Problems & Solutions

Refuse Transfer Stations

Waste collection in the major urban centre of population are delivered to the refuse transfer stations (RTS) where the waste is compacted and containerized in purposely built containers for onward transportation to the strategic landfills. This method of transporting waste in bulk has reduced the overall transportation cost and greatly reduced the traffic and environmental nuisance associated with a large number of small refuse collection vehicles moving on the road. A total of seven RTSs are currently in operation.

Location of Existing Refuse Transfer Stations

Image of map

IETS : Island East Transfer Station
IWTS : Island West Transfer Station
KBTS : Kowloon Bay Transfer Station (Closed)
STTS : Shatin Transfer Station
NLTS : North Lantau Transfer Station
OITF : Outlying Islands Transfer Facilities
WKTS : West Kowloon Transfer Station
NWNTTS : North West New Territories Transfer Station

Special Features of RTS

RTS Service to the Public


Back to topBackTable of ContentNext