Loading

Producer Responsibility Schemes

Producer responsibility scheme (PRS) is a key policy tool in the waste management strategy in Hong Kong.  Enshrining the principle of “polluter pays” and the element of “eco-responsibility”, the PRS concept requires relevant stakeholders including manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, retailers and consumers to share the responsibility for the collection, recycling, treatment and disposal of end-of-life products with a view to avoiding and reducing the environmental impacts caused by such products at the post-consumer stage.

Product Eco-responsibility Ordinance

Riding on broad public support, the Product Eco-responsibility Ordinance (Cap. 603) (PERO) was enacted in July 2008 after scrutiny by the Legislative Council (LegCo). The PERO is a piece of “umbrella” legislation which provides the shared core elements of all PRSs and the fundamental regulatory requirements in respect of individual types of product, with operational details to be set out in the Ordinance and its subsidiary legislation.

Mandatory Producer Responsibility Scheme

Plastic Shopping Bag Charging

The Plastic Shopping Bag Charging Scheme (the Scheme) is the first PRS introduced under the PERO.  It aims to reduce the excessive use of plastic shopping bags (PSBs) through a direct economic disincentive imposed on consumers as a mandatory charge. The first phase of the Scheme was implemented between 7 July 2009 and 31 March 2015, covering some 3,000 retail outlets which are mostly large supermarkets, convenience stores and medicare and cosmetics stores.   There was a marked decrease in the disposal of PSBs originated from the regulated retail categories.  The public consultation in 2011 revealed that the community generally supported expanding the scope of the Scheme.  Following the scrutiny and passage of the relevant legislative amendment in the LegCo, the Scheme was fully implemented in the entire retail sector since 1 April 2015.  Details of the current phase of the Scheme can be found here

PRS on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment

About 70,000 tonnes of waste electrical and electronic equipment (WEEE) are generated in Hong Kong annually, most of which were exported in the past for reuse or recovery of valuable materials.  In recent years, there is a growing trend to tighten the trading control over WEEE in the international community, whilst the demand for second-hand products in markets outside Hong Kong also declines over time due to economic development.  Hence, it is not sustainable to rely heavily on the export of WEEE and a mechanism for the proper treatment and recycling of WEEE is needed in Hong Kong.  Besides, WEEE contains harmful materials which, if not properly treated or disposed of, are hazardous to the environment and human health.  It is necessary for Hong Kong to properly manage the environmental challenges arising from WEEE by implementing a mandatory PRS.

Over the years, the EPD has accumulated practical experiences through various voluntary collection or recycling programmes which also raise the public awareness on the proper treatment of WEEE.  The result of the public consultation conducted in 2010 shows that the proposal for a new PRS on WEEE (WPRS) was generally supported by the community. The enabling legislation for the WPRS, namely the Promotion of Recycling and Proper Disposal (Electrical Equipment and Electronic Equipment) (Amendment) Ordinance 2016 was passed by LegCo in March 2016.  Subsequently in July 2017, the subsidiary legislation titled the Product Eco-responsibility (Regulated Electrical Equipment) Regulation  (Cap. 603B)  was passed by LegCo, to provide for certain operational details of the WPRS.

The WPRS has been fully implemented in 2018. Starting from 1 August 2018, suppliers of air-conditioners, refrigerators, washing machines, televisions, computers, printers, scanners and monitors (collectively referred to as regulated electrical equipment or REE) must be registered with the EPD before distributing REE.  Registered suppliers must also fulfill other statutory obligations, including the submission of returns to the EPD and payment of recycling levies, as well as providing recycling labels when distributing REE.  At the same time, a seller must have a removal service plan endorsed by the EPD for selling REE.  When a seller sells REE and if requested by the consumer, the seller should arrange for the consumer a free removal service to dispose of the same class of equipment abandoned by the consumer in accordance with the endorsed plan.  The seller must also provide recycling labels to consumers purchasing REE, and receipts containing the prescribed wording on the recycling levies.

The disposal licensing control, import and export permit control and landfill disposal ban in respect of abandoned REE have commenced on 31 December 2018.  Any person who is engaged in the storage, treatment, reprocessing or recycling of abandoned REE must obtain a waste disposal licence; a permit is required for the import and export of abandoned REE; and abandoned REE is no longer be accepted for disposal at the landfills and other designated waste disposal facilities (e.g. refuse transfer stations).

The Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Treatment and Recycling Facility (WEEE·PARK), which was developed to underpin the WPRS, has been in full operation since March 2018.  WEEE·PARK has adopted advanced technologies and equipment for treating WEEE and turning the wastes into reusable materials such as plastics and metals through a series of detoxification, dismantling and recycling processes.

For details of the WPRS, please visit weee.gov.hk.

PRS on Glass Beverage Containers

Glass containers are widely used in our everyday life, and waste glass containers are often recycled and reused elsewhere in the world.  There are also applications which turn waste glass containers into building materials, concrete and paving applications, in place of river sand and other natural resources.  Yet, due to the low recycling value of waste glass containers and high logistics costs, in the past, most of the waste glass containers generated in Hong Kong were disposed of at landfills rather than being reused or recycled.  To this end, a mandatory PRS will align statutory and administrative measures to create a circular economy, providing practicable solutions in source separation, collection logistics, proper treatment and recovery outlets for the waste glass materials.

On the basis of the positive response from the public consultation conducted by the EPD in 2013, the direction for introducing the PRS on glass beverage containers was affirmed.  The amendment bill, which sets out a statutory regulatory framework for the implementation of the PRS, was introduced to LegCo in July 2015.  After scrutiny, LegCo passed the enabling legislation, namely, the Promotion of Recycling and Proper Disposal (Product Container) (Amendment) Ordinance 2016, in May 2016.  The EPD has been implementing the PRS on glass beverage containers progressively and, through open tenders, has  appointed Glass Management Contractors to undertake the glass container collection and treatment services for the regions of Hong Kong Island (including Islands District), Kowloon and the New Territories respectively.  The contracts for Hong Kong Island and the New Territories regions commenced in November 2017 while that for the Kowloon region also commenced in May 2018.  Besides, we are preparing the necessary subsidiary legislation to provide  the operational details for the implementation of the PRS for submission to LegCo for scrutiny with a view to implementing the scheme as soon as practicable.

For details of the Glass Management Contractors, please click here.

The EPD launched the Glass Container Recycling Charter in January 2019 inviting the community to join hand in promoting glass container recycling paving way for the full implementation of the PRS on glass beverage containers. 

PRS on Plastic Beverage Containers

Waste plastics constitute about 20% of our municipal solid waste disposal, amongst which about 10% are plastic containers.   Plastics are difficult to degrade in the environment, once disposed of at the landfills, they will remain there for years putting on a long-term environmental burden on the landfills.  Besides, there is also high aspiration in the community for plastic container recycling through implementation of PRS.  To this end, the EPD commissioned a feasibility study by a consultant in October 2017 on how to implement a PRS on suitable plastic product containers.

Having considered the recommendations of the consultant, we have decided to press ahead first with the introduction of a PRS for plastic beverage containers which account for about 60% of the overall waste plastic containers disposed of in Hong Kong.  These plastic beverage containers are of a higher recyclable value and are relatively easy to be cleansed for proper recycling.  We will also consider providing an economic incentive to encourage the public to return used plastic beverage containers for recycling, and to explore the application of Reverse Vending Machines (RVMs) to enhance the recovery efficiency of waste plastic beverage containers.

The EPD is preparing to launch a pilot scheme on the application of RVMs to examine the feasibility and cost-effectiveness of using RVMs in Hong Kong where space is a constraint, and to ascertain the appropriate incentive and its level. We plan to install 60 RVMs at different locations primarily at public places or government facilities with higher foot traffic.  It is expected that the pilot scheme will be launched in the 2nd half of 2020.

Besides, our consultant has engaged relevant stakeholders on their initial recommendations regarding the study and will submit their detailed proposal to the Government after consolidating relevant information.  Meanwhile, we have been maintaining close liaison with stakeholders on their views towards the future regulatory regime and related issues. After taking into account the consultant’s recommendation and the views of stakeholders, we will map out the way forward and consult the public thereafter.

User review date: 
Wednesday, 22 May, 2019

Loading

生产者责任计划

生产者责任计划是香港废物管理策略的其中一项主要政策工具。透过落实「污染者自付」的原则和「环保责任」的理念,生产者责任计划要求相关持分者,包括制造商、进口商、批发商、零售商和消费者须分担回收、循环再造、处理和弃置废弃产品的责任,以期避免和减少有关产品对环境的影响。

《产品环保责任条例》

在公众广泛支持下,《产品环保责任条例》(第603章)(《条例》)经立法会审议后于2008年7月通过。《条例》是一条框架法例,为在香港实施生产者责任计划提供法律基础,并透过《条例》及其附属法例,订明对个别物品的规管要求及运作细节。

强制性生产者责任计划

塑胶购物袋收费

塑胶购物袋收费计划(计划)是在《条例》下实施的首个强制性生产者责任计划,规定向塑胶购物袋征收环保征费,透过在零售层面向消费者收费这个直接的经济诱因,以在源头减少滥用塑胶购物袋的情况。首阶段计划于2009年7月7日至2015年3月31日实施,涵盖三千多个主要为大型连锁超级市场、便利店及健康护理和化妆品店的零售点,对减少源自这些受规管零售类别的塑胶购物袋弃置量成效显著。2011年的公众谘询显示社会普遍支持扩大计划的涵盖范围。经立法会讨论及通过相关法例修订后,计划于2015年4月1日起在整个零售业界全面推行。现阶段计划详情请按此处

废电器电子产品生产者责任计划

香港每年产生约七万公吨的废电器电子产品,过往大部分都会出口供重用或回收有用物料。然而,近年国际间对废电器电子产品贸易有收紧管制的趋势,而香港以外的巿场亦会因应经济发展而减少对二手产品的需求。因此,主要依赖出口的做法并不持续可行,香港需要一套可妥善处理和循环再造废电器电子产品的机制。此外,废电器电子产品含有害物质,如不妥善处理或弃置,或会对环境和人体健康构成危害。香港有必要透过引入生产者责任计划,妥善管理废电器电子产品所衍生的环境挑战。

多年来,环保署透过不同自愿性回收及循环再造计划累积实际经验,亦提升了巿民对妥善处理废电器电子产品的意识。2010年的公众谘询结果显示,社会普遍支持就废电器电子产品引入生产者责任计划(废电器计划)。有关废电器计划的赋权法例,即《2016年促进循环再造及妥善处置(电气设备及电子设备)(修订)条例》已于2016年3月获立法会通过。及后在2017年7月,附属法例《产品环保责任(受管制电器)规例》(第603B章)亦获立法会通过,为计划下若干运作细节订定条文。

废电器计划已于2018年全面实施。由2018年8月1日起,「四电一脑」产品(即空调机、雪柜、洗衣机、电视机、电脑、打印机、扫描器及显示器,统称「受管制电器」)的供应商必须经环保署登记,方可分发受管制电器。已登记供应商亦须履行其他法定责任,包括向环保署呈交申报及缴付循环再造征费,以及在分发受管制电器时提供循环再造标签。同时,销售商亦必须备有经环保署批注的除旧服务方案,方可销售受管制电器。销售受管制电器时,如消费者欲弃置属相同类别的电器,销售商便须应消费者要求,按已获批注的方案安排免费除旧服务。销售商亦有责任向购买受管制电器的消费者提供循环再造标签,以及载有循环再造征费订明字句的收据。

2018年12月31日起,废电器计划正式对被弃置受管制电器实施处置管制、进出口管制及堆填区弃置禁令。任何人贮存、处理、再加工或循环再造被弃置受管制电器,均须取得废物处置牌照;输入及输出被弃置受管制电器均须领有许可证。堆填区及其他指定废物处置设施(例如废物转运站)则不会再接收和处置被弃置受管制电器。

为配合废电器计划而兴建的废电器电子产品处理及回收设施(WEEE·PARK)于2018年3月全面投入运作。WEEE·PARK采用先进的技术和设备处理废电器电子产品,透过除毒、拆解和循环再造等工序,把废电器电子产品转化为有价值的分类物料,例如塑胶和金属。

有关废电器计划的详情,请参阅网站weee.gov.hk

玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划

我们在日常生活中广泛使用玻璃容器,而将废玻璃容器回收再用或循环再造,在世界各地均非常普遍。香港每年产生约十万公吨废玻璃容器。由于废玻璃容器的回收价值低,以及收集及运输成本高昂,过往本港产生的废玻璃容器大多弃置于堆填区,而非回收再用或循环再造。推行玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划能让相关人士承担他们的环保责任,确保废玻璃容器得到妥善收集及处理,善用资源,转废为材,并纾缓堆填区的压力,这亦有助建立本地的循环经济。

环保署在2013年进行公众谘询,基于社会的正面回应,确立引进玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划的方针。立法会于2016年5月通过有关赋权法例,即《2016年促进循环再造及妥善处置(产品容器)(修订)条例》,为计划订立法定规管框架。环保署正逐步落实玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划,并已透过公开招标委聘玻璃管理承办商在全港提供区域性废玻璃容器收集及处理服务。港岛区(包括离岛区)及新界区的合约于2017年11月生效,而九龙区的合约亦于2018年5月生效。环保署已完成草拟相关的附属法例,为实施计划订立运作细节,如饮料供应商的登记、申报、循环再造征费的缴付等事宜,以提交立法会审议。

环保署于2019年1月推出玻璃容器回收约章,邀请社会各界携手推动玻璃容器回收,为全面实施玻璃饮料容器生产者责任计划作好准备。

塑胶饮料容器生产者责任计划

在弃置的都市固体废物中,塑胶废物约占两成。环保署于2017年10月委聘顾问展开可行性研究,探讨如何为合适的塑胶产品容器引入生产者责任计划。经考虑顾问的建议,政府已决定就占本港废塑胶中约5%的塑胶饮料容器,推展新的生产者责任计划,并提供回赠安排,以鼓励市民交回使用完的塑胶饮料容器,作循环再造。我们亦会考虑在香港适度使用逆向自动售货机(「入樽机」),以提升新的生产者责任计划的运作效率。

环保署于2019年6月展开技术测试,在7个「回收环保站」设置共10部入樽机;该技术测试于2020年11月完结,期间总共回收超过120万个塑胶饮料容器。其后,环保署于2021年1月开始试行入樽机先导计划,以测试入樽机在香港的实际应用。有关先导计划的详情请按此处

与此同时,我们亦已于2021年2月22日就塑胶饮料容器生产者责任计划展开公众谘询 ,以收集公众对计划的意见。为期三个月的公众谘询已在2021年5月21日结束。我们在整理及考虑收集到的意见后,会为塑胶饮料容器生产者责任计划制订规管框架和未来路向。

 

 

User review date: 
星期三, 22 五月, 2019