Promotion of Electric Vehicles

 

Electric Vehicle

I. Background 
II. Government’s Measures to Promote the Use of Electric Vehicles
 
III. EV Models in Hong Kong 
IV. Installation of EV Chargers 
V. Locations of EV Chargers for Public Access  
VI. “EV-Charging Easy” Mobile App

VII. Progressive Marketisation of EV Charging Service in Government Car Parks 
VIII. News and Events 
IX. Study Report 
X. Frequently Asked Questions 
XI. Further Information 


I. Background

Electric vehicles (EVs) have no tailpipe emissions. Replacing conventional vehicles with EVs can help improve roadside air quality and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. A wider use of EVs also contributes to the development of environmental industries.

The Finance Secretary chaired a Steering Committee on the Promotion of EVs (SCPEV) with members drawn from various sectors to recommend a strategy complementary with specific measures to promote the use of electric vehicles in Hong Kong, having regard to the resulting energy efficiency, environmental benefits and the creation of business opportunities. The SCPEV concluded its work by end September 2021.

In addition, the Government announced the Hong Kong Roadmap on Popularisation of Electric Vehicles (the Roadmap) on 17 March 2021, setting out the long-term policy objectives and plans to promote the adoption of EVs and their associated supporting facilities in Hong Kong. The Roadmap will guide Hong Kong’s future direction to attain zero vehicular emissions before 2050. This acts in concert with our other targets to strive for carbon neutrality in the same time frame, and forges ahead with the vision of ‘Zero Carbon Emissions ‧ Clean Air ‧ Smart City’.

 Hong Kong Roadmap on Popularisation of Electric Vehicles
Hong Kong Roadmap on Popularisation of Electric Vehicles
Hong Kong Roadmap on Popularisation of Electric Vehicles (pamphlet)


[Back to Top]

 

II. Government’s Measures to Promote the Use of
Electric Vehicles

The Government has been promoting the use of EVs by the following measures:

  1. Offering first registration tax (FRT) concessions for EVs. The FRT concession arrangement for EVs has been extended for two years to March 31, 2026. FRT on electric commercial vehicles (including goods vehicles, buses, light buses, taxis, and special purpose vehicles), electric motor cycles and electric motor tricycles will be fully waived. For the concession arrangement of electric private cars, please refer to the webpage of Transport Department and click here for details.  You may also contact Hong Kong Licensing Office of the Transport Department at 2804 2270 or the 1823 Call Centre.
  2. Enterprises which procure EVs are allowed 100% profits tax deduction for the capital expenditure on EVs in the first year of procurement.

  3. A New Energy Transport Fund (previously named Pilot Green Transport Fund) has been put in place since March 2011 to encourage the transport sectors and charitable / non-profit-making organizations to try out and widely use green innovative and low carbon transport technologies (including electric commercial vehicles).
     
  4. The Government allocated $180 million for franchised bus companies to purchase 36 single-deck electric buses, including 28 battery-electric buses and 8 supercapacitor buses, for trial runs to assess their operational efficiency and performance under the local conditions.

  5. The Government has earmarked $80 million for the implementation of the Pilot Scheme for Electric Public Light Buses to test the operation and performance of different models of electric public light buses and the associated quick charging facilities, as well as conducting operational trials on various minibus service routes.  Please click here for details.

  6. The Chief Executive announced in the 2019 Policy Address that the Government would prepare for a $2 billion pilot subsidy scheme to promote installation of electric vehicle charging-enabling infrastructure ("EVCEI") in car parks of existing private residential buildings. The pilot subsidy scheme, namely the “EV-charging at Home Subsidy Scheme” (“EHSS”), is to help car parks of existing private residential buildings with multiple ownership resolve technical and financial difficulties that are encountered frequently when retrofitting EVCEI, and further facilitate car park owners to install EV chargers of their choice for charging EVs at home in the future in a simple and easy manner. The EHSS is well received after its launch on 21 October 2020.  In order to meet the public demand, the Government has further injected an additional funding of $1.5 billion to the EHSS in the 2022-23 Budget, to extend the EHSS for four more years to the 2027-28 financial year.  It is anticipated that the entire $3.5 billion EHSS will be able to support installation of EVCEI for some 140,000 parking spaces in about 700 car parks of the existing private residential buildings and estates, which is about half of the eligible parking spaces in Hong Kong.  The application period for the EHSS closed on 31 December 2023. Please click here for details.

[Back to Top]


III. EV Models in Hong Kong

As at end of March 2024, the total number of EVs is about 87 900, representing about 9.7% of the total number of vehicles. At present, 307 EV models from 16 economies have been type-approved by the Transport Department. These include 238 models for private cars and motorcycles, 69 models for public transport and commercial vehicles. Please click here to obtain the details of the type-approved EV models. For EV models that are available for sale in Hong Kong, please check with vehicle retailers or manufacturers. Regarding the statistics of Vehicle Registration and Licensing, please refer to the webpage of Transport Department (Section 4: Vehicle Registration, Licensing and Inspection Statistics) and click here for details.

[Back to Top]


IV. Installation of EV Chargers

In general, EV owners should charge their EVs by using charging facilities at their workplace, home or other suitable places.  The public charging network mainly serves as supplementary charging facilities, enabling EVs to top up their batteries to complete their journeys when necessary.  Therefore, potential buyers should consider charging arrangements before buying EVs.

To improve the charging efficiency, EPD has progressively upgraded standard chargers to medium chargers in the past few years (as compared with standard chargers, medium chargers can reduce the charging time by up to 60%).  The two power companies and the commercial sector will also progressively upgrade their existing public standard chargers to medium chargers and install multi-standard quick chargers.  EV suppliers have also been proactive in adding their EV charging facilities for their EV models at public venues.

With the steady growth in the number of EVs, there are private companies in the market that provide one-stop EV charging service, including installation of charging facilities and provision of charging service, at the EV owners’ car parks.  To facilitate EV owners, some EV charging service providers also provide real-time information on the availability of their public EV chargers and reservation of their EV chargers through mobile Apps.

Regarding support to EV users, a hotline (3757 6222) was set up at the EPD to provide information and technical support to interested parties in setting up EV chargers at car parks.  Besides, guidelines have been issued on the arrangements and technical requirements in setting up EV chargers. The two power companies have also launched one-stop services to EV owners who intend to install charging facilities at their parking spaces. This includes site inspection, provision of technical advice, inspection of completed charging installation and connection of the power supply.

Please see below the following information related to charging facilities:

  1. Technical Guidelines on Charging Facilities for Electric Vehicles (issued by Electrical and Mechanical Services Department)

[Back to Top]


V. Locations of EV Chargers for Public Access

As at the end of March 2024, there are 8,056 EV chargers for public use including 4,662 medium chargers in Hong Kong and 1,397 quick chargers in Hong Kong, covering all 18 districts.

Please click here for locations of EV chargers for public access.

[Back to Top]


VI. “EV-Charging Easy” Mobile App

EPD has launched the “EV-Charging Easy” mobile app to facilitate EV drivers to locate available public chargers. For details, please visit https://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/english/mobile-apps.html.

[Back to Top]

VII. Progressive Marketisation of EV Charging Service in Government Car Parks

In order to promote market participation in providing electric vehicle (EV) charging services, the Government will progressively marketise the EV charging services in existing government car parks starting from the end of 2023 and the operators will charge the users of the EV charging services. Please click here for detailed information on the implementation of the fee-paying EV charging services.

[Back to Top]

 

VIII. News and Events

28.02.2024

Extension of first registration tax concession arrangement for electric vehicles for two years and relevant arrangements 

Press Release

15.12.2023

Progressive Marketisation of EV Charging Services in Government Car Parks 

Press Release

 

 


[Back to Top]

 

IX. Study Report

13.8.2018

Study on the Development Strategy on Charging Facilities for Electric Private Vehicles in Hong Kong

- Executive Summary

 

[Back to Top]

X. Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: Is there a breach of land lease conditions and deed if paid EV charging services are provided in the building?

A1: In general, the provision of paid EV charging facilities associated with ancillary car parking spaces required to be provided under the lease would not contravene the lease conditions. However, each case has to be considered on its own depending on the lease conditions and the individual circumstances. For enquiries, please contact relevant District Lands Office of the LandsD at the address and hotline as set out in LandsD’s website:
http://www.landsd.gov.hk/en/about/enquiries.htm

Q2: When will the Government commence the fee-paying EV charging services in government car parks?

A2: The Government has been progressively marketizing the EV charging services in existing government car parks since the end of December 2023, in which the provision of fee-paying EV charging services has been outsourced to market operators. The first phase of implementation has already taken place in the Kwai Fong and Kennedy Town Car Parks, effective from 28th and 29th December 2023, respectively. Under the principle of marketisation, the EV charging fees in the above car parks are to be determined by the awarded operators, taking into account the prevailing market rates of EV medium charging services in the same district. The fee-charging services for the some 1 400 EV medium chargers located in the remaining 72 government car parks will be implemented progressively. It is anticipated that the marketisation of the EV charging services will be completed by mid-2024.

Q3: How many EV charging facilities are available for public use in Hong Kong nowadays? Where are they located?

A3: At present, there are thousands of EV chargers in Hong Kong provided by the public and private sectors for public use. They include medium chargers and quick chargers covering all 18 districts in Hong Kong. For the quantities and locations of those chargers, please refer to this link.

Q4: What are the details about the additional fire safety requirements by the Fire Services Department (FSD) for car parking facilities installed with EV charging facilities since 1 September 2020?  Under the additional requirements, is it necessary to install the Fireman's Emergency Switch for the EV charging facilities if the car parking facilities have been equipped with sprinkler system?

A4: For all initial building plan submissions since 1 September 2020, installation of EV charging facilities for car parking facilities shall meet the additional fire safety requirements of the FSD.  Under the additional requirements, a Fireman's Emergency Switch shall be provided to cut off the power supply of all EV charging facilities within the car parking facilities no matter a sprinkler system has been installed or not.

Please click this link about the fire safety requirements and the circular.  For further enquiries, please contact FSD's Senior Divisional Officer (New Projects) at 3971 4600. 

[Back to Top]

XI. Further Information

For further information, please contact us at:

Email: ev@epd.gov.hk

EV Hotline: 3757 6222

 

[Back to Top]

推广使用电动车辆

 

电动汽车

I. 背景 
II. 政府推动使用电动车辆的措施
 
III. 香港的电动车型号 
IV. 安装电动车充电设施 

V. 供公众使用的电动车充电器位置 
VI. 流动应用程式「EV充电易」

VII. 政府停车场电动车充电服务逐步迈向市场化
VIII. 最新消息及活动 
IX. 研究报告 
X. 常见问题 
XI. 其他资料 

 

I. 背景

电动车辆没有任何尾气排放。以电动车辆取代传统车辆,有助改善路边空气质素,减少温室气体排放。此外,更广泛使用电动车辆亦可促进环保工业发展。

为此,政府已成立推动使用电动车辆督导委员会,由财政司司长担任主席,成员来自不同界别,因应使用电动车辆对提升能源效益和环境的益处,以及带来的商机,就在本港推动使用电动车辆的策略和具体配合措施,作出建议。委员会已在2021年9月底完成工作。

此外,政府已于2021年3月17日公布首份《香港电动车普及化路线图》(《路线图》),阐述未来在香港推动使用电动车及其所需配套的长远政策目标及计划。《路线图》将引领香港在2050年前达致车辆零排放的未来路向,以配合香港致力争取于2050年前实现碳中和的目标,向『零碳排放‧清新空气‧智慧城市』的愿景迈进。

香港电动车普及化路线图

《香港电动车普及化路线图》

《香港电动车普及化路线图》小册子

[回到页首]

 

II. 政府推动使用电动车辆的措施

政府一直透过下列措施推动使用电动车辆:

  1. 宽减电动车首次登记税。电动车首次登记税宽减安排已延长至2026年3月31日。电动商用车(包括货车、巴士、小巴、的士和特别用途车辆)、电动电单车和电动机动三轮车的首次登记税获全数豁免。就有关电动私家车的宽减安排,请参阅运输署网站,详情请按此,或致电运输署香港牌照事务处(电话: 2804 2270)或1823电话中心。
  2. 企业购置电动车辆,有关的资本开支可在第一年获利得税扣减
  3. 自2011年3月设立新能源运输基金(前名「绿色运输试验基金」),鼓励运输业和慈善/非牟利机构试验及广泛使用绿色创新及低碳运输技术(包括电动商用车辆)。
  4. 政府已拨款1.8亿元,供专营巴士公司购买36辆单层电动巴士(包括 28 辆电池电动巴士和8辆超级电容巴士)在本港作试验行驶,以评估它们在本地环境下的运作效能及表现。
  5. 政府已预留8,000万元开展电动公共小型巴士先导试验计划,测试不同型号的电动公共小巴及相关快速充电设施的运作及表现,以及于不同的公共小巴路线进行营运试验。详情请按此
  6. 行政长官在《2019年施政报告》中提出,政府会筹备一个20亿元先导资助计划,推动在现有私人住宅楼宇停车场安装电动车充电基础设施。该先导资助计划,即「EV屋苑充电易资助计划」,旨在协助由不同业权人共有的现有私人住宅楼宇及屋苑停车场解决在加装电动车充电基础设施时经常遇到的技术和财政困难,方便停车场业主可在日后简易地安装合意的电动车充电器在家充电。资助计划自2020年10月21日推出后反应正面,为应付公众需求,政府于2022-23年度《财政预算案》向资助计划额外注资15亿元,以延长资助计划四年至2027-28财政年度。预期整个35亿元的资助计划可协助约700个现有私人屋苑停车场,约共14万个停车位安装电动车充电基础设施,占全港约一半合资格的停车位。资助计划已于2023年12月31日停止接受申请。详情请按此

[回到页首]

 

III. 香港的电动车型号

截至2024年05月底,香港整体电动车数目为约 95 100辆,占所有车辆总数约 10.4%。目前,已有来自16个经济体的318个电动车辆型号获得运输署的类型核准,包括247款私家车/电单车及71款公共运输/商业车辆。已获运输署类型核准的电动车辆的型号详情请按此。请向分销商或生产商查询在港出售的电动车辆型号。有关车辆登记及领牌的统计数字,请参阅运输署网页(第四组 : 车辆登记、领牌及检验统计数字),详情请按此

[回到页首]

 

IV. 安装电动车充电设施

一般而言,电动车车主应在其办公地方、居所或其他适当场地的充电设施为其车辆充电,而公共充电网络主要是辅助设施,在有需要时为其电动车补充电力以完成余下的行程。因此,有意购买电动车的人士,应事先考虑其日后的充电安排。

为提高充电效率,环保署在过去数年陆续把标准充电器提升为中速充电器(相比标准充电器,中速充电器可减少充电时间达六成)。两间电力公司和商界也会将现有供公众使用的标准充电器续步提升至中速充电器,及安装多制式的快速充电器。电动车供应商亦积极地在公众地点增加其代理型号电动车的充电设施。

随着电动车数目稳步增长,市场上亦有私人公司向屋苑或商业机构提供一条龙的电动车充电服务,包括为电动车车主在其车位安装充电设施及提供充电服务。有些电动车充电服务供应商更透过手机应用程式提供可供使用充电器的即时资讯及预留充电器的服务,为电动车车主提供方便。

为协助电动车车主在其车位安装充电设施,环保署设立了一支专责队伍和服务热线(3757 6222),向有意安装充电设施的人士提供相关资讯及技术支援,并已就安装充电设施的具体安排和技术要求发出指引。两间电力公司也为电动车车主提供在其车位安装充电设施的一条龙服务,包括实地视察、提供技术意见、检查已安装的充电装置及接驳电源服务。


有关充电设施的资讯,请参阅以下-

  1. 内部运输设施的电动车辆充电设施 (见由规划署发出的《香港规划标准与准则》中第7.2.7段至7.2.10段)updated_c
  2. 电动车辆充电设施技术指引 (由机电工程署发出)

[回到页首]

 

V. 供公众使用的电动车充电器位置

截至2024年6月底,香港有8,728个充电器供公众使用,包括5,234个中速充电器及1,511个快速充电器,分布全港18区。供公众使用的电动车充电器位置请按此

[回到页首]

 

VI. 流动应用程式「EV充电易」

环保署已推出流动应用程式「EV充电易」,方便电动车的驾驶人士寻找可用的公共充电器。详情请浏览 https://www.epd.gov.hk/epd/tc_chi/mobile-apps.html

[回到页首]

VII. 政府停车场电动车充电服务逐步迈向市场化 

为推动市场参与提供动电动车充电服务,政府于2023年年底开始,逐步将现有政府停车场电动车充电服务市场化,营运商会向使用者收取充电服务费用。有关营运商的付费充电服务实施详情请参考以下连结:

[回到页首]

 

VIII. 最新消息及活动

28.02.2024

电动车首次登记税宽减安排期限延长两年及相关安排 

​​新闻稿

15.12.2023

政府停车场电动车充电服务正逐步迈向市场化   

新闻稿

   


[回到页首]

IX. 研究报告

13.8.2018

香港电动私家车充电设施发展策略研究

- 行政撮要 (只有英文版本)


[回到页首]

X. 常见问题

Q1: 在建筑物内提供收费的充电服务会否违反土地租赁条件和契约?
A1: 一般而言,如果土地契约要求建筑物提供停车位,在这些停车位提供收费的辅助充电服务并不会违反相关的地契条款。每个个案都必须根据地契条款和具体情况作考虑。如有查询,请联络相关分区地政处查询,有关各分区地政处的地址和联络电话号码,请点击以下连结:
http://www.landsd.gov.hk/tc/about/enquiries.htm


Q2: 政府停车场的电动车充电服务何时开始征收费用?
A2: 政府已于2023年12月底开始逐步将政府停车场的电动车充电服务市场化,交由市场营运,并收取充电费。葵芳停车场及坚尼地城停车场已率先分别于2023年12月28日及12月29日晚上起收取充电服务费用。在市场化原则下,政府停车场的电动车充电收费会由中标营运商参考同区电动车中速充电服务当时的收费水平而订定。余下位于72个政府停车场逾1 400个中速充电器亦会逐步实施充电收费,预计有关充电服务市场化计划将于2024年年中完成。

Q3: 现时,全香港共有多少电动车充电设施供公众使用? 它们分布在哪些地方?
A3: 现时,全香港共有数千个由公私营机构提供的公共充电器,它们包括中速充电器和快速充电器,分布全港18区。 有关该等充电器的数量和位置分布,可参考这连结


Q4: 自2020年9月1日起,消防处对停车设施安装电动车充电设施有额外的消防安全要求,详情如何? 如果大厦内的停车设施已设有花洒系统,在额外的消防安全要求下,是否需要安装消防员紧急开关掣吗?
A4: 于2020年9月1日后为停车设施安装电动车充电设施提交的所有初始建筑图则,必需符合消防处的额外消防安全要求。 在额外的消防安全要求下,无论该建筑物是否装有花洒系统,该停车设施内须设有消防员紧急开关掣,用以中断场内所有电动车充电设施的电源。

请点击此连结以了解消防安全要求及其通函。 如需进一步查询,请致电3971 4600与消防处高级消防区长(新建设课)联络。 

[回到页首]

 

XI. 其他资料

如欲获得更多资料,请与我们联络:

电邮地址:ev@epd.gov.hk

电动车热线:3757 6222

 

[回到页首]