Loading

Problems & Solutions

Integrated Waste Management Facilities

 

 
Objective

The Integrated Waste Management Facilities (IWMF) aims to substantially reduce the bulk size of mixed MSW and to recover useful resources.  It will minimize the landfilling of waste significantly, thereby extending the useable life of landfills and their extensions in Hong Kong.

 

3D animation of IWMF Phase 1 at Shek Kwu Chau

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Technology
 

The IWMF will be developed in phases.  The IWMF Phase 1 will have a treatment capacity of 3,000 tonnes each day.  It will adopt advanced incineration as the core treatment technology as well as a demonstration scale mechanical sorting and recycling facility for recovery of useful resources from the mixed MSW.

Advanced technologies are able to reduce pollutant emissions from incineration effectively.  For example in Germany, the amount of waste incinerated in year 2000 doubled that in 1990, but due to the adoption of advanced control technologies, the dioxin emission was only one-thousandth of that in 1990. Overseas experience and studies have also demonstrated that advanced incineration plants that comply with stringent emission standards will not cause adverse health impacts. 

The IWMF Phase 1 will adopt state-of-the-art technologies and pollution control measures.  Its emissions will comply with the emission standards for waste incineration facilities in Hong Kong and the European Commission for the protection of public health and the environment. The emission standard for nitrogen oxides will be even more stringent than the corresponding European Commission standard.

Modern Incineration Technology - Process Flow Diagram

(Modern Incineration Technology - Process Flow Diagram,

click here for Chinese video download or browse Chinese transcript only)

 

Air quality monitoring stations will be set up at Shek Kwu Chau (SKC), Cheung Chau and South Lantau to provide objective data on local air quality to ensure that the operation of the IWMF Phase 1 will not affect the surrounding environment.  An action level will be set at 95% of the emission limits to provide early alarm such that we will take appropriate actions according to a formulated plan which will include ceasing the MSW feeding and preparing for shut down of the incineration system.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
IWMF Phase 1 Site Selection
 

A comprehensive site selection exercise that aimed to determine potential sites for developing the IWMF was completed in January 2008.  Two potential sites were identified, namely the Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site in Tuen Mun and the Shek Kwu Chau site (to be reclaimed) to the south of Lantau Island.  The IWMF Phase 1 will occupy an area of about 10 hectares.

 

 

Potential Sites for the Development of IWMF Phase 1

Potential Sites for the Development of IWMF

Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site

Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site

 Shek Kwu Chau site

Shek Kwu Chau site

 

 
 

 

   

Engineering Investigation and Environmental Impact Assessment Studies

 

In November 2008, the government commenced a detailed Engineering Investigation and Environmental Impact Assessment Studies (EI&EIA Studies) for these two sites to ascertain their overall suitability.  The EI&EIA Studies were completed in 2012.  The EIA for IWMF Phase 1 was approved under the Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance on 17th January 2012.  The full approved EIA report is available at internet website (www.eia.hk).

 

Taking into account the EIA report results and Hong Kong’s overall waste management strategy as a whole, the Government has identified the artificial island near SKC as the preferred site for developing the first modern IWMF.  Please refer to the Legislative Council Brief and the Environmental Affairs Panel Papers no.: 1. CB(1) 1369/11-12(01) and 2. CB(1) 1628/11-12(01) for more information.

 

Technology Review

Having reviewed different thermal treatment technologies, the EI&EIA Studies proposed that the moving grate incineration be adopted as the core technology for MSW treatment.  The advantages of this technology are that :- 

   
  • it has the best proven track record of application in large MSW treatment facilities (i.e. over 3,000 tonnes per day (tpd));
  • it is the most robust thermal technology, capable of treating different sizes and qualities of mixed MSW;
  • it possesses the least operational complexity; and
  • it requires the least capital and operating costs. 

 

In December 2009, the Advisory Committee on the Environment (ACE) was consulted on the recommended moving grate incineration technology (ACE Paper, Annex A, Annex B and Minutes of Meeting, 14th Dec 2009 [ACE 22/2009] ).  The ACE supported the recommended incineration technology and agreed that a mechanical sorting and recycling facility with a treatment capacity of 200 tonnes per day should be incorporated in the IWMF to test the operational viability and cost effectiveness of recovering the recyclables from the MSW prior to the incineration process.

 

 

Waste Transportation

For the artificial island near SKC, MSW compacted in tightly sealed containers and delivered by dedicated container vessels would be delivered by marine vessels from the existing refuse transfer stations including Island East Transfer Station, Island West Transfer Station and West Kowloon Transfer Station.  For the Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site, MSW currently delivered to the berth of WENT Landfill by marine vessels or delivered directly to the WENT Landfill by land transport will be diverted from the WENT Landfill to the adjoining the Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site by land transport.

   

 

Waste Transportation Arrangement :

IWMF in Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site

IWMF in Tsang Tsui Ash Lagoons site

Waste container vessel

Waste container vessel

   

IWMF in Shek Kwu Chau site

IWMF in Shek Kwu Chau site

   

 

 

   

IWMF Phase 1 Contract

 

The Design-Build-Operate (DBO) contract for the IWMF Phase 1 was awarded in November 2017.  The IWMF Phase 1 is expected to be fully commissioned by 2024 and the contract includes a 15-year operation period.

 

 

 

Artist's Impression of the Integrated Waste Management Facilities Phase 1

Artist's Impression of the Integrated Waste Management Facilities Phase 1

Key features of the DBO contract:-

 
  •  design and construction of reclamation of about 16 hectares to form an artificial island near SKC and related works;

  •  design and construction of an MSW incineration plant with a maximum treatment capacity of 3,000 tonnes per day;

  • design and construction of a mechanical sorting and recycling facility with a maximum treatment capacity of 200 tonnes per day;

  • design and construction of associated architectural, building, civil and landscape works;

  • design and installation of the electrical and mechanical works for the waste receiving and sorting facilities, waste incineration, heat recovery, power generation, pollution control and ash treatment systems;

  • design and construction of mechanical and electrical works for utility services facilities including a desalination plant and a wastewater treatment plant.;

  • design and construction of power connection and export system; and

  • provision of pollution control and environmental monitoring facilities.

   

 

Environmental Education Facilities

 

Environmental Education Facilities 1

 

 

 

The IWMF Phase 1 will have environmental education facilities that provide information on and demonstration of waste management in Hong Kong for the public.  Drawing on experience from the T·PARK, guided tours will be provided to visitors for understanding the most advanced waste-to-energy technologies and appreciating the environmental features of the IWMF Phase 1.

An educational route will be designed for visitors to overlook the main components of IWMF Phase 1 and have a close-up learning experience at key areas such as the incineration process, flue gas treatment process, mechanical sorting and recycling facility and control room.  Ferry services between the IWMF Phase 1 and Central/Cheung Chau will be offered to visitors.

Environmental Education Facilities 2

Environmental Education Facilities 3

Environmental Education Facilities 4

Environmental Education Facilities 5

Environmental Education Facilities 6

Environmental Education Facilities 7

 

 

   
Environmental Protection and Ecological Enhancement
 
Waste-to-Energy

The IWMF Phase 1 will recover heat energy from the MSW incineration process to produce about 480 million kilowatt-hours (kWh) of surplus electricity (amounts to about 1% of the total electricity consumption in Hong Kong) for export to the existing power grid in Hong Kong every year. The surplus electricity, which is equivalent to the output of 400 largest solar farms in Hong Kong at Siu Ho Wan Sewage Treatment Works, will be sufficient for use by 100,000 households.

Through the replacement of fossil fuel in electricity generation and reduction in the volume of MSW for landfill disposal, it is estimated that about 440,000 tonnes of greenhouse gas emission per year can be curtailed.

Surplus Electricity Export

Surplus Electricity Export

 

Baseline Monitoring Surveys

Before the construction works of the IWMF Phase 1 starts near SKC, baseline monitoring surveys for Finless Porpoise, White-bellied Sea Eagle and hard coral have been conducted to determine their baseline conditions to ascertain the utilisation of the area by Finless Porpoise, the presence and breeding status of White-bellied Sea Eagle in the Shek Kwu Chau area and the number and location of hard coral colonies within the potentially affected areas according to the approved Environmental Monitoring & Audit Manual.  These baseline monitoring surveys will be used to formulate the coral translocation plan and the detailed monitoring programme and mitigation measures to avoid disturbance to Finless Porpoise and White-bellied Sea Eagle during construction and operation.

Coral Survey

Coral Survey

Finless Porpoise Monitoring

Finless Porpoise Monitoring

White-bellied Sea Eagle Monitoring

White-bellied Sea Eagle Monitoring

 

 

 

Non-dredged Reclamation

The artificial island near SKC will mainly be constructed by non-dredged method to minimize water quality impact.  The marine deposits underlying the reclamation, including the seawalls and breakwaters, will be left in place to avoid dumping of dredged marine deposits.

An advanced ground treatment method, i.e. deep cement mixing (DCM) is proposed to reinforce the marine mud in situ to control settlements and movements of the reclamation to within acceptable limits and to ensure that the construction of the artificial island can be completed within a reasonable time frame.  

The DCM will also be designed to ensure that the reclamation will be safe and any residual settlements and movements will not affect the operation and service of the IWMF Phase 1.  Precast concrete structure will be used for the seawall and breakwater construction to minimize underwater acoustic disturbance to Finless Porpoise and water quality impacts during construction.

Deep Cement Mixing

Deep Cement Mixing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eco-shoreline

The blockwork seawall facing Shek Kwu Chau will be designed as environmentally friendly eco-shorelines with features to provide more suitable habitats for colonisation of intertidal and subtidal species and thereby enhance the ecological functions of the coastal habitats.  Example of environmentally friendly seawalls with enhanced ecological features to simulate the natural habitat variability of SKC and to encourage wildlife uses by increasing the shoreline complexity is shown below:

 

 

 

 

 

Environmental Friendly Seawall at Beachmere, Queensland, Australia
(Source: AECOM)

 

Net Zero Wastewater Discharge

The IWMF Phase 1 will be designed with a net zero discharge of wastewater by equipping with a wastewater treatment plant on-site to provide treatment to wastewater generated from the facilities for reuse in the incineration plant and the mechanical sorting and recycling facility or for washdown and landscape irrigation in the IWMF Phase 1.

Water Balance Schematic Diagram

Water Balance Schematic Diagram

 

Marine Park

Finless Porpoise, a species of conservation interest, is protected under the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance (Cap. 170) and the Protection of Endangered Species of Animals and Plants Ordinance (Cap. 586) in Hong Kong.  The waters of South Lantau including the area near Shek Kwu Chau are an important habitat for Finless Porpoise.  To compensate for the permanent loss of 31 hectares habitat for Finless Porpoise as a result of the reclamation works and breakwater construction for the IWMF Phase 1, a compensatory marine park with an area of 797 hectares is proposed to be established in the waters between Soko Islands and Shek Kwu Chau.

Habitat Ratings of Finless Porpoises between 2005 and 2014

Habitat Ratings of Finless Porpoises between 2005 and 2014

In the immediate vicinity of the proposed compensatory marine park, there is a proposed Soko Islands Marine Park initiated by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department with an area of approximately 1,270 hectares for conserving important habitats of Chinese White Dolphin and Finless Porpoise, where the waters of Soko Islands are considered a unique location with both Chinese White Dolphin and Finless Porpoise regularly sighted.

 

Proposed South Lantau Marine Park

The proposed South Lantau Marine Park

To achieve better synergy in the future management and operation of the marine parks, and taking into account the sizable movement ranges and high mobility of Chinese White Dolphin and Finless Porpoise, it is proposed to combine the proposed compensatory marine park and the proposed Soko Islands Marine Park into a larger single marine park of approximately 2,067 hectares, namely the South Lantau Marine Park. The statutory process of the South Lantau Marine Park designation is targeted to be completed by 2019.  Upon designation, it will be the largest marine park in Hong Kong.

 

Fisheries Enhancement Measures

Deployment of artificial reefs and release of fish fry and fingerlings have been proposed with a view to enhancing the fisheries resources in South Lantau waters.  The artificial reefs are recommended to be deployed at the core area of the proposed South Lantau Marine Park where all fishing activities are prohibited, so that the aggregated fisheries resources can be adequately protected.

Suggested designs of prefabricated concrete artificial reef units

Suggested designs of prefabricated concrete artificial reef units

In addition, fish fry and fingerlings will be released at the deployed artificial reefs within the proposed South Lantau Marine Park and at the eco-shoreline to be constructed under the IWMF Phase 1 to further enhance the fisheries resources in South Lantau waters.

To evaluate the effectiveness of the artificial reefs deployment and fish restocking as fisheries enhancement measures, a series of monitoring works including fisheries resources monitoring by gill netting and hand lining, artificial reef structural monitoring by side-scan sonar and fish restocking monitoring by hand lining will be conducted.

The proposed location for artificial reefs development

The proposed location for artificial reefs development

 

Restocking of fish fry / fingerlings at artificial reefs

Restocking of fish fry / fingerlings at artificial reefs

 

 
 
     
Material Recovery

 

Mechanical Sorting and Recycling Facility

The mechanical sorting and recycling facility will make use of automatic waste sorting technology to recover useful resources, such as ferrous metal, non-ferrous metal, plastics and glass, from up to 200 tonnes of MSW per day.

 

Mechanical Sorting and Recycling Facility

Mechanical Sorting and Recycling Facility

 

Bottom Ash

During the incineration process, the non-combustible residue of combustion in the incineration system, i.e. bottom ash, will be collected and magnetic separators will extract ferrous metals from the bottom ash for recovery.  Opportunities for recycling or other beneficial use of the bottom ash will be further explored during the design and construction period.

 

Bottom Ash Treatment

Bottom Ash Treatment

Bottom Ash Treatment

 

 
 
Architectural and Landscaping Design
 

The architectural and landscaping design of the IWMF Phase 1 will embrace the environmental philosophy of "Green, Clean and Lean" so as to blend in with the surrounding environment.  We will also strive to acquire the green building rating accreditation of BEAM Plus Gold or a higher rating for the project.

 

 

 

Artist's Impression of the Integrated Waste Management Facilities Phase 1

 

 
 
Community Liaison
 

As set out in the Policy Address 2014, the Government has pledged to ensure that waste treatment facilities shall meet high environmental and operational standards, and will continue to strengthen communication with local communities regarding the facilities including their management, delivery arrangements, environmental monitoring and hygiene to minimize potential impacts on residents.

 

2014 Policy Address

2014 Policy Address

To this end, an Islands District Liaison Group comprising representatives from the Islands District Council, relevant Rural Committees, stakeholders including the fishery sector and relevant government departments, was established in July 2015 with a view to strengthening communication with the local communities for the implementation of major waste treatment facilities (including IWMF Phase 1, Organic Resources Recovery Centre Phase 1 and refuse transfer stations) in the Islands District.

 

In accordance with our previous IWMF Phase 1 related engagement experience, different local communities will have different interests and concerns.  In this connection, 3 working groups namely the South Lantau Working Group, Cheung Chau Working Group, and Shek Kwu Chau Working Group were formed in July 2015 under the umbrella of Islands District Liaison Group to strengthen our communications with the local communities with a view to catering for their different needs and interests.

 

Islands District Liaison Group

Islands District Liaison Group

 

We will continue with the public engagement process and convene meetings under the Island District Liaison Group on a regular basis.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Back to top Table of Content

 

User review date: 
Monday, 7 May, 2018

Loading

問題與解決方案

綜合廢物管理設施

 

目的

 

綜合廢物管理設施旨在大幅縮減混合都市固體廢物的體積,和回收有用的資源,從而大大減少廢物堆填及延長香港堆填區及其擴展部份的可用年期。

 

3D立體模擬石鼓洲旁的綜合廢物管理設施第1期(只提供英文版本)

 

 

技術

 

綜合廢物管理設施將會分階段發展,設施第1期的處理量為每日3,000公噸,它會採用先進的焚化技術作為核心處理技術,並且會配合一座示範規模的機械分類及回收設施,從混合都市固體廢物中回收有用的資源。

先進焚化技術能有效地減低污染物的排放,例如在德國,雖然經焚化處理的廢物量從1990年到2000年增加了一倍,但是在採用了先進的控制技術後,二噁英的排放量只是1990年的一千份之一而已。海外其他地方的經驗和研究亦顯示,符合嚴格排放標準的先進焚化設施,並不會引致不良的健康影響。

綜合廢物管理設施第1期將會採用先進的科技和污染控制設備,確保排放的煙氣符合香港和歐盟委員會的廢物焚化設施排放上限以保護環境和公眾健康,當中氮氧化物的排放標準更較歐盟的排放標準為嚴格。

我們會分別在石鼓洲、長洲及南大嶼設立空氣監測站,提供當地空氣質素的客觀數據以確保綜合廢物管理設施第1期的運作不會影響周圍環境。我們將以煙氣排放限值的百份之九十五定立行動水平以作預警,當煙氣排放達至行動水平時,我們會按預先制定的應變計劃採取相應行動,包括馬上停止輸入垃圾到焚化爐及準備關閉焚燒系統。

先進的焚化技術流程圖

先進的焚化技術流程圖

(按此 下載短片文字稿)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

綜合廢物管理設施第1期選址研究

 

為了尋找適合發展綜合廢物管理設施的地點,我們在2008年1月完成了一項全面的選址研究工作,揀選了屯門曾咀煤灰湖及大嶼山以南的石鼓洲旁一幅需填海的土地,作為兩個可供考慮興建設施的地點。綜合廢物管理設施第1期將佔地約10公頃。

 

可供考慮興建設施的地點

 可供考慮興建設施的地點

 

 

屯門曾咀煤灰湖

屯門曾咀煤灰湖

石鼓洲

石鼓洲

 

 

工程調查和環評研究

 

政府已在2008年11月就上述兩個地點分別開始詳細的工程和環評研究,以確立兩者的整體合適程度。詳細工程和環評研究已在2012年完成。綜合廢物管理設施第1期的環境影響評估已在2012年1月17日根據環境影響評估條例獲得批准,整份環評報告可於網上查閱(www.eia.hk)。

 

在考慮環評的結果及香港廢物處理的整體策略後,政府選擇比鄰石鼓洲的人工島興建首個現代化的綜合廢物管理設施,有關詳情請參閱立法會參考資料文件和環境事務委員會文件編號:1. CB(1)1369/11-12(01) 和 2. CB(1)1628/11-12(01)

 

技術檢討

檢討了各種處理都市固體廢物的熱能技術後,工程研究建議採用活動爐排焚化技術為核心處理技術。這項技術有以下的優點:

 
  • 這技術擁有最良好的充分驗證紀錄,證明可以處理每日大於3,000公噸以上的大量廢物;
  • 它是具有最高適應能力的熱能處理技術,能處理不同體積及性質的混合都市固體廢物;
  • 在眾多技術中,這技術的操作複雜程度最低;及
  • 它需要的建造及營運成本也是最低。

 

在2009年12月,我們就建議的活動爐排焚化技術諮詢了環境諮詢委員會(下稱環諮會)(會議文件只提供英文版本:環諮會會議文件附件A附件B會議記錄,文件編號:ACE 22/2009),環諮會支持此項建議,並贊成綜合廢物管理設施應包括一座每日處理量為200公噸的機械分類及回收設施,以測試在焚化處理前,從都市固體廢物回收可循環再造物料的操作可行性及成本效益。

 

 

 

廢物運輸

都市固體廢物於現時的港島東廢物轉運站、港島西廢物轉運站及西九龍廢物轉運站經壓縮裝進密封的貨櫃後,會以專用的貨櫃船運送到比鄰石鼓洲的人工島。而現時經海路運送至新界西堆填區碼頭或經陸路直接運送至新界西堆填區的都市固體廢物,則會由新界西堆填區經陸路轉送至屯門曾咀煤灰湖。

 

廢物貨櫃船

廢物貨櫃船

 

 

廢物運輸安排

屯門曾咀煤灰湖_廢物運輸

設施擬建在屯門曾咀煤灰湖

石鼓洲_廢物運輸

設施擬建在石鼓洲

 

 

綜合廢物管理設施第1期合約

 

綜合廢物管理設施第1期的設計、建造及營運合約於2017年11月批出。綜合廢物管理設施第1期預計可於2024年全面運作。有關合約包括15年的營運期。

 

 

 

畫家筆下的綜合廢物管理設施第1

設計、建造及營運合約的特點:-

  • 在比鄰石鼓洲設計和建造1個由填海而成,約 16 公頃的人工島,以及相關工程;
  • 設計和建造1座最高處理量達每日 3,000 公噸的都市固體廢物焚化設施;
  • 設計和建造1座最高處理量達每日 200 公噸的機械分類及回收設施;
  • 設計和建造相關的建築、樓宇、土木和環境美化工程;
  • 設計及裝設機電設施,以接收及分類廢物、焚燒廢物、回收熱能、發電、控制污染物及處理灰渣;
  • 設計和建造機電設施以提供公用服務設備,包括海水化淡廠、污水處理廠等;
  • 設計和建造電力接駁和輸送系統;及
  • 提供污染控制和環境監測設施。

 

 

環境教育設施

 

環境教育設施

 

 

綜合廢物管理設施第1期會設有環境教育設施,向公眾介紹及示範香港的廢物管理。採納[源.區]的經驗,我們會向訪客提供導賞團以了解和體會最先進的轉廢為能技術及綜合廢物管理設施第1期的環保特色。

 

我們會為訪客設計一條教育路線,讓訪客切身體驗綜合廢物管理設施第1期的主要部份,包括焚化爐、煙氣處理系統、機械分類及回收設施及控制室等。我們並計劃安排渡輪來往中環/長洲和綜合廢物管理設施第1期,接載前來參觀的訪客。

環境教育設施

環境教育設施

環境教育設施

環境教育設施

環境教育設施

環境教育設施

 

 

環境保護及生態提升

 

轉廢為能

綜合廢物管理設施第1期可在焚化過程中回收廢物的能源產生電力,估計全面運作後每年可輸出約4億8仟萬度剩餘電力(相當於本港耗電量的百份之一)至公眾電網,效益等於逾400個現時全港規模最大的小蠔灣污水處理廠太陽能發電場,足夠供10萬戶家庭使用。

 

由於替代石化燃料發電,以及減少都市固體廢物的堆填量,每年估計可減少約44萬公噸的溫室氣體排放。

 

 

輸出剩餘電力

輸出剩餘電力

 

基線監測調查

在綜合廢物管理設施第1期的建造工程開展前,我們會根據核准的環境監察及審核手冊進行基線監測調查,以確定江豚在研究範圍內的出沒及使用情況、驗證白腹海鵰在石鼓洲地區的存在及繁殖狀況,以及確定珊瑚群落的確實數量和位置。基線監測調查的結果會用作制定珊瑚移植計劃及詳細的監測計劃和緩解措施以避免於施工及運作期間對江豚及白腹海鵰造成的滋擾。

 

珊瑚調查

珊瑚調查

 

江豚監察

江豚監察

白腹海鵰監察

白腹海鵰監察

 

 

非浚挖式填海

比鄰石鼓洲的人工島將主要由非浚挖方法建造以減低對水質的影響,填海範圍內包括海堤和防波堤下的海洋沉積物將會保留以避免棄置需要。

 

我們會採用一種先進的地層處理方法,即深層水泥拌合法,於現場為海洋沉積物進行加固,以控制沉降及填海範圍的移動於可接受水平內,及確保人工島的建造可於合理時間內完成。

 

深層水泥拌合法的設計需保障人工島的安全,並確保綜合廢物管理設施第1期的運作及服務不受任何剩餘沉降及移動的影響。海堤及防波堤會以預製混凝土結構建造,以減少建造時產生的水底聲音對江豚的滋擾和對水質的影響。
 

深層水泥拌合法

深層水泥拌合法

 

 

 

 

 

 

生態海岸線

面向石鼓洲的人工島海堤會設計為環保的生態海岸線,並將加入不同生態元素以提供適合的生態環境予潮間帶及潮下帶的物種群居,從而提高沿岸棲息地的生態功能。具生態元素的環保海堤可模擬石鼓洲自然棲息地的變化,並增加海岸線的複雜性從而提高生態價值,以鼓勵野生生物使用。相關例子如下:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

位於澳洲昆士蘭比奇梅爾的環保海堤

位於澳洲昆士蘭比奇梅爾的環保海堤
(圖片來源: AECOM)

 

零污水排放

綜合廢物管理設施第1期將設有污水處理廠,所有污水經處理後會循環再用於設施內的焚化爐、機械分類及回收設施,或作為清洗及灌溉用水。

 

 

 

 

水平衡示意圖

水平衡示意圖

 

海岸公園

江豚是一種具保育價值的物種。在香港水域,它受到《野生動物保護條例》(第170章)和《保護瀕危動植物物種條例》(第586章)所保護。大嶼山南部水域包括石鼓洲附近的範圍是江豚重要的棲息地。為補償因綜合廢物管理設施第1期的填海及建造防波堤而導致的31公頃江豚重要棲息地的永久損失,我們擬在索罟群島及石鼓洲之間的水域設立一個面積達797公頃的補償性海岸公園。

在擬建的補償性海岸公園附近,有一個由漁農自然護理署倡議,面積約為1,270公頃的索罟群島海岸公園,目的是保護中華白海豚和江豚的重要棲息地。該處水域是中華白海豚和江豚都會恆常出沒的獨特地方。

為擬建的索罟群島海岸公園和綜合廢物管理設施第1期的補償性海岸公園的未來管理和運作能有更佳的協同效應,以及考慮到中華白海豚和江豚較大的活動範圍和高流動性,現建議把這兩個擬建的海岸公園合併為一個約2,067公頃的海岸公園,名為南大嶼海岸公園。有關指定海岸公園的法定程序預期於2019年完成。屆時,南大嶼海岸公園將成為全港最大的海岸公園。

 

於2005至2014年間江豚棲息地指數

於2005至2014年間江豚棲息地指數

擬建南大嶼海岸公園

擬建南大嶼海岸公園

 

漁業強化措施

我們建議在擬建南大嶼海岸公園內敷設人工魚礁及投放魚苗及幼魚,以強化大嶼山南部水域的漁業資源。人工魚礁建議敷設在擬建海岸公園的核心區內,此核心區將限制所有捕魚活動,以使聚集的漁業資源能充分地受到保護。

預製混凝土人工魚礁組件的建議設計

預製混凝土人工魚礁組件的建議設計

此外,魚苗及幼魚將投放在擬建南大嶼海岸公園內已敷設的人工魚礁及綜合廢物管理設施第1期所建造的生態海岸線,以期進一步提升大嶼山南部水域的漁業資源。

我們會進行一系列的監測,當中包括通過刺網和手釣方法以監測漁業資源、利用船旁聲納探測器監測人工魚礁的結構,以及透過手釣方法進行魚類放養的監測,以評估敷設人工魚礁及放養魚類作為漁業強化措施的成效。

 

 

 

擬議人工魚礁投放區

擬議人工魚礁投放區

 

於人工魚礁放養魚苗或糼魚

於人工魚礁放養魚苗或糼魚

 

 

資源回收

 

機械分類及回收設施

機械分類及回收設施將採用自動廢物分類技術,每天從最多200公噸都市固體廢物中回收有用的資源,包括含鐵金屬、有色金屬、塑膠和玻璃。

 

 

 

機械分類及回收設施

機械分類及回收設施

 

爐底灰

在焚化過程中,一些在爐中不能燃燒的殘渣(即爐底灰)會被收集,磁力分離機會從中提取及回收含鐵金屬。我們會在項目的設計及建造期間就爐底灰的回收機會及其他有益用途作進一步探討。

 

爐底灰

 

 

爐底灰處理

爐底灰處理

 

 

建築和園境設計

 

綜合廢物管理設施第1期的建築和園境設計將秉承「綠色、潔淨、精簡」的環保理念,與周邊環境融和,並將致力達至綠建環評(BEAM Plus)金級或更高水平。

 

 

 

 

 

 

建築和園境設計

 

 

社區聯絡

 

政府在2014年施政報告中承諾,會確保廢物處置設施的環保和運作符合高規格水平,並就設施管理和運輸配套、環境監測和衞生等問題,加強與地區人士溝通,盡量減少對居民的影響。

為此,我們於2015年7月成立「離島區域聯絡組」。聯絡組主要由離島區議會代表、鄉事委員會代表、地區持分者包括漁業界代表和有關政府部門組成,目的是就離島區內的主要廢物處置設施(包括綜合廢物管理設施第1期、有機資源回收中心第1期和廢物轉運站)的實行,加強與地區人士的溝通。

 

2014年施政報告

2014年施政報告

根據我們過去在綜合廢物管理設施第1期公眾參與活動中所得的經驗,不同地區會有不同的具體訴求及關注事項。因此,我們在2015年7月在「離島區域聯絡組」的架構下成立三個地區工作小組,名為「南大嶼工作小組」、「長洲工作小組」及「石鼓洲工作小組」,以進一步加強我們與地區人士之間的溝通,以更深入了解相關地區人士的需求及關注事項。

離島區域聯絡組

離島區域聯絡組

 

我們將會繼續進行有關的公眾參與活動,並會定期召開「離島區域聯絡組」及其轄下的三個地區工作小組會議。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

返回頁首目錄

 

User review date: 
星期一, 7 五月, 2018