Loading

Problems & Solutions

Food Waste Challenge

 

Current Status

 
Food WasteAt present, most of Hong Kong's food waste is disposed of at landfills together with other municipal solid waste. In 2012, there were some 9,278 tonnes of MSW disposed of at landfills each day. Of these, about 3,337 tonnes (36%) were food waste, constituting the largest MSW category being landfilled. Among the food waste disposed of daily, some 809 tonnes were generated from commercial and industrial (C&I) sources such as restaurants, hotels, wet markets, food production and processing industries. In recent years, the amount of food waste arising from the C&I sectors has increased steadily: from less than 400 tonnes per day in 2002 to over 800 tonnes per day in 2012.
 

The current practice of disposing of biodegradable food waste at landfills is not sustainable and is environmentally undesirable as it depletes the limited landfill space, creates odour nuisance, generates leachate and landfill gases that require further mitigation measures to deal with, and squanders the useful organic contents.

 

Food Waste Management Strategy

 
Reducing food waste disposal at landfills is an important part of the Government’s plan for waste management and the Administration has adopted a multi-pronged approach to tackle Hong Kong’s food waste problem, with main focus on avoidance of food waste generation and reduction at source.

 
The strategy seeks to reuse, recycling nd recovery the food waste to useful resources.
 
Food waste management hierarchy
 

In the “Hong Kong : Blueprint for Sustainable Use of Resources 2013-2022” (the Blueprint) unveiled by the Environment Bureau in May 2013, the Administration maps out a comprehensive strategy, targets, policies and action plans for waste management for the coming 10 years with a view to tackling the waste crisis in Hong Kong.  In February 2014, the Environment Bureau unveiled “A Food Waste & Yard Waste Plan for Hong Kong 2014-2022” (the Plan), which is a companion document to the Blueprint that maps out a comprehensive strategy, targets, policies and action plans for the management of food waste and yard waste in the coming years.  The Plan outlines the Administration’s target of reducing food waste disposal to landfills by 40% in 2022 and maps out four strategies to tackle food waste, namely reduction at source, reuse and donation, recyclable collection, and turning food waste into energy.

 
 
 

On food waste reduction, we believe that education and publicity are very important. Over the past years, the Government has initiated and supported various programmes and educational campaigns to promote food waste reduction, source separation and recycling in different sectors and districts. Some of our recent actions include:

 
 
Food Waste Recycling Partnership Scheme Food Waste Reduction Program
 

 

To further strengthen the promotion of food waste reduction, the Government set up the Food Wise Hong Kong Steering Committee in December 2012 to implement the Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign. It is a territory-wide food waste reduction campaign that aims to promote public awareness of food waste problems in Hong Kong and instill behavioural changes in various sectors of the community, including commercial and industrial establishments and at the individual and household levels, with a view to avoiding and reducing food waste generation. The Campaign was officially launched on 18 May 2013.

 
Food Wise Hong Kong
 

Notwithstanding the efforts for food waste avoidance and reduction, suitable and adequate food waste treatment and recycling facilities are necessary to treat and recycle food waste that cannot be avoided and can be separated at source. The Government is planning to develop regional modern large-scale organic resources recovery centre (ORRC) in phases to turn source separated food waste into useful resources by advanced biological treatment technologies.

 

Network of Organic Resources Recovery Centre

 

We have reviewed many types of technology for treating food waste.  As Hong Kong has a large need for energy, our policy is to treat the city’s collected food waste to produce renewable energy using anaerobic digestion as the core technology.  We plan to build a network of ORRC, to enable food waste to be transported quickly from population centres to the facilities that are not too far away and turned into useful resources, thereby reducing potential nuisance arising from the transportation of food waste.  We have set out in the Plan that Hong Kong, among other things, needs to build a network of around five to six ORRC with a total recycling capacity of about 1,300 to 1,500 tonnes per day.  This network is essential for achieving the target of reduction.

 

In the meantime, we will commence a detailed consultancy study on the appropriate means, mechanism and mode of source-separated food waste collection and delivery for both the C&I and domestic sectors in Hong Kong.  We will develop a practical territory food waste collection and delivery plan to cope with the commissioning of ORRC network.

 

Pilot Composting Plant

 
Hong Kong has little experience in source separating food waste or treating the source-separated food waste in an appreciable quantity.  To prepare for the development of large-scale modern ORRC and acquire local experience on collection and biological treatment of source separated food waste, the EPD commissioned a pilot biodegradable waste treatment plant (the Pilot Composting Plant) at the Kowloon Bay Recycling Centre in 2008.  The Pilot composting Plant has a treatment capacity of about 500 tonnes per year and about 50 tonnes of compost can be produced for use as fertilizer or soil conditioner in planting, landscaping and agriculture.
 
Kowloon Bay Pilot Composting Plant
Kowloon Bay Pilot Composting Plant
 

Organic Resources Recovery Centre

 
Given the substantial amount of food waste generation and better space provisions, food waste from the C&I establishments could be more easily and readily separated at source for subsequent collection and transport for treatment.  On the other hand, food wastes from households in Hong Kong are currently mixed with other waste and source separating food waste generated from a large number of households for collection would not be easy because of the very limited household living space in Hong Kong and the hygienic concerns related to food waste collection.  Hence we expect the C&I sector would be the first to use the first two ORRC.  By the time the third ORRC comes on stream, there will be greater demand for household food waste to be recycled, as more and more households get used to separating waste.  Adjustments may be needed on how best to distribute C&I and domestic food waste for recycling at these facilities.
 
The first phase of ORRC (ORRC Phase 1) will be developed in Siu Ho Wan of North Lantau to treat source-separated food waste from the C&I sectors at a capacity of 200 tonnes per day.  The design and construction is commenced in December 2014 and it is expected that the plant will be commissioned in 2017.
 
Organic Resources Recovery Centre Phase 1
Organic Resources Recovery Centre Phase 1
 
Commercial and Industrial (C&I) Sector interested in implementing food waste source separation, collection and delivery to ORRC1, please click here for details.

For the second phase of ORRC (ORRC Phase 2) at Sha Ling of the North District with a daily capacity of 300 tonnes, we have completed the environmental impact assessment (EIA) study and will commence the preparation works for tendering.  We also plan to commence the feasibility and EIA studies for the ORRC Phase 3 in Shek Kong of Yuen Long.

 
Organic Waste Treatment Facilities Phase 2
Organic Resources Recovery Centre Phase 2
 

The Government will soon commence the site search for development of the remaining 2 to 3 regional ORRC, and study the feasibility and requirements of more ORRC.  We maintain an open and proactive attitude in searching for further ORRC sites.  The number and scale of further ORRC would depend on the progress of waste reduction in Hong Kong.

 

 Food Waste/Sewage Sludge Co-digestion Trial Scheme

 
Apart from constructing new facilities, the Government is exploring the use of existing sewage treatment works facilities for food waste/sewage sludge anaerobic co-digestion as an additional part of the network of organic resources recovery facilities to help raise Hong Kong's food waste treatment capability.  A pilot trial with a maximum daily capacity of 50 tonnes will be constructed at the Tai Po Sewage Treatment Works to  confirm the technical feasibility and installation requirements.  We plan to commission the pilot facility in 2019.
Back to topBackTable of ContentNext

 

User review date: 
Friday, 21 July, 2017

Loading

问题与解决方案

处理厨余的挑战
 

现况

 

厨余目前,香港大部分厨余会连同其他都市固体废物一起被弃置于堆填区。在2012年,每天有9,278公吨都市固体废物需要弃置于堆填区。当中约3,337公吨(36%)为厨余,是弃置于堆填区的都市固体废物中最大类别。在弃置于堆填区的厨余中,约809公吨来自工商业,包括食肆、酒店、街市、食品制造及加工业等。近年,工商业产生的厨余与日俱增,由2002年每日不足400公吨,上升至2012年每日超过800吨。

现时把这些有机废物弃置于堆填区的做法,并不符合持续发展的原则,对环境亦造成不良影响。这类废物不但占用了宝贵的堆填空间,而且会分解并产生气味和需要进一步妥善处理的渗滤污水及温室气体,亦浪费了其中的有用有机物质。

 
 

厨余管理策略

 

减少厨余弃置于堆填区是政府废物管理策略中的重要一环。为应对香港的厨余问题,政府已采取多管齐下的做法,把重点放在源头避免和减少厨余产生。

 

厨余管理方案

 

环境局在2013年5月发表《香港资源循环蓝图2013-2022》,为未来10年废物管理制订全面策略、目标、政策和行动计划,以期应对香港的废物危机。随后,环境局在2014年2月再推出《香港厨余及园林废物计划2014-2022》(下称「计划」),作为上述蓝图的配套文件,为日后处理相关废物提出全面策略、目标、政策和行动计划。根据计划,政府的目标是在2022年把弃置在堆填区的厨余减少4成,并制订4个对应厨余的策略,包括全民惜食、食物捐赠、厨余收集和转废为能。

 
 
 

在减少厨余方面,我们相信教育和宣传是非常重要。在过去几年,政府已推行了不少教育及宣传活动,在不同行业和地区推动减少厨余、宣传厨余源头分类和回收等讯息,包括:

 
 
屋苑厨余循环再造项目 环境及自然保育基金厨余消减及循环再造项目

 

为进一步加强推广减少厨余,政府在2012年12月成立了「惜食香港督导委员会」,负责制定及监督「惜食香港运动」的推行。活动旨在鼓励整个社会,包括个人及家庭以至工商业界,改变生活习惯,避免及减少产生厨余。「惜食香港运动」于2013年5月18日正式启动。

 
惜食香港运动
 

尽管政府在减少和避免厨余方面下了不少努力,我们仍需要适当及足够的厨余处理及回收设施去处理和回收一些不可避免而又可作源头分类的厨余。政府正计划分期发展区域性现代化的有机资源回收中心,利用先进的生物处理技术将已作源头分类的厨余转化为有用资源。

 

有机资源回收中心网络

 

我们已检讨多项厨余处理技术。由于香港对能源需求殷切,故此我们的政策是以厌氧分解为处理厨余的核心技术以生产可再生能源。我们计划设立一个有机资源回收中心的网络,把人口密集地区的厨余迅速运往距离不太遥远的设施转化为有用资源,减少厨余运送可能引起的滋扰。根据「计划」,香港需要设立一个约有5至6间有机资源回收中心的网络,每天总处理量约为1,300至1,500公吨。要实现减少厨余的目标,这个网络至为重要。

 

同时,我们会就全面收集已源头分类的工商业和家居厨余所需的措施、机制和模式等进行详细顾问研究,制定切实可行的全港厨余收集和运送方案,以配合有机资源回收中心网络的落成和启用。

 

厨余试验处理设施

 
鉴于香港在厨余源头分类收集处置方面经验尚浅,为筹备发展大型现代化的有机废物处理中心和汲取相关的本地厨余源头分类、收集及生物处理技术的经验,环保署在2008年年中于九龙湾废物回收中心设立了一个厨余试验处理设施。该设施总处理量为每年500公吨,并可产生约50公吨堆肥。堆肥可作肥料或土壤改良剂,可应用于种植、园景美化和农作物。厨余试验处理设施已完成使命,并于2018年10月停止运
 
九龙湾厨余试验处理设施
九龙湾厨余试验处理设施
 
有机资源回收中心

鉴于工商业机构一般产生较大量的厨余及拥有更多空间,因此工商业厨余会比较容易进行厨余源头分类,以作进一步收集和运送处理。另一方面,因为现时香港的家居厨余与其他家居废物混合收集,加上大部分香港家居的空间都比较狭窄,以及收集家居厨余可能带来的气味及卫生等问题,要推行大规模家居厨余源头分类和收集并不容易。因此,有机资源回收中心会首先接收和处理来自工商业机构已作源头分类的厨余。

 
有机资源回收中心第1期位于北大屿山小蚝湾,每天能够处理200公吨来自工商业机构已作源头分类的厨余。第1期回收中心的设计和建造工程已于二零一四年十二月展开,回收中心自二零一八年七月起全面运行​。
 
有机资源回收中心第1期
 
有兴趣实施厨余源头分类,收集及运送至有机资源回收中心第1期的工商机构,请按此处查询详情。
 
我们已完成位于北区沙岭每日能处理300公吨的有机资源回收中心第2期的环评研究,并将开展招标的前期筹备工作。我们亦计划开展位于元朗石岗的有机资源回收中心第3期的工程可行性和环评研究。
 
有机资源回收中心第2期
有机资源回收中心第2期
 
我们将尽快为发展余下2至3个区域性有机资源回收中心进行选址工作,研究兴建更多有机资源回收中心的可行性和相关要求。我们对选址和觅地会持积极及开放态度,而未来发展回收中心的数目和规模要视乎本港减少废物的进展情况。
 

「厨余、污泥共厌氧消化」试验计划

除了建设新的设施,政府正同时研究利用现有污水处理厂设施进行厨余与污泥共厌氧消化,作为有机资源回收中心网络的新增部分,以提升香港的厨余处理能力。我们计划在大埔污水处理厂进行每日最高处理量达50公吨的「厨余、污泥共厌氧消化」试验计划,以确立该项技术的可行性和装置要求。

厨余预处理设施的设计和建造工程已于2017年12月动工,预计「厨余、污泥共厌氧消化」试验计划可于2019年开始运作。

 
厨余预处理设施
厨余预处理设施
 

 

Back to topBackTable of ContentNext
User review date: 
星期五, 9 四月, 2021