stipulated in the above Guides or cannot provide relevant documents to EPD after registration.

The major requirements stated in the above "Good Practice Guides" include:

a) Registered parties should only hand over their WCO to another EPD registered parties in Hong Kong;

b) Both sides of each WCO transaction should certify the WCO transaction record during every transaction;

c) Registered parties should compile summaries of WCO collection, delivery, storage, processing and export activities (as applicable);

d) Registered parties should keep the transaction records and summaries stated in item b) and c) for at least 12 months for inspection by EPD or organization(s) authorized by EPD;

e) Registered parties should ensure their operations are in full compliance with all prevailing legislations of Hong Kong.

For more details, please read the relevant "Good Practice Guides".

 

 

When will the application result be released?

In general, application result will be announced in batches within 1-2 months after a site assessment by EPD or its authorized organization(s) has been completed. EPD will issue a registration certificate with a registration number to each successful applicant. Besides, successful applicants’ information will be uploaded to Registration Lists at EPD’s website. EPD will also inform unsuccessful applicants of the outcome with justification(s) by letters.

 

 

How long is the validity period of registration?

Regular registration will be valid for 2 years (except for provisional registered collectors). If registered parties wish to maintain their registrations, they should submit an application for registration renewal at least 1 month before the end of valid period of their registrations (application form can be downloaded here).  Past performance of the registered party will be taken into account by EPD in considering the renewal application.

* If applicant makes application for registration as a regular collector for the first time on or after 20 April 2018 and fulfills eligibility criteria, EPD will grant a 3-month provisional registration to the applicant. The applicant should submit to EPD at least one documentary proof of WCO having collected and delivered in the first 3 months after registration e.g. WCO collection and delivery records signed between applicant and WCO supplier(s) and recipient(s) etc. Upon receipt of the relevant documents, EPD will assess whether the applicant can fulfill registration requirements.  If yes, EPD will issue a new registration certificate to the applicant.  The registration will be valid for two years from the first date of the provisional registration. If the applicant is unable to provide the relevant documents to EPD and/or fulfill registration requirements during provisional registration period, the applicant’s provisional registration will be automatically lapsed after 3 months.

 

 

 

How can registered parties submit their WCO record summaries to EPD?

Registered parties can submit their WCO record summaries to EPD through the following channels:

1. By e-mail to wco_admscheme@epd.gov.hk (Registered parties should adopt proper measures to encrypt their e-mail messages and protect privacy of their messages during transmission) ; 

2. By post or in person to the following address: Waste Reduction and Recycling Section (4), Environmental Protection Department, 5/F, Centre Parc, 11 Sheung Yuet Road, Kowloon Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

The data in the summaries will be used by EPD for (i) assessment of compliance of registered parties' operations with the requirements given in "Good Practice Guides", (ii) internal uses (including but not limited to research and statistical purposes) and (iii) handling activities relating to waste management matters.   The data may also be disclosed to organization(s) authorized by EPD or other Government bureaux, departments for the above purposes. 

 

 

Can registered parties transfer their own registration certificate to other parties?

Registered parties are prohibited from transferring original copies and certified true copies of their registration certificates to other parties/persons. Registered parties should properly keep their registration certificates (e.g. storing inside a sealed plastic package), to ensure the certificates would not be crumpled or soiled when they collect and receive WCO. Besides, registered parties should develop and implement a rigorous system to ensure original copies and certified true copies of their registration certificates would not be kept/used by non-designated staff or other persons. Registered parties are also not permitted to use certificates of other registered parties to conduct WCO businesses. If they violate the above requirements, EPD will take necessary follow up actions in accordance with the relevant "Good Practice Guide" once the violation is confirmed.

If registered parties found their registration certificates lost, they should notify EPD as soon as possible, and report the case to the Police as per the individual situations.

After the expiry of registration, registered parties should return their registration certificates to EPD and should not use the invalid EPD registration status to conduct WCO activities.

 

 

Can registered WCO collectors hire vehicles to provide WCO collection, transportation or delivery services?

If a WCO collector wishes to hire vehicles to conduct its WCO businesses, it should arrange at least one of its employed staff to monitor the whole WCO collection, transportation and delivery processes. The staff shall carry an original copy of the collector's registration certificate issued by EPD or a certified true copy thereof and a valid staff employment card, to facilitate identification of his/her registered identity by the frontline staff of the other side of the WCO transaction, and to ensure that the WCO will not be handed over to the parties not registered by EPD.

 

 

Can registered collectors outsource their WCO collection, transportation or delivery services to another party or authorize another party to provide such services?

To ensure WCO would not be channeled to improper outlets, WCO collectors registered by EPD should conduct WCO collection, transportation and delivery businesses on their own in compliance with the "Good Practice Guide" issued by EPD. If collectors need to seek assistance from other collectors to collect, transport or deliver WCO due to temporary operational needs, they should only outsource such services to an EPD registered collector or authorize an EPD registered collector to provide such services.

 

 

Do property management companies (PMCs) or owners managing communal grease trap facilities need to make registration?

EPD welcomes property managers (including property management companies (PMCs) or owners etc.) which manage communal grease trap facilities in shopping malls, commercial premises and industrial buildings to apply for registration by EPD as WCO collectors.

 

 

What should registered property managers do if they need to outsource cleansing services of communal grease trap facilities?

Registered property managers should only outsource cleansing services of communal grease trap facilities to EPD's registered WCO collectors, if the grease trap waste is to be removed by the outsourced service providers. If the outsourced service providers are not directly responsible for removing the concerned grease trap waste, registered property managers should enter into written contracts with the outsourced service providers and state clearly in the contracts that the concerned service providers should ensure the grease trap waste is removed by an EPD registered WCO collector. Registered property managers should also take necessary measures (please see the "Good Practice Guide") to ensure their grease trap waste is not taken away by a collector who has not been registered by EPD.

 

 

 

Can registered collectors/processors/exporters acquire WCO from parties which are not registered by EPD?

WCO are traded recyclables. To ensure WCO are properly recycled instead of re-entering food chain or polluting the environment, EPD registered WCO collectors/processors/exporters are allowed to acquire WCO from other sources including import or parties not registered by EPD. All registered parties, however, should only hand over their WCO to another EPD registered parties in Hong Kong to ensure WCO is recycled for legitimate industrial use and not used for human consumption.

 

 

How can food premises identify EPD registered WCO collectors to hand over their WCO for recycling?

To facilitate food premises to identify EPD registered WCO collectors, EPD will issue a registration certificate to registered parties and upload their names, contact details, registration numbers and service areas to Registration Lists at EPD's website for reference by food premises. Food premises may also make reference to the proposed measures of identifying registered WCO collectors stated in "Good Practice Guide for Registered WCO Collectors (Regular Collectors)" (Chinese version only).  

EPD will monitor the operation of registered parties closely. If registered parties violate the requirements stipulated in the "Good Practice Guides", EPD will take necessary follow up actions (e.g. revoking their registrations etc.).  EPD will notify the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department about the updated list of registered collectors in a timely manner.

 
 
 
Registration Scheme

WCO Home Page

Press Release

Collectors

Processors

Exporters

Registration Lists

Enquiries

 

返回頁首dot_clear.gif

Loading

常见问题

 
什么是「废置食用油」?
为何要加强规管「废置食用油」的回收?
如何界定为「废置食用油」收集商、处理商或出口商?
登记为「废置食用油」收集商/处理商/出口商的资格是什么?
登记费用如何?
登记要求是什么?
申请结果会在何时公布?
登记资格有效期为何?
登记商如何向环保署递交「废置食用油」记录摘要?
登记商可否把其登记证书转让予另一商户/人士?
登记收集商可否租用车辆以提供「废置食用油」收集、运送或交付服务?
登记收集商可否外判或委派另一商户代其收集、运送或交付「废置食用油」?
管理公用隔油池设施的物业管理公司或业主是否需要作出登记?
已登记的物业管理者如需外判清理公用隔油池设施服务,应如何处理?
登记收集商/处理商/出口商可否从非环保署登记商获得「废置食用油」?
食物业处所如何辨认环保署登记的「废置食用油」收集商以交出「废置食用油」作回收?

 


 

什么是「废置食用油」?

「废置食用油」是指从任何煮食供人食用的过程中扔弃的食用油,包括隔油池废物,经使用的煮食油及未经使用但因各种原因例如品质变坏而需要弃置的食用油,不论这些食用油是否曾用作原本用途,但不包括来自家居的食用油。

 

 

为何要加强规管「废置食用油」的回收?

「废置食用油」属有价值的可回收物料。妥善回收「废置食用油」,可再造成生物柴油、肥皂等工业产品,亦可避免不当处理「废置食用油」而造成环境污染,并防止「废置食用油」重返食物链,影响市民健康。

 

 

如何界定为「废置食用油」收集商、处理商或出口商?

环保署会为两种「废置食用油」收集商 进行登记,包括一般收集商 及 管理公用隔油池设施的收集商。从事「废置食用油」收集、移去、运送服务的商户,如从食肆、食物制造厂收集「废置食用油」的商户、「废置食用油」买卖商,应向环保署申请登记成为一般收集商。而管理商场/商厦公用隔油池设施的物业管理者(包括物业管理公司或业主等),则应向环保署申请登记成为管理公用隔油池设施的收集商。

从事加工处理「废置食用油」的商户,如生物柴油厂、西九龙废物转运站隔油池废物处理设施营办商、利用「废置食用油」制造肥皂的机构、或透过加热、机械或化学程序促进「废置食用油」油水分隔以隔取油脂的商户,则应向环保署申请登记成为「废置食用油」处理商

从事「废置食用油」出口贸易的商户,例如出口「废置食用油」往欧洲作工业用途的商户,应向环保署申请登记成为「废置食用油」出口商

 

 

登记为「废置食用油」收集商/处理商/出口商的资格是什么?

任何经营「废置食用油」收集/处理/出口业务而符合以下资格的商户,均可向环境保护署申请登记成为「废置食用油」收集商/处理商/出口商

所有申请人须为持有按香港法例第310章《商业登记条例》申领的商业登记证书 (获《商业登记条例》豁免商业登记的机构除外);

登记一般收集商的申请人须具备适当的工具收集及运输「废置食用油」*

登记管理公用隔油池设施的收集商的申请人须为设有公用隔油池设施的商场/商厦/工厂大厦的物业管理者(包括物业管理公司或业主等)

登记处理商的申请人须先为其申请表所注明的「废置食用油」处理设施按所有相关的香港法例申领有效的牌照、许可证等批文;

登记出口商的申请人须能提供在末来六个月内有效的申请人与外地进口商签订「废置食用油」交易的合约协议/文件,有关合约协议/文件须注明: (1) 出口的「废置食用油」只可用作非供人食用的合法工业用途; 及 (2) 外地处理有关「废置食用油」设施/机构的资料包括地址、联络方法(如 :电话/传真号码、电邮地址)及处理程序(如:用作制造生物柴油)等

 

如申请人于2018年4月20日或之后作出首次一般收集商登记申请,并符合申请资格,环保署会向该申请人作出三个月的临时登记。申请人须于获登记后首三个月内向环保署提供最少一份申请人收集及交付「废置食用油」的证明文件,例如: 与「废置食用油」来源商及接收商签订收集及交付「废置食用油」的单据记录等。环保署收到有关文件后,会评估申请人是否能遵守登记要求。如是,环保署会向该申请人发出一张新的登记证书,登记有效期将由首次获得临时登记日期起计,为期两年。若申请人未能向环保署提供有关文件,及/或于临时登记期间未能符合登记要求,其临时登记将会于获登记三个月后自动终止。

 

 

登记费用如何?

登记申请属自愿性质,费用全免。

 

 

登记要求是什么?

申请人须填写环保署指定的申请表格,并提交表格F部列载的文件副本。

申请人须在申请表格上签名盖印, 承诺在获登记后,切实遵守环保署的登记「废置食用油」收集商良好作业守则(一般收集商)》登记「废置食用油」收集商良好作业守则(公用隔油池设施管理)》登记「废置食用油」处理商良好作业守则》登记「废置食用油」出口商良好作业守则》的要求,向环保署递交所有环保署要求的文件及配合环保署(或其授权机构)实地巡查申请人的运作, 并表示清楚明白及接受倘若登记后违反上述守则的要求或未能向环保署提供相关文件,环保署会采取适当的跟进行动(例如:吊销其登记等)

上述《良好作业守则》的主要要求包括:

a) 登记商于本港只可把「废置食用油」交予另一个已向环保署登记的商户;

b) 「废置食用油」交收双方须确认每次交收「废置食用油」的记录;

c) 登记商须以摘要方式记录「废置食用油」的收集、交付、库存、处理 及 出口活动 (按适用者);

d) 登记商须保留上述b) 及c) 项的交收单据及记录摘要最少12个月,以供环保署及其授权机构查阅;

e) 登记商须确保其运作符合所有相关香港法例的要求。

详情请参阅相关的《良好作业守则》。

 

 

申请结果会在何时公布?

一般申请结果会于本署收到申请的一至两个月内整批公布。成功登记的申请人将获发环保署的登记证书及登记编号。另外获登记商户的资料将会被上载到环保署网站的登记名录。环保署亦会另行发信通知登记失败的申请人及其原因。

 

 

登记资格有效期为何?

登记资格为期两年(获临时登记资格的收集商除外*)。登记商户如欲保留登记资格,必须在其登记期完结最少一个月前提出保留登记申请(申请表可从此处下载),环保署会考虑登记商户过往的表现而决定是否批准保留其登记。

如申请人于2018年4月20日或之后作出首次一般收集商登记申请,并符合申请资格,环保署会向该申请人作出三个月的临时登记。申请人须于获登记后首三个月内向环保署提供最少一份申请人收集及交付「废置食用油」的证明文件,例如: 与「废置食用油」来源商及接收商签订收集及交付「废置食用油」的单据记录等。环保署收到有关文件后,会评估申请人是否能遵守登记要求。如是,环保署会向该申请人发出一张新的登记证书,登记有效期将由首次获得临时登记日期起计,为期两年。若申请人未能向环保署提供有关文件,及/或于临时登记期间未能符合登记要求,其临时登记将会于获登记三个月后自动终止。

 

 

登记商如何向环保署递交「废置食用油」记录摘要?

登记商可以透过下列途径向环保署递交「废置食用油」记录摘要:

1. 以电子邮件方式: wco_admscheme@epd.gov.hk (登记商应采取适当措施为电子邮件信息加密,令信息在传送过程中得以保密);

2. 邮寄至或亲身交回下列地址: 香港九龙九龙湾常悦道11号新明大厦5楼环保署减废及回收(4)。

环保署会使用记录摘要上的资料以 (i) 评核登记商的运作是否符合《良好作业守则》的要求、(ii) 供内部使用(包括但不限于作研究与统计之用)及 (iii) 办理有关废物管理的事务,并可能会为上述目的而向本署授权机构或其他政府决策局、部门披露记录摘要上的资料。

 

 

登记商可否把其登记证书转让予另一商户/人士?

登记商的登记证书正本及所有经核证的副本均不得转让予其他商户或人士。登记商应妥为保存其登记证书(例如使用密封胶套包装),确保在收集、接收「废置食用油」时不会把证书弄皱/弄污。另外,登记商须设立及实施严谨制度确保其证书正本及所有经核证的副本不会被非登记商指定员工或其他人士保管/使用。登记商不得使用其他登记商的登记证书从事「 废置食用油」业务。如登记商违犯上述要求,一经调查属实,环保署会根据相关的良好作业守则采取跟进行动

登记商如发现遗失了其登记证书,应尽快通知环保署,并按个别情况向警方报失

在登记期限过后,登记商须向环保署交还登记证书,亦不可使用已失效的环保署登记身份从事「废置食用油」活动。

 

 

登记收集商可否租用车辆以提供「废置食用油」收集、运送或交付服务?

已获环保署登记的收集商如需租用车辆进行「废置食用油」业务,须派出最少一名收集商雇用的员工监督整个「废置食用油」收集、运送及交付过程,而该员工亦必须携带由环保署向该收集商所发出的登记证书正本或经核证的登记证书副本,以及有效的员工工作证,以便交收「废置食用油」的对方员工识别其登记身份,确保不会把「废置食用油」交予未获环保署登记的商户。

 

 

登记收集商可否外判或委派另一商户代其收集、运送或交付「废置食用油」?

为确保「废置食用油」不会流向不明出路,已获环保署登记的收集商应按环保署的《良好作业守则》自行从事收集、运送及交付「废置食用油」业务。但如收集商因临时运作情况而需要另一商户协助代其收集、运送或交付「废置食用油」,则只可外判或委派另一已获环保署登记的收集商以提供上述服务。

 

 

管理公用隔油池设施的物业管理公司或业主是否需要作出登记?

环保署欢迎负责管理商场商厦公用隔油池设施的物业管理者(包括物业管理公司或业主等)向本署申请登记成为管理公用隔油池设施的收集商。

 

 

已登记的物业管理者如需外判清理公用隔油池设施服务,应如何处理?

已登记的物业管理者如需外判清理公用隔油池设施服务,并由该外判公司移走隔油池废物,该外判公司须为已获环保署登记的「废置食用油」收集商。如该外判公司并不直接负责移去有关的隔油池废物, 已登记的物业管理者则应与该外判公司订明书面合约, 清楚列明该外判公司须确保由已获环保署登记的「废置食用油」收集商移走隔油池废物。 已登记的物业管理者亦须采取必要措施(见《良好作业守则》), 确保隔油池废物不会被交予未获环保署登记的收集商。

 

 

登记收集商/处理商/出口商可否从非环保署登记商获得「废置食用油」?

「废置食用油」属有价值的可回收物料,为确保这些物料得到妥善回收,不致重入食物链或造成环境污染,环保署在行政措施实施后,会容许登记的收集商、处理商、及出口商从其他渠道如进口或非登记者收集「废置食用油」,但为确保「废置食用油」只被用作合法的非食用工业用途防止「废置食用油」重入食物链,所有登记商于本港只可把「废置食用油」交予另一个已向环保署登记的商户

 

 

食物业处所如何辨认环保署登记的「废置食用油」收集商以交出「废置食用油」作回收?

为方便食物业处所识别已在环保署登记的「废置食用油」收集商, 环保署会向登记商发出登记证书, 并把他们的名称、联络方法、登记编号及服务区域等资料上载到环保署网站的登记名录, 供食物业处所查阅。食物业处所亦可参考登记「废置食用油」收集商良好作业守则(一般收集商)》内有关辨认登记「废置食用油」收集商的建议措施。

环保署会密切监察登记商户的运作,如登记商户违反《良好作业守则》的要求,环保署将会采取适当的跟进行动(例如:吊销该登记商户的登记等)。环保署会适时把更新的登记收集商名录通知食物环境卫生署。

 
 
 
 
登记计划

废置食用油主页

新闻公报

收集商

处理商

出口商

登记商名录

查询

 

返回页首dot_clear.gif